We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Decent Hotel located about 30 minutes from airport. WIFI extremely slow, and the room i stayed in had a huge hole in the door. Decent restaurant which serves good food throughout the day. Overall, for a business trip, quite decent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear GUEST

Good day, thank you for staying with us and posting this candid review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay - minus the internet and door issues. Our service provider faced a major problem for a couple of days which affected the speed, but this has been fixed and I hope to be able to provide faster, reliable internet on your next visit. I apologise regarding the door, this was an oversight from the maintenance/house keeping departments as the room was cleared to be sold before the work was completed. Kindly contact me on your next visit, I will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 a long while a couple of months ago, the overall experience was ok. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly but the food was not really inspiring. The rooms were average but clean. Loved the pool, but the gym needs work, its in a small stuffy room and the air conditioner was not working for a while. All in all it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Tara S

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to review the property. Ever since your last stay we have appointed a new Executive chef and a few other senior chefs. The menu has also been changed and we have introduced weekly menus. Our GUESTS have reviewed that the food quality is exceptional now. I acknowledge your comment about the gym. As you probably know the renovation of rooms are completed now and we have started with the public areas. New gym equipments have been ordered and we are positive to have brand new equipments in place by end of September. The existing gym will be shifted next year to the new block which will be constructed.

We hope that, with these upgrades in place, your next experience with us will change to excellent from a mere OK. Thank you once again for the comments. We look forward to host you again.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived at 5am on Tuesday 2nd July after a long flight from Manchester. The hotel have been recommended to us by Locals as the President of USA was in Town and our Hotel of choice was full.We had two rooms appartment and its was clean. They gave us lots of water when requested and we used the resturant for Lunch which was very good. Breakfast was poor but that was the same in most hotels that we stayed in.
The staff were very good and helpful. Not our choice but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2PFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. I am glad to learn that even though ours was not the hotel of your choice, you found us of good value for money & that you would stay with us again. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the breakfast buffet of good value, I always felt the buffet offers great variety - but in our trade we believe that the GUEST is always right. We learn every day, so please let me know what you think could be added on to the buffet to make it more interesting. I look forward to hear from you.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again. Karibu tena!

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Average place,located near a big church (Sunday can be fairly crowded but not really affecting the hotel residence)
Relatively large rooms but some got a strange humid smell, require serious cleaning project to get it out.
All in all reasonable to stay and having a little more intimate atmosphere...for those who wish to keep low profile

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Shiko_m

Good day, greetings from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thank you for staying us and taking time to review your experience. Extremely sorry to hear that the room had odour, we recently finished refurbishing and a few rooms were reported to be having paint smell. We will check all the the rooms again and do the needful. We look forward to host you again and offer a 100% satisfactory stay.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dsm
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel during a business trip. Stayed in an apartment style room. There were bugs in the room although the cleaning staff sprayed the room. The towels had a damp smell and so did the bed sheets. The food was good and service was very good. There is a pool and gym area although I did not use. The room itself was clean and so was the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Revy8

Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your experience. sorry to hear that the linen was damp, I will definitely look into this and tackle the issue. We replaced all our linen last week and it would be a shame if we cant satisfy GUESTS even after doing so.

Mosquitoes tend to be a nuisance if windows and doors are left open, this happens mostly while the cleaning staff cleans the rooms. But this issue is curtailed by the spraying which is done twice daily. Again, we will brainstorm and see what can be done to ensure this problem is eliminated. The spread out layout, while gives a great sense of space, poses it's own problems too.

Kindly do contact me on your next visit, my TEAM and I will ensure that you leave as a happy CUSTOMER who considers us of great value for money.

Thanks and regards,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Oyster Bay is miles from the airport if you are in a hurry, so just be warned. But the accommodation is great. The apartment style rooms have a self catering section which is great if you have had enough of eating out. The restaurant is small and cosy, with a good menu selection. The service is reasonable and the pricing not too OTT. The pool and gym are easily accessible and it is a short cab ride into either town or the shopping centres.

Air-con in the suites with a separate lounge, Tv with about 20 channels, kitchenette and bathroom with a shower. More expensive than some of the other hotels, but this is worth the peace and quiet, and if like me you are on business, there are no power cuts. The hotel has its own Generator so the AC keeps me cool all night.

Room Tip: The upstair loft rooms are recommended
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilotdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thanks a lot for staying with us and reviewing your experience. I will share the same with our TEAM, we look forward to host you again.

Yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

apartment v clean and comfy. plenty of clean towels. good aircon. food excellent and service good. can change money but only dollars, not sterling. everything quoted in tanz shillings then charged in dollars which was a bit confusing when it came to checking the bill. down side - pool out of action, which was extremely disappointing to me even tho a business not a pleasure trip. it was so hot i had really been looking forward to a swim. and the safe in my room did not work - i mentioned it to reception, was told it had been fixed and it had not. my colleague did nto have a safe at all. very impressed by speedy feedback from the managment to my comments. i would stay again - with a bit of effort this could be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear GUEST

Good day, Jambo from Protea Hotel Oysterbay. Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. Your kind and motivating words are much appreciated. I am extremely sorry abt both the pool and the safe. We had to drain the pool, re-do the entire grouting and refill the pool for it to be usable, which took more time than anticipated. The new safes are expected to be in the rooms by second week of March. We look forward to host you again and offer you a 100% satisfactory stay on your next visit.

yours truly,

Dinish Antony
Group General Manager
Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam
gm@proteadar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#16 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam

Address: Cnr Haile Selassie & Ali Hassan Mwinyi Rd | Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $112 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing