We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An awesome experience!”
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Me, my wife and our teenage daughter stayed at this hotel on the nights of July 6 and July 8, 2009. I have to say that every aspect of our stay was perfect. The staff was excellent, the rooms were excellent and the attention to our needs was supurb! The rate was very fair for what they offer and the sunsets were spectacular! We sat out on the grassy area and had beverages and watched as the sun set. We also ate out there and the food was great. While we were at Mikumi Game Preserve on July 7, they even stored our luggage for no charge. We met Marcel and she was particularly helpful during our visit. We also met Arthur who was very attentive to our needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a nice (beautiful) place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying at Coral Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Dar es salaam and for taking the time to share your review with us.

Your positive comments regarding our staff here at the hotel is very much appreciated and having their efforts recognised is indeed very rewarding.

I was also glad to read your acknowledgment on our product, service and location which will help other travellers to make an informed choice on their accommodation when in Dar es Salaam.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Coral Beach Hotel in the not too distance future.

Kind Regards,
Hasnain N. Alloo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    168
    65
    12
    15
See reviews for
37
74
36
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

A gem. Lovely grounds, small hotel, good breakfasts.
Had a pleasant stay with only a few annoyances. Female front front desk staff surly. Guests cannot make outside phone calls from room phone. Three phones in room and only one worked!
Bath tub stopper not fixed despite many calls to maintenance to repair/replace.
Made hotel manager aware of issues so that other guests would not be inconvenienced.
Manager apologetic but one wonders of these repairs will take place?
Overall, a decent, laid back hotel with a nice Tanzanian feel to the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasnainAlloo, Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Thank you for the feedback as this gives us an opportunity to review the levels of service we offer hear at Coral Beach Hotel. Our records show that the product issues highlighted have been resolved and our Front Desk Staff retrained.

We would like to also thank you for the positive comments highlighted following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Hasnain Alloo
Coral Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Third time at this hotel so it must be good! Excellent location, spacious rooms and what a transformation they have done in the new wing. Staff are friendly and helpful, concerns of any kind are dealt with very efficiently and effectively; definitely in mind for my next trip to Dar es salaam. Superb food in the sea front rest, concierge engaging! Well done, Coral Beach.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2009
We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback, especially from a regular guest and thank you for your comments on the New Wing which was Launched in January 2009 and indeed has been received very well.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The hotel is very nice and the staff are excellent. They were always very attentive to my needs and treated me very professionally. You can't beat the location, the views were remarkable, The bar/restaurants on site are also great. I stayed in a Deluxe King, and it was simple and elegant and was more than adequate for my needs. The rooms were huge. All this and free wifi included gives this Hotel a thumbs up by me!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohdDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2009
We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback on our staff and thank you for your comments on the New Wing.

Thank you for acknowledging our prime location which indeed offers the most ravishing ocean sunsets.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

I booked this Hotel through hotel website for our 1 week business trip in Dar es Salaam. We wanted a nice hotel with a great location and view; the staff could not do enough for me, excellent service!

The hotel itself was immaculate, airport transfers were arranged via the hotels website, and the room was ready on our arrival. They let us leave our luggage their too when we went to Zanzibar for the weekend.

The room was clean and well maintained, I couldn't fault the finish. I meet a gentleman from the sales team over breakfast, who showed me the New wing which will be opening in November which had great views of the near by yatch club.

Excellent work and I look forward to my next trip

  • Liked — Location, service, staff and views
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WARRENmandelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2009
We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crichard99
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I was part of conference delegation. I found this hotel to be of an excellent standard, the room was very clean and comfortable, the staffs were very friendly and welcoming, the conference setup was great. The food during the conference and at the main restaurant was very nice indeed as was the buffet breakfast in the mornings. The hotel is located just 7km from the city centre in an area called Masaki, with great sea views and sunsets. The hotel offers wirelesses internet connection with good speed which was complimentary!!This is an excellent hotel and I would defiantly recommend.

  • Liked — Location, views and service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Crichard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2009
We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Stayed at Coral Beach Hotel, Dar es Salaam during November and December 2007 whilst traveling Tanzania and South Africa. The hotel is set amongst very well maintained gardens with beautiful Palm Trees and great view of the India Ocean, The Hotel has a very nice clean pool area and 2 restaurants including a sea view bar. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. Guests can also make use of the gym which is small but adequate and well maintained. Rooms at the hotel were well serviced, secure and comfortable.

Staffs were helpful. Business centre and internet was very good the hotel offers free wifi which is a plus for a business traveler.
We really enjoyed our stay at Coral Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Location, location, Location!!, Specious room size, great seaviews and sun downers
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SavannahTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2009
We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
470 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Address: Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing