We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An expensive stay in Dar Es Salaam”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Africa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Pretoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An expensive stay in Dar Es Salaam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and was overall disappointed. My first night I stayed in a bathroom with poor finishings and a plastic shower curtain if you wanted to take a shower in the bath tub. I was booked in on the second floor and my airconditioning didn't work either so I sweated like a pig in the Dar humidity. The food and drinks is very pricy and the portions is small. The Thai restaurant starter, main meal and desert would easily cost you more than Tsh40000 and then you will be hungry. On my second stay I got a room on the 8th floor and it was much better. The Saterday evening in the restaurant on the 9th floor local music was made by a two man band which was nice.The view over the harbour is very nice at night. Sunday morning the local pianist plays some nice Kenny G, Richard Claiderman, Old Blue eyes and Redulfi numbers with his personal flair. There laundry service is same day if laundry is given in the morning early. The good features is the staffs' friendliness and helpfulness, the fitness centre, swimming pool and Philipine massage centre. The casino is next door and part of the facility. I would not recommend New Africa in Dar Es Salaam.

Room Tip: The highest rooms are quiter and you have a better view during the night and day over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazenbyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. I have noted that you were disappointed with the hotel overall. You stayed in the only floor that is yet to be renovated. All the other 6 floors are renovated and are extremely contemporary. We shall complete the room renovations within the next few months.

Thank you for your kind appreciation of Omar ( the pianist ) and the team and service in general. Glad to note that you were taken care of. I have noted your comment on the price of the food at the Thai specialty restaurant. I would like to assure you that a meal of around 40,000 Tanzanian Shillings is quite a nominal price for Dar es Salaam. The cost of raw materials is very high as most of the same is imported. Most restaurants within the city are priced higher or similar. The Thai restaurant also happens to be the only one of its kind in the city. However having said this, we shall review the portion sizes.

I hope you were to give us a second chance if you decide to return to the city in the future. I am sure that the renovated product will not disappoint you.

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    193
    87
    30
    9
See reviews for
23
47
33
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Not a bad hotel for business travelers...... Centrally located in Dar es Salaam... Rooms are clean and quite nice , with hotel offering either sea view or pool view rooms...... I had a seaview which was nice however there is a church nearby so at 6.00am you get hit with the full force of the church choir going off which in my opinion was very loud..... If i was to stay there again i would choose a pool view room higher floor as they balconies and far more quiet..... Only problem i had with my room was the shower which was small ,with the overhead shower jet not working and only could use the attached hand held shower head device.......
Breakfast was nice and acceptable....... Have a small gym which was basic but at least you can do some things including 2 walking machines , free weights , stepper , bike and 4 station nautilus machine.....
Nice bar and restuarant on the 9th floor wih good water views.....
Not much to do in the immediate area as far as restuarants and nite life but is safe and occupied by goverment and office type buildings....... There is a supermarket 75 metres away which is good if you need some different bits and pieces.......
If you are going to Dar es Salaam on business this is an acceptable place to stay........
However if you are there on vacation i definetly would reccomend for you to stay in the Masaki area on the water which is a 15 min drive away instead , as there are plenty of lovely resorts there along with restauarant style plaza's , with banking , money changers , excellent retaurants , 1st class dental and medical facilities , excellent supermarket etc etc..... Masaki has numerous Embassies based there , along with the elite of Tanzanian business and society , certainly a very liveable area and a place i am most definetely going to visit again............

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have nice view HOWEVER be aware that there is a chuch 50 metres away with very loud ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Tridpadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad that you approved of the hotel overall. Apologies on account of the loud choir music from the church. Its usually not an issue but at times an over exuberant choir team can be a tad bit loud. Its a constant re-adressal system that we follow with the church team and it takes care of things. I have noted your comment on the shower. There is a knob that splits the water to the head shower and the hand shower. I suspect that the same was not worked in your case. Its a pity that one of the team members could not show the same to you.

I have noted your comments on the location of the hotel within the central business district and your recommendation of the options in Masaki. The Masaki or the peninsula area has a lot of residential areas and thus have the restaurants and eateries located in and around. Its great to be living there but if work happens to be in town then the commute kind of takes the fun element out. I noticed that you mentioned that its a 15 minute drive. This is true on weekend but on weekdays its around an hour or two depending on the traffic. Thus a lot of people tend to stay within the central business district and do travel in the evenings to the peninsula area. We do have the sweepings views of the harbour to make up for the same!

Thank you for your feedback and looking forward to hosting your next stay in Dar.

On behalf of the team,
Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Mail : gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great hotel, Great food, Great hospitality!!
Amazing experience!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathyavamsi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sathyavamsi,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

We are delighted to note that you liked the hotel overall. Glad that the food was nice and that the service team members took care of you.

Looking forward to hosting your next visit to Dar.

On behalf of the team,

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have been living in New Africa Hotel for almost 3 months and i can tell you its just feels like an home away from home. I would recomment this to all my friends and family. its very safe and in the hart of the city. One of the best breakfast i have had.

Room Tip: Live on the 8th Floor. Excellent view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahzore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Shahzore,

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel.

Glad to know that the hotel felt homely and welcoming. Its important when one stays for extended periods. I shall convey your appreciation of the breakfast buffet to the kitchen team. I am sure that they will be super enthused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not a bad hotel, but not great either. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is good and the bar is lively, but the rooms are a little dated, and the whole place could do with renovation.

My biggest complaint would be that The New Africa is now the same price as The Serena, where I shall be staying in future, without offering the same quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the hotel.

Its disappointing to note that you were not satisfied with your stay overall. Thank you for complimenting the hotel team and the services. I shall share your feedback with them. Apologies for having let you down with the overall look and feel of the public areas and the room. You stayed in a non renovated room this time around. We would be complete with the room renovations in a few months. We are also renovating the lobby and the public areas. Overall the entire hotel will look very contemporary. I have noted that you would be staying at the Serena on your next visit. However if you were to give us another opportunity to host your visit, we could book you in a renovated room and you could also enjoy the renovated public areas. I am sure that you wont be disappointed.

Regards,

Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

At most hotels you get a better room and treatment the more you stay. At the New Africa the opposite is the case. The first time I stayed I got a very nice suite with habour view. However since then the the quality of the rooms I have been given has declined from stay to stay. This time I was given a renovated room. The room was on the top of the reception and had no view other than the flat roof which was has rubbish flowing around it. Worse though is that the window was not securely locked so anyone on the roof could get easy access to my room, not good! Luckily nothing happened. Only some parts of the room had been renovated, it had nice new curtains, bed, desk etc not a new carpet which meant the room smelt damp. The bathroom looked very nice with new tiles and what have you, but they had not change the tabs or the shower head which gave an overall poor impression of the bathroom. A bit silly not to spend just a few more Shillings on new tabs and showerhead. However worse the showerhead was so poor that water went everywhere when you turned it on, even when you had closed the shower curtain! The reception is under major renovation but looks to be nice once it is finish. Breakfast is adequate and service seems to have improved since I last stayed. Not sure I will stay at The New Africa as I dreed to think what room the will give me next, the broomcover?

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Indeed you had stayed with us in a suite in 2009 on an extended stay. Its unfortunate that we could not offer the same to you during your short visit to Dar this time around. The room that you stayed in was our standard room which has not been renovated as is the case with around 100 rooms in the hotel. We have just done a bit of soft refurbishment in this room. All the points that you have highlighted in your post will be addressed shortly. A refurbishment will never be as good as the thorough renovation. The main lobby, reception as well as the bar will be ready in a few months and will be quite contemporary. I hope you would return on your next visit and give us a chance to host your visit. Maybe you could book the renovated room on your next visit. I am sure that you wont be disappointed.

Regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the New Africa while attending a conference at a different hotel. The room was good, while the food was excellent (I only took a few meals due to the conference). I particularly liked the a la carte fresh fish dinner and the sumptuous breakfast served in the Bandari restaurant. The staff were very kind. The renovations going on will hopefully compete the picture by giving a superb welcome view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carloski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShankerN, General Manager at New Africa Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor member,

At the outset I would like to thank you for your review of the hotel and at the same time apologize for my belated response.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your special mention of the seafood dinner will be shared with the kitchen team. I am sure that they will be thrilled after hearing the same. Your comment on the ongoing renovation has been noted. The hotel will definitely have a very contemporary feel to the public areas within a few months. I am sure that you would appreciate the changes if and when you return.

Thank you.

Warm regards,
Shanker Narayanan
GM & Director
E mail: gm@newafricahotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Africa Hotel

Property: New Africa Hotel
Address: Azikiwe St. / Sokoine Dr. | P. O Box 9314, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing