We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$105
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$138
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$136
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
262
218
45
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
218
45
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian oceanoverlooking the oceanfavorite hotelguest relationsindian restaurantlovely hotelmsasani peninsulaseafoodcomfortable roomsbusiness centerbusiness tripmain restaurantswimming pool isnice poolhome away from homecity centrenana
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 558 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The rooms and interior design are superb. But something was a bit off. The first night i stayed there, i was pretty exhausted, and had these two persons knocking on my door at past 9 pm asking whether i would like my room sprayed with insect side. i asked if there were mosquitoes, they said no. any other insects that warrant this late infringement on my privacy? no. so why knock on my door? why not spray earlier in the day while you clean the room (note that these couple of people didnt even have name tags or anything to identify themselves as hotel staff). moreover, there were mosquito repellent wipes in the room.
The following day, i had to request the front desk at 3pm to get my room cleaned because it wasn't cleaned by then.
The front desk staff were friendly but a bit unprofessional, asking personal questions and informing me that they have visited Rwanda before and trying to make small talk about those places etc. oh, and the cleaners kept making noise in the corridors! atleast 3 times in my 4 day stay did i have to ask them to keep it down!
so the hotel is good, but little strange things such as having unidentified staff knocking on my door for no reason were a bit unsettling. there's definitely room for improvement.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the view of the sea if available. a collegue got one by just asking. i had a building infront of me. didnt feel like i was by the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We normally spray the rooms as a matter of precaution from 3.30pm to 8.30pm. The day in question, we had a city-wide water shortage so our housekeeping team were stretched trying to deal with this issue and, as a result, arrived late to the rooms. All staff wear a uniform so they are easily identifiable as belonging to the hotel team. They should however also be wearing name badges and we are awaiting the arrival of badges imminently for new members of staff so this situation does not occur again.

Rooms are not attended to in the morning only if there is a Privacy Please sign on the door or if the housekeeping team has been asked not to clean by the guests. With regards to the noise in the corridor, your feedback has been noted and escalated to the Head of Housekeeping to address with her team and monitor. We apologize for the disturbance.

Finally, our Front Office Team are very friendly and take an interest in getting to know our guests so they can deliver a more personal service. If this came across as unprofessional, it was certainly not their intention. We very much hope you will come back to stay with us again and enjoy the view from one of our ocean-facing rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is good, rooms are really good and modern and clean. Front desk is fine but can be better, takes a long time to do anything. Do not stay in the village, the executive rooms are really great and the view from the room spectacular. I recommed this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best provided you are on the 2 floor and higher
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the Executive Room. All the Executive Rooms have beautiful ocean views and are based on the Executive Floor (third floor). The Village Rooms are located around a courtyard within Sea Cliff Village shopping centre so are set a few minutes away from the main hotel. They do not have a sea view but do have access to all the main hotel's facilities and are at a lower price point to rooms in the main hotel. I've noted your comments on the speed of Front Desk service and will follow this up immediately. We hope you will see a big improvement when you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The staff are incredibly kind and warmly welcome you in Swahili to every meal, opening every door, etc. the breakfast buffet is delicious (fresh juices, fruits, yoghurt, croissants, granola,etc), the outdoor dining by the water is lovely... i agree with all the reviews re. nearby shopping, good places to eat, etc. The business center was also very helpful, although on both occassions they were not open at 7:30 exactly, but it all worked out. I never had to wait to get documents printed or copied. The internet connection was horrible. It worked a few times, but was usually painfully slow.
Indeed, the ocean is right there, but you can't access it from the hotel and I was advised not to swim there anyway due to sewer outflow. Just the same, I really enjoyed watching the fisherman go by each day and relaxing by the pool.
I was there for business, so basically left each morning by 8:30 and returned each evening.
If I really wanted a more authentic taste of Dar, I'd probably stay closer to the city center. But this was a nice respite, safe and fun.
Oh, i couldn't open my windows, and wished I'd had fresh air in my room, but then again, it was incredibly hot and humid outside...
Wake up calls were reliable each morning.

Room Tip: by the water is good, of course, however, i had two twin beds by the water, instead of a queen.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumad33103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for the thoughtful review and for acknowledging our team's hospitality and warm welcome. We're very proud of the breakfast buffet and all our pastries and bread is now baked freshly in house by the Karamebezi Cafe.

I'm sorry you had to wait for the business centre to open, normally they are very prompt so we will check to see what happened. We have just installed boosters for the internet having received feedback from several guests on connectivity. Hopefully you can attest to the improved speed when you come back to stay!

For anyone reading your room tip, we have 8 twin deluxe, 4 single deluxe and 60 deluxe (with a King size bed) so just let us know which you would like upon booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Sea Cliff Hotel is situated on the Msasani Peninsula of Dar es Salaam and is bout an hours drive from the international airport depending on the time and day of the week. It is a comfortable and well appointed hotel in a quiet and safe location. The rooms are well appointed and the staff particularly helpful. There are two restaurants as well as additional eating facilities in the adjacent shopping complex - the Fishmonger even allows you to charge meals to your hotel room!
There are gardens in which to relax and a swimming pool in which to exercise or cool off.
There is a small shopping arcade and Slipway is a short taxi ride away.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: A sea view room is best
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you very much for the informative and positive review of Sea Cliff Hotel. There are lots of shops and eateries next door in Sea Cliff Village shopping centre. Along with the Fishmonger, you can also post meals from Spur to your room as well as health & beauty treatments from the High Care Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

A great place to stay at in Dar es Salaam. The hotel itself is just awesome and cleanliness seems to be one of their priorities - thank you !!! The staff members are all very pleasant, friendly and courteous at all times. I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea-Cliff-Hotel, Director of Sales at Sea Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass the kind words to our housekeeping team in particular. They take great pride in their work and in maintaining the high standards of cleanliness so they will be very happy indeed to see their efforts acknowledged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews