We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and nice sea view”
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel and nice sea view”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed there on business for 2 nights in July 2012. Good to have meetings in the lounge (1st floor) by the seaside restaurant. The lounge is comfortable for meetings. The view is quite impressive with the high and low tide during the day. There could easily be a 3 m difference between the tides. Restaurant is always busy and the food is good whether for lunch or dinner. I have been twice to this hotel. The room is clean and comfortable so I have not really been tempted to try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your nice review and for making the right decision to stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    190
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
36
58
29
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I arrived in Dar es Salaam with only an over night stay before i went inland to rural areas. After a long flight it was very welcoming, comfortable, relaxed atmosphere and great food. On my way back out of the country, i overnighted again.... and another perfect way to end my tour of the country. I really love it there...... You have got to try the Calamari starter and the Grilled Snapper main, at the restaurant.... probably the best grilled fish i have had in a LONG time...

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Many thanks for your very positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your two stays with us and we hope to see you again for some more calamari and red snapper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As its name implies the Sea Cliff is perched on the edge of a cliff overlooking the a magnificent view of the Indian Ocean. The Hotel is set in a tropical garden splendid in its array of indigenous flora.
Spending 3 nights here including a Friday was a real treat , the rooms are excellent and well located within the grounds. The Friday night atmosphere in the bar overlooking the ocean was mix of nationalities from all corners of the world , good fun was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Many thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights recently before our flight to europe and it was a very good and relaxing stay.

The hotel has all the features you need and even as it was pretty full you felt relaxed.

Some plus thing and some minus then;

+ comfortable rooms, excellent view, very good sleeping quality
+ good breakfast with many choices
+ very good food in general (had a very good prawn-avocado salad and a tender T-bone steak)
+ friendly staff (and its plenty of them around)
+ good location if you like to be a bit outside the city centre.... which is less hectic...

- a bit old and worn down (just some details in the room and public areas, not too much though)
- we had the bad luck of being there when it was end of Ramadan, and the noise from the party in the garden was a bit disturbing... but ended before bedtime, so not too bad
- the taxi drivers could have been a bit more communcative and client friendly
- although many waiters and staff during meals, it felt like sitting in a chicken house with people running around all the time.... but it was pretty good service after all, but a bit unorganised..

So all in all a 5 star experience, and yes, I will be back and I will reccommend this to my collegues and friends. keep it up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks very much for the very constructive review, this is 'spot on' and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to visit us again.

Karibu Tena.

Jef Varet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houten
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed one night here on the way to Sumbawanga, but we will definitely come back to stay a few more nights and are planning to take some friends with us!
The location of the hotel is perfect and the atmosphere very relaxed. A very nice place to spend the beginning of your holiday in Tanzania.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review, enjoy the rest of your journey in Tanzania and we obviously very much look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Jef Varet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

From the moment we landed in Zanzibar everything went better than I could ever hope for. Your honeymoon is suppose to be the best time of your life. Sea Cliff made our honey a truly unforgettable experience. The staff are super friendly and they made sure that we felt special for the duration of our stay. They realy go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything that you need. I woud reccomend this resort too anyone. We really had a great time!!!!!

Room Tip: A deluxe suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Congratulations first of all on your marriage and thank you for the glowing review! You've posted on the page for Sea Cliff Hotel in Dar es Salaam but I think it was meant for our sister hotel, Sea Cliff Resort & Spa in Zanzibar
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g482884-d1982645-Reviews-Sea_Cliff_Resort_Spa-Zanzibar_Zanzibar_Archipelago.html

We'll make sure we let them know that they've received such kind words and they'll be delighted to know that they were able to make your honeymoon so special. We wish you many years of happiness ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Cliff Hotel for two nights in July 2012. Sea Cliff is as close to a major American brand hotel that you will get in Dar. It has the typical amenities- pool, two restaurants, fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. As an aside, we tried both restaurtants and the food is good.

The style of the room and lobby is Afro chic. I thought it was well suited to the hotel. We stayed in Room 229, ocean view. It was spacious and had a window the width of the room facing the ocean. The bathroom was spacious as well. The room was clean and comfortable. One note about the bathroom- the shower floor is flush to the main floor of the bathroom. The shower can flood the entire bathroom floor- messy.

There are two negative things of note. The front desk staff is not welcoming and seem a little clueless. The other being that we requested transport from the airport to the hotel. The hotel charged us $60 for the pick-up. This is an outrageous price- you can get a taxi for almost half the cost. I am disappointed in Sea Cliff for taking advantage of guests with that price- especially that it wasn't some kind of luxury car.

As an aside, if you are staying in Dar Es Salaam pre or post- safari, the peninsula is where you want to stay. Very safe and you can walk around to the beach side bars and such.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful and constructive review. We're glad to hear you had a good stay and were happy with the facilities but did want to come back to your other points. Room 229 is due to come under maintenance for 24 hours the next time it is unoccupied to reset the slope of the shower. We've already re-done several other rooms which had the same slight design flaw.

We can only apologise for the impression our Front Office team gave you and will address this during training today. With regards airport transfer pricing, we outsource this service through the Tradewinds Business Centre. They conduct regular reviews vs. other hotels to ensure prices match the market rate. However, we are looking at 2013 pricing at present so we will personally review prices again and ensure your comments are very much taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
444 reviews
5.0 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing