We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Africa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$337
$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$293
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$224
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
$272
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$136
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
90
202
94
33
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
202
94
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restauranttop floorpleasant roomrenovations goingclub roomnice hotelsmall gymmeeting roomharbour viewexcellent breakfastcentral locationspent one nightclean roomsenjoyed my stayafricazanzibarbusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 431 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For those that like their breakfast cooked the English way; Bandari Restaurant offers a good 'fry up'. There is also a good selection of fresh fruit and juices, oatmeal porridge, croissants and baked items. Breakfast is a leisurely affair that goes on until 11am. Walk-in guests can enjoy it for 20,000 shillings. My only wish is that they would serve high fibre muesli and organic eggs - they are available in Dar es Salaam!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for posting another review of the food and beverage at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast spread. It is quite a sumptuous affair. Your request for organic eggs and high fibre muesli has been noted. We shall definately look into.

On behalf of the team,

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayan
GM & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very good Hospitality and Service and we really enjoyed at the Casino
Location of the hotel was very good and the view of our rooms overlooking the Harbour View was excellent
Thanks to the reception who were very hospitable

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonasM624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location central and ideal. Nice to note that you had fun at the New Africa casino. Thank you for complimenting the reception team. I shall share the feedback with them and am sure that they will be very enthused. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Dining in the New Africa dining room is always pleasant. The quaint church and calm sea make for delightful moments during a meal. I ate lunch recently and happy with the Indian dish I chose but more with their mocktails - a delicate combination of fruit, herbs and ice that stays full of flavour to the last drop. The service is good; courteous staff. I look forward to eating another meal there very soon.

Room Tip: Try their "mocktails"
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

Its nice to note that you enjoyed the food and beverage offering at the hotel. The mocktails at the all new Onyx lounge are really delightful and am glad that you enjoyed them. Hope to see you soon and we hope to pamper your taste buds even more!

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

City centre location although little to do nearby. Pool but in the shade for much of the day. Adequate rooms (although we ended up with cold showers!). Great Thai restaurant with good harbour views from top floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to apologize for the fact that we could not exceed your expectations in terms of the hotel stay. Apologies for the lack of warm water in the bath. Sometimes, we could have an air pocket due to a small maintenance somewhere. This can be easily sorted out if the front desk is informed. On a separate note, I am glad that you liked the harbour views and the food in the restaurants.

Hope you come back to Dar sometime soon and give us another shot at accommodating you.

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
GM & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The New Africa is extremely well located in Dar for the business traveller and for the tourist. Overlooking the harbour in the old city, and walking distance to many of the major institutions in Dar. There are, of course, upmarket 5 star hotel competitors, but the New Africa is very adequate. 2 options for dining - quite adequate. I will be planning on staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are appealing but you will be woken by the music from the Lutheran Church. Some like it, some don't - I liked being stirred from my slumber that way.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graemerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I am glad that you liked the hotel and the services overall. Its great to note that you will be back soon. You could make the booking via the hotel website or write to me directly. I am sure we shall provide another uneventful and largely pleasant stay in Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews