We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option for staying in Dar”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have traveled many times to Dar and always stay at the Sea Cliff. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms and communal spaces are spotless. The included breakfast is really good - fresh fruits, juices, breads, all over looking the Indian Ocean. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for the vote of confidence and for coming back to Sea Cliff Hotel. Having returning guest is always a pleasure for us as it shows you appreciate our efforts.

Many thanks for your support and Karibu Tena (Welcome again!)

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Sea Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 495 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were suppose to have two nights her but due to flights only had the one night. Very nice rooms and the pool was very nice! Away from the city centre which was just fine with us! Food was good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Gary,
Many thanks for choosing Sea Cliff and for the positive review. Very sorry you could not enjoy our facilities a bit longer. But I hope it has given you some ideas for a future visit maybe!

See you again soon and once again your comments are greatly appreciated,

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed an excellent lunch with great service. Good attentive staff and managers. Nice cool green areas in shade with beautiful gardens to stroll along or sit for a while. Clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for the positive feedback! On top a fantastic location we are indeed very proud to have as part of our facilities; two of the best restaurants in Dar Es Salaam (Karambezi and Alcove). Those are complemented by the food court next door (Short walk) featuring another dozen of great restaurants, bars, coffees... so there is a choice for everyone!

Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Away from the hustle and bustle of town, this hotel sits right on the water. The restaurant has a gorgeous view of the water. Be sure to sit upstairs in the lounge in the enclosed deck that looks out on the water. Been here 3-4 times in the last year. The bell staff are very helpful in arranging transportation, tickets to Zanzibar, etc. Business center gets the job done with an attendant there. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. There is a collection of stores , restaurants and a grocery store right next to the hotel to stock up on food and supplies.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear William,

Many thanks for the wonderful review, always glad to hear of returning guests pleased with our service and recommending it. Your support is greatly appreciated and we hope to having you again shortly at Sea Cliff hotel.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is pleasant and the staff are friendly. It is right on the ocean and has great views. The rooms are very comfortable. It is a quieter hotel away from downtown Dar. This was my third stay here and I would recommend it.

Traveler Tip: Try and request a sea facing room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Many thanks for your positive feedback, it is always great to see a returning guest enjoy visiting the hotel each time. Next time you come down to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me so we can maybe try to see how we can make your stay even nicer.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The views across the ocean were a great way to start the day. The guest relations manager did a great job of accommodating all our plans, trips and changes. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a selection of three different curries at the Alcove restaurant and they were all fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyalonglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great review and delighted you were pleased with hotel, the staff and the food. It looks like we have ticked all of your boxes.
Just would like to emphasize on your comment about Alcove as it is true most of the time Karambezi (the main restaurant) gets all of the comments as it is where we serve the breakfast and where you have 'THE' view. But indeed the second restaurant in the main hotel, Alcove, serves wonderful Indian food and is definitely to be experienced as well!

Very best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a fantastic base in Dar es Salaam. We stayed there for 4 nights as my husband had a business meeting in the hotel and before going off to explore Tanzania. The hotel is perfect as it combines great business facilities (good meeting rooms, Internet access, efficient staff) but still feels like a holiday resort. The staff is really helpful, friendly and welcoming. There is also a 'Sea Cliff' village a few minutes away which has a few restaurants and cafes, as well as a few shops (special mention to the Green Room with brilliant arts and craft to bring back home!!!).
During the day, I used the swimming pool and enjoyed the views on the Indian Ocean. There is also excellent equipment in the gym, which I felt I had to use! The hotel main restaurant, the Karembezi Cafe, is actually one of the best restaurants in Dar. It is not a bland chain hotel restaurant, it is worth the detour.
We were so happy about our stay that we decided to use the Sea Cliff for our stay in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you and your husband made the most of Tanzania and we are glad Sea Cliff Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar have been an highlight to your trip. Sea Cliff is indeed the perfect stopover for Dar Es Salaam. We hope to have the chance to seeing you again soon!

Karibu tena!

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
328 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
321 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $160 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing