We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
271
223
46
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
223
46
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian ocean overlooking the ocean indian restaurant lovely hotel msasani peninsula seafood comfortable rooms business trip nice pool home away from home city centre nana alcove dar gym tanzania supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 573 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Group stayed 3 nights after long flight. We found the atmosphere very relaxing, food was excellent and the service too. Lovely views and excellent staff. The restaurant on the edge of the ocean was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for posting this nice review. I'm delighted your group were able to rest, relax and recharge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel has lovely direct ocean views and an excellent staff who really go out of their way to be friendly and service-oriented. For example, today I dropped off a bunch of flowers to be held at the reception and returned to my room to find them nicely arranged in a vase. The deluxe rooms are modern and well-furbished, with nice hardwood floors and a good (but not sumptuous) bathroom. The breakfast buffet is very generous and offers a wide selection of hot and continental items. While I saw mentions of air conditioning, hot water and other such items in other reviews, this was not our experience. A number of celebrities have stayed here, ranging from Angelina Jolie to Jane Goodall, and many members of royal families. Overall, it exceeded expectations. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: definitely ask for the sea view rooms; the higher the floor, the better
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

And a pleasure it is to read your review! As an independent hotel, word of mouth and recommendations on forums like Trip Advisor have such a big impact on us and we thank you sincerely for taking the time to write your review. I'm very glad to hear we succeeded in exceeding your expectations and hope we will have the opportunity to do so again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The grounds are just gorgeous. The swimming pool is really nice. Rooms are spacious and have most of the amenities you would want. The food is the restaurant is really, a little bit expensive but not outrageous, and the staff are all very curteous and helpful. The only downside was the air conditioning. It just wasn't up to dealing with the humidity. The result was very damp air in the room--it took four days for the clothes I washed to dry. And internet service is slow and frequently goes down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea. Otherwise you are looking at the parking lot or a bunch of machinery.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syd88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

I'm glad that you found a peaceful oasis here after your busy day at work. There's something about being beside the ocean which is always so calming. I'm sorry to hear your air conditioning unit was working well enough - if you didn't report this to maintenance at the time, could we trouble you to send us an email so we can check? Dar es Salaam is humid so our units work very hard and need servicing more often than usual. We identified the internet issue given feedback from several other guests and have since increased the bandwidth to make sure it is both reliable and fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our group stayed here overnight and found the palatial facilities to be perceptional. The feast we enjoyed in the restaurant at the edge of the Indian Ocean was an idyllic experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babu957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

There is nothing more rewarding than to read that a guest has left with happy memories that they will never forget. We are truly blessed with our magical surroundings and glad that we were able to share this with you and your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was nice staying at the Cliff… I look forward to a return visit when I come to Dar. I enjoyed the warm reception and service from your excellent staff. The food was great and rooms were clean and comfortable to stay in.

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms have a great view of sunrise and the Indian Ocean
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMWKhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

And we very much look forward to welcoming you back! Karibu sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews