We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel not for travellers”
Review of New Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Africa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the New Africa hotel twice in 2 weeks as we continued our journey around Africa. Both times were poor experiences. They placed us in a street front room both times, even after asking to be away from the street. When trying to move rooms the second time they said the hotel was full and "maybe" in 3 hours (6 pm) they would see if anything was free. The rooms are so small you can hardly put 2 medium size bags beside the bed and walk around. Both times the lamps were missing light bulbs. The fridge continually leaked water on the already stained carpet. The safe was not working and we waited for 40 minutes for someone to come up to change the battery. Both times they did not call us for our wake up call as asked. Thank goodness our alarm clock worked. The bed is extremely hard and probably the worst mattress in Africa.
It took 20 minutes to check in and payment was demanded before we even were provided a room. Staff were not helpful and did not provide any type of service. When checking out I was not feeling well and needed a bathroom when in the lobby and was only shown to one after providing my room number. We were checking out and not rif-raf from the street. I was then shown to a washroom off the pool deck. No lights and very dirty!
Our first mistake was to even stop in Dar Eslaam and our second was to stay at the New Africa Hotel. We hoped that our first experience was a bit off and maybe the second time would be better. We were wrong. There are many other places to stay in Dar Eslaam if you need to stop here.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingmedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stays at the hotel.

Its very unfortunate that we could not provide or assign rooms as per your request. It seems that we allocated rooms on the only non-renovated floor of the hotel. Whilst that is really not an excuse for the quality of rooms, we have for sure addressed all the shortcomings in the refurbishment. At present we only have a dozen rooms left to renovate and would estimate that it would take around a month for it to be done. I am sure that this new avatar will not disappoint in case you give us another try.

I shall share your feedback with the team. Its a constant redressal with the team members and we shall ensure that the due points are addressed appropriately.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for New Africa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Hotel itself is very well situated for any business traveller, as well as doing ferry trips to the other side of the City and Zanzibar. The rooms are well equipped, there is a gym and swimming pool and live entertainment over the weekends. Service is very good. The best feature is the outstanding Thai restaurant on the top floor with its spectacular view of the Harbour area at night. As far as prices go in Dar, probably one of the best!

Room Tip: Corner suites are better :-)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

Its heartening to note that you found the hotel to be conveniently located over the water front and close to the ferry. Thank you for appreciating the live entertainment and the casino at site. It makes for lively weekends as the city center can get a bit dull at times. I am glad that you enjoyed the Thai restaurant and share our views that the kitchen dishes out the best Thai meal in the city. I shall communicate this to the kitchen team and am sure that they will be super chuffed.

Look forward to hosting your next visit to the city.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Old hotel little pimpt up but it's not the place you like to be.
The worst thing is the incredible hard matrass.

No efficient handling with luggage and the reception forgot the wake-up call!
Bad service and very very slow.
To far away from Dar airport for stop-over.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reislust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. I shall have the case of the missed wake up call investigated. This is not in line with our usual standards of service. Noted that your bags took long to be brought up. I shall discuss this with the team. Sorry to hear that you dont like the hotel and the public spaces because most guests like the renovated avatar.

I am very surprised with your comment on the mattress. We have 9 inch posturepedic mattresses from Sealy. These are state of art and most guests have complimented us on the same. If anything the mattress could have softened up a bit. I shall have a look at the same once more. Once again I apologize that the hotel did not live up to your expectations

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
GM & Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were a group of 12 coming from Canada. The hotel was excellent. Lobby was beautiful and service was excellent. Rooms were decent, clean, and had all necessary amenities. Shower and washroom were very clean as well. The location is very central to everything in dar es salaam. Staying here made our trip amazing. Breakfast had a good variety of food choice and juices as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your friends and you had a pleasant stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located. We thank you for your fair assessment of the facility and the services. The hotel prides itself on our levels of quality service and its great to note that we were able to deliver the same for the stay of your group.

We thank you once again and look forward to hosting your next stay as and when you return to Dar!

On behalf of the team at New Africa,

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my first stay at this quaint and charming hotel and I loved it.
The hotel has a great location, close enough to the airport, opposite the ferry and bang in the middle of the CBD. That apart, the newly renovated lobby is extremely welcoming, spacious and the hotel gives a very warm and friendly feel to a weary traveler. The rooms are clean with all the necessary facilities that one needs. You wake up to a stunning view of the ocean!!! A special mention must be given to the excellent bar (one must try out their cocktails) and to the delicious Thai food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. If I ever return I will definitely stay here. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for the lovely review of the hotel. I am very pleased that your stay was comfortable and that you found it great value for money. Thank you for appreciating the renovated lobby. Most guests such as you like the new look and feel. I shall convey your apprecation of the bar and the Thai restaurant to the food and beverage team. I am sure that they will be very chuffed to hear your comments.

Look forward to hosting your next visit to Dar!

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The New Africa is well run, clean, comfortable and well located. I have stayed there many times over the last 15 years and there has never been a serious problem. The staff are helpful and pleasant; the food is good; there is a good atmosphere and the rooms are very comfortable - try to get one overlooking the Cathedral for wonderful sounds ofthe choir singing in the mornings. The hotel will send a mini-bus to meet you at the airport if requested (small charge applies). There are several good, cheap local restaurants nearby and it seems reasonably safe to walk to them in the evenings, although take local advice. Government Ministries and Embassies are within walking distance. The New Africa is not the grandest hotel in town, but it is friendly, reliable and good value.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Cathedral (see photo taken from the room)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_BGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, especially the thumbs up for the facility and the team. We value your patronage and appreciate your detailed summary. Its nice to read that you felt that the hotel is an ideal choice for most travelers. I shall share your compliments with the team and am sure that they will be very enthused with the same.
Looking forward to hosting your next stay in Dar!

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rooms were not renovated yet but pretty much recommendable for its nice location and reasonable price.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Todd_Yun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

Thank you for your assessment of the hotel. We are delighted that you liked the renovated lobby and the bar. We have at present renovated most of the rooms. I would suggest that we book a renovated room upon your next visit. I am sure that you will like the refurbished avatar.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $118 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing