We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Even it was a very short business visit in Dar es Salaam, the time in the Sea Cliff was very nice.
Friendly people, nice and clean room.
The breakfast was very good, and the view on the ocean was sensationell!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Dirk,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, hopefully next time you will spend a bit longer with us and manage to enjoy the hotel even more.

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 528 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

A single day at this fabulous hotel was not enough, but it was perfect from beginning till checkout. Recommendable, definitely! The resort has it's own hair-salon, small shops, a café with great seafood. Only downside was the amount of ants at the poolside and the lack of a beach, but the view over the cliff is magic.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riegels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mr Riegels,

Many thanks for the great review, such feedback is always appreciated by the staff. We will see what we can do about the ants issue. For the beach comment, it will be a difficult one to tackle! :) We would love to have one obviously but being perched on a cliff, it is one of the constraints + the sea in Dar es Salaam is not the best to be completely honest. For your and others information there are a couple of nice beaches not far from the hotel that are accessible (coco beach, Yacht Club) however the best spots are the one 'out' of Dar es Salaam, easy and quick trips can be made to the Bongoyo and Mbudya Island (15 minutes by boat) where the sand is as white as can be and water as clear as can be. Definitely the place to go if you have some spare time while staying in Dar es Salaam, one of its best kept secret...

Very best regards and see you hopefully again soon at Sea Cliff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good location close to the tip of the peninsula. Nice ocean view. Quite breezy all day long, especially at the restaurant which can be a relief during hot days, but sometimes the wind gets annoying. Rooms are clean, spacious. Some rooms are luckier in terms of wifi reception. Staff are very helpful and freindly. The hotel is also very close to a mall with a choice of restaurants. The food at the hotel was also great. A nice buffet for breakfast and other tasty dishes all day long. I stayed there 12 days and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcagatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Lcagatay,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback, this is really appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a beautiful dinner at Sea Cliff. The quality of the food was sensational and the service first class. A highly recommended place to go with a fantastic atmosphere and views. The pricing was reasonable for such high quality

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Alan_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Stephen,

Many thanks for your great review of our restaurant (Karambezi) we do have another one called Alcove which is just as good but specializes in Indian Cuisine.
Your positive feedback has been passed on to the team and is greatly appreciated.

Karibu Tena (You are welcome anytime)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The SeaCliff has a fantastic location at the end of Msasani Peninsula, with amazing ocean views. Beautiful setting for a lovely swimming pool. Fantastic breakfast (loved the smoothies!), and the staff could not have been more helpful. Great attention to detail, and I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Sea Cliff.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The setting for this hotel is great, right on the seaside, as the name implies. Although it is a bit far out of the city, it is well worth it. My biggest complaint is that I was only able to spend one night there and that I arrived late and had to leave early, not enough time to enjoy it! The rooms were good sized and spotlessly clean, with really comfy beds which I had a great sleep in. The seaside restaurant was a great place to have an evening meal, with a cooling breeze blowing through – very nice setting. As an alternative place to eat dinner, there is a Spur steakhouse just next door. The breakfast was very disappointing, just a few muffins and a few pieces of fruit. One of the best aspects of the hotel was the gym. I was amazed by the completeness of the gym – lots of good cardio gear and a full selection of machine weights and some free weights as well. Great place for a workout.

I would definitely like to spend more time at this hotel. All the staff were great and I had a great stay here. I will be coming back and I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Dan,

First of all, many thanks for the great review, please come again to enjoy the facility a bit more! However I am sorry to say that, from your comments, you did not get the right breakfast!!!...
Breakfast buffet is actually served at Karambezi (Where you had dinner) offering the priceless view and a VERY wide choice of options (we are not afraid to say we are offering the best breakfast in town): Fresh juices and smoothies bar (blended in front of you), pancakes and waffles station, all sorts of pastries, yogurt, muesli, cheeses etc... And included in the breakfast are the dozen of 'hot' specials that you can order (Spanish omelette, English breakfast, french toasts... etc ...). What seems to have happened is that you got your breakfast in the main lobby where we put indeed coffee, tea, fruits and muffins for people who do not have the time to take a proper sited full breakfast in the morning... It is an extra service we offer but is in no way the official breakfast! I'm therefore very sorry you could not enjoy the proper breakfast which is miles away from what you described and what you had.

Thanks very much for the fantastic feedback anyway!

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have traveled many times to Dar and always stay at the Sea Cliff. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms and communal spaces are spotless. The included breakfast is really good - fresh fruits, juices, breads, all over looking the Indian Ocean. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for the vote of confidence and for coming back to Sea Cliff Hotel. Having returning guest is always a pleasure for us as it shows you appreciate our efforts.

Many thanks for your support and Karibu Tena (Welcome again!)

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#4 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
536 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#9 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $256 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing