We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Dar”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The SeaCliff has a fantastic location at the end of Msasani Peninsula, with amazing ocean views. Beautiful setting for a lovely swimming pool. Fantastic breakfast (loved the smoothies!), and the staff could not have been more helpful. Great attention to detail, and I strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Sea Cliff.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 500 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

The setting for this hotel is great, right on the seaside, as the name implies. Although it is a bit far out of the city, it is well worth it. My biggest complaint is that I was only able to spend one night there and that I arrived late and had to leave early, not enough time to enjoy it! The rooms were good sized and spotlessly clean, with really comfy beds which I had a great sleep in. The seaside restaurant was a great place to have an evening meal, with a cooling breeze blowing through – very nice setting. As an alternative place to eat dinner, there is a Spur steakhouse just next door. The breakfast was very disappointing, just a few muffins and a few pieces of fruit. One of the best aspects of the hotel was the gym. I was amazed by the completeness of the gym – lots of good cardio gear and a full selection of machine weights and some free weights as well. Great place for a workout.

I would definitely like to spend more time at this hotel. All the staff were great and I had a great stay here. I will be coming back and I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Dan,

First of all, many thanks for the great review, please come again to enjoy the facility a bit more! However I am sorry to say that, from your comments, you did not get the right breakfast!!!...
Breakfast buffet is actually served at Karambezi (Where you had dinner) offering the priceless view and a VERY wide choice of options (we are not afraid to say we are offering the best breakfast in town): Fresh juices and smoothies bar (blended in front of you), pancakes and waffles station, all sorts of pastries, yogurt, muesli, cheeses etc... And included in the breakfast are the dozen of 'hot' specials that you can order (Spanish omelette, English breakfast, french toasts... etc ...). What seems to have happened is that you got your breakfast in the main lobby where we put indeed coffee, tea, fruits and muffins for people who do not have the time to take a proper sited full breakfast in the morning... It is an extra service we offer but is in no way the official breakfast! I'm therefore very sorry you could not enjoy the proper breakfast which is miles away from what you described and what you had.

Thanks very much for the fantastic feedback anyway!

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have traveled many times to Dar and always stay at the Sea Cliff. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms and communal spaces are spotless. The included breakfast is really good - fresh fruits, juices, breads, all over looking the Indian Ocean. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for the vote of confidence and for coming back to Sea Cliff Hotel. Having returning guest is always a pleasure for us as it shows you appreciate our efforts.

Many thanks for your support and Karibu Tena (Welcome again!)

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were suppose to have two nights her but due to flights only had the one night. Very nice rooms and the pool was very nice! Away from the city centre which was just fine with us! Food was good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Gary,
Many thanks for choosing Sea Cliff and for the positive review. Very sorry you could not enjoy our facilities a bit longer. But I hope it has given you some ideas for a future visit maybe!

See you again soon and once again your comments are greatly appreciated,

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent lunch with great service. Good attentive staff and managers. Nice cool green areas in shade with beautiful gardens to stroll along or sit for a while. Clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for the positive feedback! On top a fantastic location we are indeed very proud to have as part of our facilities; two of the best restaurants in Dar Es Salaam (Karambezi and Alcove). Those are complemented by the food court next door (Short walk) featuring another dozen of great restaurants, bars, coffees... so there is a choice for everyone!

Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of town, this hotel sits right on the water. The restaurant has a gorgeous view of the water. Be sure to sit upstairs in the lounge in the enclosed deck that looks out on the water. Been here 3-4 times in the last year. The bell staff are very helpful in arranging transportation, tickets to Zanzibar, etc. Business center gets the job done with an attendant there. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. There is a collection of stores , restaurants and a grocery store right next to the hotel to stock up on food and supplies.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear William,

Many thanks for the wonderful review, always glad to hear of returning guests pleased with our service and recommending it. Your support is greatly appreciated and we hope to having you again shortly at Sea Cliff hotel.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is pleasant and the staff are friendly. It is right on the ocean and has great views. The rooms are very comfortable. It is a quieter hotel away from downtown Dar. This was my third stay here and I would recommend it.

Traveler Tip: Try and request a sea facing room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Many thanks for your positive feedback, it is always great to see a returning guest enjoy visiting the hotel each time. Next time you come down to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me so we can maybe try to see how we can make your stay even nicer.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
351 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
493 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $160 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing