We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly in Tanzania” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly in Tanzania”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I must say up front that this was a working trip, not a holiday. I stayed at the Sea Cliff hotel for four weeks. The staff are extremely friendly and very eager to make your stay as good as possible. We were staying in an off the main hotel complex called "The Village", a small area with some hotel rooms and shops, restaurants etc. Most of the rooms in the Village are very small (408 to 422), (Especially the bathrooms) but, because we were staying for so long we were upgraded for free to the higher grade rooms. (401 to 407) All these rooms are large with nice bathrooms. The management could not have done more to make our stay a good pleasant one and the Cleaning staff were friendly and efficient. For eating there is the "Alcove" restaurant, which is Indian & Chinese food but the best was the main hotel restaurant "Kambezi" which has the reputation of the finest restaurant in Dar and it is really good.
It is open to the ocean so it can be too hot and humid at some times of day, but, what a view at breakfast with the sun rising from the ocean in front of you!
Enjoyed it, and many thanks to the managers for their kind helpfulness.

Room Tip: See the review re the "Village" which is a few minutes walk from the main hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Bonny81,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are happy to know that you found the staff to be attentive and friendly. Since you were a long staying guest, it was our pleasure to upgrade you and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Karambezi restaurant indeed has a beautiful view, we will surely pass your compliments to Karambezi Restaurant staff.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    183
    38
    22
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

his hotel has very small rooms but they are clean. The bathroom was fairly spacious so that was nice. There was far more street noise all night long than I would have liked but we were on the 2nd floor--big mistake for this property. It is close to nigh club. too noise parking area

Room Tip: second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Great sea view.

Restaurant serves Chinese n Indian food but we chose Indian food for 2 straight nites. They were just great. Variety of choices for breakfast as well.

Room is spacious n clean. There is a small casino in there which kept me entertained.

I don't even need to get out of the hotel.



Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Occasiontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the posting such a lovely review regarding your stay.

We take pride in offering a variety of entertainment options and it is gratifying to hear that our facilities are enjoyed by guests.

We are also proud of having one of Dar es Salaam’s finest Indian restaurants which opened in 1989. Next time you are in the hotel, please do also try some of our delicious pastries at the Karambezi Cafe!

Kind regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
423 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I cannot think of any negatives about this hotel. The staff are all super helpful. The food at the restaurants is wonderful. The scenery is marvelous. If you are in Dar es Salaam, you will be missing a real treat if you do not stay at the Sea Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to eat at the hotel restaurants. They are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mr. Ron B,

Greetings from Sea Cliff Hotel

Thank you for posting a great review on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Sea Cliff Hotel. I will pass your kind words to my team who are always eager to know what the guests think about our service.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again whenever you come back to Dar es salaam.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very nice hotel with very light and airy rooms.Sea views are beautiful.
Breakfast meals were very nice with good fresh fruit and nice food.
the conference rooms were also quite large with a very good view.
VGA projector no HDMI projectors and sadly no large screen (43inch) digital TV.
Wifi was spotty went down sometimes but the staff were more than happy to help and very professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mr. PPM2014,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip advisor. We are pleased to note that you admired the spectacular view, enjoyed the buffet breakfast and were content with the meeting rooms.

We sincerely apologize for not having good internet network during your stay with us. Our Internet strength is usually strong. If this problem occurs on your next visit, please do not hesitate to inform us so that we can send an appropriate member of the team to come and fix it.

Thank you once again for choosing Sea Cliff Hotel. We hope to see you soon!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

When on a business trip you tend to pick hotels that will make it easy to continue doing business as if you are at home or the office. The internet access in the rooms of this hotel is a joke! It was impossible to do email from the rooms. We had to go work in the lobby where the access was ok.

Besides the above this hotel has a policy to charge you the full amount for your stay up-front, not reserve an amount, charge it!

For a 5 star hotel the staff are remarkably unprofessional. I had to ask the cleaning staff to tone it down at night and concierge could not understand basic English.

We will not be using the Sea Cliff hotel again for business trips

Room Tip: Internet access from the lobby is pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Albie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant stay. I would like to clarify that we do require a deposit upon check-in however guests can choose to pay for the first few nights only. I have also made a note of your comment about the slow Wi-Fi, our team has been working to resolve this issue as soon as it was brought to our attention.

We would like to assure you that your comments are being taken seriously and we appreciate the honest feedback. We hope the occurrence of this incident will not change your view about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Cliff Hotel.

Kind regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms, nice pool, friendly staff and a decent bar. Ticks all the boxes. Worth a stay. The staff need tips all the time, but that's just Tanzania in general. Far enough from the busy town. There is a general store which is a 2 min walk from the hotel which is handy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scotty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeacliffMarketing, Sales Executive at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Scotty E,

Thank you for the fabulous review! We are delighted that all aspects of your stay with Sea Cliff Hotel were enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Chandni Vithlani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing