We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Africa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$293
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$144
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$223
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiffany Diamond Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$84
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
90
202
94
33
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
202
94
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restauranttop floorpleasant roomrenovations goingclub roomnice hotelsmall gymmeeting roomharbour viewexcellent breakfastcentral locationspent one nightclean roomsenjoyed my stayafricazanzibarbusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 431 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The New Africa is well run, clean, comfortable and well located. I have stayed there many times over the last 15 years and there has never been a serious problem. The staff are helpful and pleasant; the food is good; there is a good atmosphere and the rooms are very comfortable - try to get one overlooking the Cathedral for wonderful sounds ofthe choir singing in the mornings. The hotel will send a mini-bus to meet you at the airport if requested (small charge applies). There are several good, cheap local restaurants nearby and it seems reasonably safe to walk to them in the evenings, although take local advice. Government Ministries and Embassies are within walking distance. The New Africa is not the grandest hotel in town, but it is friendly, reliable and good value.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Cathedral (see photo taken from the room)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_BGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, especially the thumbs up for the facility and the team. We value your patronage and appreciate your detailed summary. Its nice to read that you felt that the hotel is an ideal choice for most travelers. I shall share your compliments with the team and am sure that they will be very enthused with the same.
Looking forward to hosting your next stay in Dar!

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Rooms were not renovated yet but pretty much recommendable for its nice location and reasonable price.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Todd_Yun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

Thank you for your assessment of the hotel. We are delighted that you liked the renovated lobby and the bar. We have at present renovated most of the rooms. I would suggest that we book a renovated room upon your next visit. I am sure that you will like the refurbished avatar.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
e mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very pleasant with a well arranged casino. Quit at night so yu can sleep.The hotel is very central to all most important amenities.The pool area is secluded and great service is offered arrounfd the pool.I recommend this hotel for pleasure and business trips.

Room Tip: Ask a room to overlook the harbour and stay as high as possible for excellent night view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank your for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

It is great to note that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities. The New Africa casino is the leading establishment in the city and is an extremely popular venue. Nice to know that you enjoyed the services at the casino. Thank you for appreciating the view from your room. Most rooms have unhindered views over the harbour and the port. Its quite relaxing to see large cargo ships and other boats pulling into the harbour. Glad you enjoyed this.

Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I felt like this place was like an airport hotel, there really is NOTHING else around it. BUT, if you are only spending a night there to get the ferry to Zanzibar or airport its a perfect place!
Ferry - 5 min walk
Airport 20-30 drive $50
The hotel has a pretty funky bar and decent restaurant so there really is NO need to venture of hotel property. The pool was great, especially after a crazy hot day traveling by ferry from Zanzibar.
The rooms were clean & safe (second door to swipe your key through prior to getting to your room), but the A/C wasnt very powerful.
In regards to the ferry, I would suggest going to the ferry terminal as early as possible to get your tickets.( Idealy the day before) There are SO many locals trying to "wheel and deal you" that you dont want to be dealing with that on a limited time limit. We tried to book our tickets online, and when we went to find the kiosk, they told us that boat didnt operate anymore. Im sure it was still operating we just couldnt find the right ticket stand, and NO one wanted to be helpful when they heard it was prebooked. First class tickets are also nice as you have the option for A/C on the ferry.
Bring your passports as well, you need them to buy your tickets, as well as need them to go through customes in Zanzibar, even though they are both in Tanzania you need to get it stamped.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alipaige11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

Glad to note that your stay was comfortable and that the hotel was very convenient for your ferry trip to Zanzibar. We are the closest hotel to the ferry and its a very comfortable short walk to catch the boat. Glad you enjoyed the pool as well as the new Onyx lounge bar. Sorry to hear that the AC in your room was not cooling as well as you had expected it to. We shall have the unit serviced and tested. Apologies for this.

Looking forward to hosting your next stay when in Dar.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM& Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. First was over 18 months ago. This time had a superb night's sleep before flying to Arusha. Had room on 6th floor over looking pool. Room very clean and quiet. Water pressure for shower not what I like but passable. Check in and out smooth and no problem. I recommend for business as its well located and good for overnight stays too. Sadly didn't get to eat at the restaurant as was very tired from long journey. Very secure and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dejamls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for returning to the hotel and posting such a lovely review of your stay.

I am glad that you found the hotel ideal for your business visit. Lovely to know that you found it to be safe and centrally located. Nice to note that you slept well. We have state of the art posturepedic mattresses in every room and as such provide great sleep quality. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel. Hopefully you could dine with us this time around.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews