We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath taking escape.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
DFW metroplex, TX
1 review
“A breath taking escape.”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel was fabulous! The new wing was gorgeous with a breath taking view of the Indian Ocean. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help at any moment. The food was great too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_kool34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es Salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us.

Your positive comments regarding, Food and services offered in our Sea Front Restaurant is very much appreciated including positive comments and acknowledgment on the service our staffs provide hear at Coral Beach Hotel which we are proud off.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments which will indeed help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    169
    65
    12
    15
See reviews for
37
74
36
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Our stay was great, we stayed there while attending a conference and it was very nice to be able to come back to such a beautiful hotel every night. The food and the staff was really amazing. A little more pricey than other hotels in Dar, but well worth the money. The drivers from the hotel we had were all very nice, and accommodating, and a lot more reasonable and safer than hiring individual taxis.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent business trip to Dar es Salaam.

The hotel is becoming a great conference destination and such review is important for us which helps other travellers make an informed choice on their conferencing requirements and accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging our product and prime location which indeed offers the most ravishing ocean sunsets which has been received very well with positive comments from our guests.

I will personally pass on your comments on our staff, as it is so much rewarding when staff efforts get acknowledge by our guests.

I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for two nights with family and it was truly exceptional. The staff made us feel incredibly welcome and the rooms were fantastic! I understand we were situated in the new building but my mum was in the old building and both rooms were excellent!
We also ate at the hotel on both evenings and the restaurant is in a lovely location on the sea front! The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and could not do enough for us!
Particular mention to the taxi driver who the hotel provided for us who saw us onto the boat to Zanzibar and made sure we had the correct tickets etc.... those who have experienced Dar Es Salaam ferry port will know how much of a relief this was!!!
Hopefully we will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estrellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms in the new wing were spacious and welcoming. The breakfasts were also fantastic. However, every morning we woke to new bed bug bites!! If this problem can be resolved, Coral Beach will be one of Dar es Salaam's top hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timetraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Feedback such as this is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and procedures and strive to exceed all expectations.

Naturally I was very disappointed to read your comments on bed bugs, the matter was raised with Rentonkil which is a leading provider of pest control and the risk assessment which carried an in-depth survey of our premises and operations reassured us that we do not have any risk or infestation of a bed bugs in our Hotel. In many cases we see our guests who have come back from safaris in the bushes have post allergies effects including those who have enjoyed various offerings of seafood available which are not in there daily dietary .

I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel sometime in the near future.

kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doaui, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

IT IS A VERY NICE HOTEL WITH REALLY NICE ROOMS AND GOOD RESTAURANT.
unfortunalty the bed was full of acarians and we finished our vacations with very bad skin damage untill today.
besides that, the hotel was half empty and our flight was at night, so we asked to stay untill our flight but they asked us to pay 100usd more over the rate. after long discution we only paid 50usd more.
the hotel is to far from everything and there is no buses or taxis to go around. It is in the middle of a very nice area but nothing around. We could only hire taxi from hotel.
The top is we went there thinking to get a last beach day vacation but there is no beach at all and the watter is really dirty as i never saw before.
swimming pool is quiet and nice but no way to lay down close to it and no showers at all either.... ummmm finally it was nightmare to spend a full day there. we felt as in a prisson.
REALLY TOO FAR FROM DAR ES S. ... AND NO WAY TO GET ANY TAXI OR BUS FROM THERE EXCEPT THE ONES FROM THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel and acknowledging our product and services we offer including our restaurant which has indeed received great reviews.

I was very disappointed to read your comments of possible ‘acarians´ in our beds, after investigation we have realized that you have taken a safari in the bushes and we therefore assume you might be having post allergies effects. Please note that our recent risk assessment which carried an in-depth survey of our premises and operations reassured us that we do not have any risk or infestation.

Our checkout time at the Hotel is at 11:00hrs, I understand that you wanted to keep your room for additional 10 hours to catch your late evening (23:20hrs) flight hence you were asked to pay additional $100.00 for day late, but I am glad to see our front desk staff offered you a discounted rate of $50.00, I would however like to confirm that this service is chargeable.

Coral Beach Hotel is located in the ‘exclusive’ Msasani Peninsula area just 7km away from the city centre with over 90% occupancy. As a business hotel, naturally our guests are not in the hotel during office hours. Our prime location with the most ravishing sunsets offers beautifully manicured gardens, outdoor swimming pool and sun deck, Seafront & Private Dining, Makuti roofed Sun Set Bar and 4 conference rooms which has received great reviews from both business and leisure travelers.

On the outset, I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I just came back from a business trip to Tanzania and stayed at the Coral Beach Hotel - it was a bit pricy but worth it. The staff were all really very nice and supportive. The view was beautiful and you could fall asleep to lapping waves a stones throw away. The view from the dining area was a series of sailing boats, palm trees, open vista - perfect to reflect. The rooms were very big for a single and the bed massive, with large desk, wireless. Good room service. Overall a really great place to relax and really good bar too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldacorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your acknowledgment on our product, service and location. I will indeed personally share your comments with my colleagues at our next staff forum as we take guest feedback very seriously to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Our room was very comfortable, light and spacious.

We much enjoyed eating in the resaurant by the Indian Ocean.We had a wonderful evening (very romantic!). The food was excellent and the service could not have been more attentive. Even breakfast did begin at 6am as advertised -- quite unusual in Africa!

Some aspects of the service at reception left a little to be desired, but the hotel was obviously anxious to satisfy customers and to learn from any mistakes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolunteerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the food in our sea front restaurant and the services we provide. It is indeed very easy to forget about the hussle and bussle outside once emersered at our sea front which offers ravishing views of the Indian Ocean and one of the best sunsets in Dar es Salaam – I so glad you enjoyed it!

I was also glad to read your acknowledgment that we do indeed take guest feedback as essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N, Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
473 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Address: Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing