We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Cliff Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sea Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

From the moment we landed in Zanzibar everything went better than I could ever hope for. Your honeymoon is suppose to be the best time of your life. Sea Cliff made our honey a truly unforgettable experience. The staff are super friendly and they made sure that we felt special for the duration of our stay. They realy go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything that you need. I woud reccomend this resort too anyone. We really had a great time!!!!!

Room Tip: A deluxe suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Congratulations first of all on your marriage and thank you for the glowing review! You've posted on the page for Sea Cliff Hotel in Dar es Salaam but I think it was meant for our sister hotel, Sea Cliff Resort & Spa in Zanzibar
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g482884-d1982645-Reviews-Sea_Cliff_Resort_Spa-Zanzibar_Zanzibar_Archipelago.html

We'll make sure we let them know that they've received such kind words and they'll be delighted to know that they were able to make your honeymoon so special. We wish you many years of happiness ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    183
    38
    22
    7
See reviews for
36
57
29
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Cliff Hotel for two nights in July 2012. Sea Cliff is as close to a major American brand hotel that you will get in Dar. It has the typical amenities- pool, two restaurants, fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. As an aside, we tried both restaurtants and the food is good.

The style of the room and lobby is Afro chic. I thought it was well suited to the hotel. We stayed in Room 229, ocean view. It was spacious and had a window the width of the room facing the ocean. The bathroom was spacious as well. The room was clean and comfortable. One note about the bathroom- the shower floor is flush to the main floor of the bathroom. The shower can flood the entire bathroom floor- messy.

There are two negative things of note. The front desk staff is not welcoming and seem a little clueless. The other being that we requested transport from the airport to the hotel. The hotel charged us $60 for the pick-up. This is an outrageous price- you can get a taxi for almost half the cost. I am disappointed in Sea Cliff for taking advantage of guests with that price- especially that it wasn't some kind of luxury car.

As an aside, if you are staying in Dar Es Salaam pre or post- safari, the peninsula is where you want to stay. Very safe and you can walk around to the beach side bars and such.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful and constructive review. We're glad to hear you had a good stay and were happy with the facilities but did want to come back to your other points. Room 229 is due to come under maintenance for 24 hours the next time it is unoccupied to reset the slope of the shower. We've already re-done several other rooms which had the same slight design flaw.

We can only apologise for the impression our Front Office team gave you and will address this during training today. With regards airport transfer pricing, we outsource this service through the Tradewinds Business Centre. They conduct regular reviews vs. other hotels to ensure prices match the market rate. However, we are looking at 2013 pricing at present so we will personally review prices again and ensure your comments are very much taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great location with good service, good food and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is also serviced by a helicopter which helps a lot to overcome the Dar es Salaam traffic.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a far better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. There are now two helicopter based at Sea Cliff Hotel run by Whirlwinds Aviation offering leisure trips to a variety of destinations as well as airport transfers. At the moment, we have a special on airport transfers for just $150 pp each way (minimum 2 people) with a journey time of 10 minutes. Just let our Reservations Team if you would ike us to book this for you on your next trip. It is undoubtedly the most efficient and fun way to travel in Dar es Salaam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Group stayed 3 nights after long flight. We found the atmosphere very relaxing, food was excellent and the service too. Lovely views and excellent staff. The restaurant on the edge of the ocean was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for posting this nice review. I'm delighted your group were able to rest, relax and recharge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel has lovely direct ocean views and an excellent staff who really go out of their way to be friendly and service-oriented. For example, today I dropped off a bunch of flowers to be held at the reception and returned to my room to find them nicely arranged in a vase. The deluxe rooms are modern and well-furbished, with nice hardwood floors and a good (but not sumptuous) bathroom. The breakfast buffet is very generous and offers a wide selection of hot and continental items. While I saw mentions of air conditioning, hot water and other such items in other reviews, this was not our experience. A number of celebrities have stayed here, ranging from Angelina Jolie to Jane Goodall, and many members of royal families. Overall, it exceeded expectations. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: definitely ask for the sea view rooms; the higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
And a pleasure it is to read your review! As an independent hotel, word of mouth and recommendations on forums like Trip Advisor have such a big impact on us and we thank you sincerely for taking the time to write your review. I'm very glad to hear we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and hope we will have the opportunity to do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The grounds are just gorgeous. The swimming pool is really nice. Rooms are spacious and have most of the amenities you would want. The food is the restaurant is really, a little bit expensive but not outrageous, and the staff are all very curteous and helpful. The only downside was the air conditioning. It just wasn't up to dealing with the humidity. The result was very damp air in the room--it took four days for the clothes I washed to dry. And internet service is slow and frequently goes down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea. Otherwise you are looking at the parking lot or a bunch of machinery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
I'm glad that you found a peaceful oasis here after your busy day at work. There's something about being beside the ocean which is always so calming. I'm sorry to hear your air conditioning unit was working well enough - if you didn't report this to maintenance at the time, could we trouble you to send us an email so we can check? Dar es Salaam is humid so our units work very hard and need servicing more often than usual. We identified the internet issue given feedback from several other guests and have since increased the bandwidth to make sure it is both reliable and fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group stayed here overnight and found the palatial facilities to be perceptional. The feast we enjoyed in the restaurant at the edge of the Indian Ocean was an idyllic experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
There is nothing more rewarding than to read that a guest has left with happy memories that they will never forget. We are truly blessed with our magical surroundings and glad that we were able to share this with you and your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.7 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Hotel

Property: Sea Cliff Hotel
Address: Toure Drive | Msasani Peninsula, Dar es Salaam 3030, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea Cliff Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Cliff Hotel - a stunning 5* hotel jutting out majestically on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean with beautifully manicured gardens. It offers an oasis of calm just 5km from the hustle and bustle Dar es Salaam’s city centre and 22km from the airport, nearby all that the city has to offer. All 93 rooms are beautifully furnished and include seven executive rooms, five executive suites, and a magnificent presidential / honeymoon suite with panoramic views out to sea. All rooms have complimentary WiFi, satellite television, direct dial telephone, mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, digital safe and bathroom amenities as standard. 24-hour room service, laundry, dry cleaning, airport transfer and babysitting services also available. On site, there is also a fitness centre, outdoor pool with sun terrace, casino, hair & beauty salon, two restaurants, coffee shop, bar, members lounge, full service business centre, conference and banqueting facilities and service with a big smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sea Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing