We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful and friendly staff and the food at the sea front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Third time at this hotel so it must be good! Excellent location, spacious rooms and what a transformation they have done in the new wing. Staff are friendly and helpful, concerns of any kind are dealt with very efficiently and effectively; definitely in mind for my next trip to Dar es salaam. Superb food in the sea front rest, concierge engaging! Well done, Coral Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2009

We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback, especially from a regular guest and thank you for your comments on the New Wing which was Launched in January 2009 and indeed has been received very well.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2009

The hotel is very nice and the staff are excellent. They were always very attentive to my needs and treated me very professionally. You can't beat the location, the views were remarkable, The bar/restaurants on site are also great. I stayed in a Deluxe King, and it was simple and elegant and was more than adequate for my needs. The rooms were huge. All this and free wifi included gives this Hotel a thumbs up by me!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohdDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2009

We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback on our staff and thank you for your comments on the New Wing.

Thank you for acknowledging our prime location which indeed offers the most ravishing ocean sunsets.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coral Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

I booked this Hotel through hotel website for our 1 week business trip in Dar es Salaam. We wanted a nice hotel with a great location and view; the staff could not do enough for me, excellent service!

The hotel itself was immaculate, airport transfers were arranged via the hotels website, and the room was ready on our arrival. They let us leave our luggage their too when we went to Zanzibar for the weekend.

The room was clean and well maintained, I couldn't fault the finish. I meet a gentleman from the sales team over breakfast, who showed me the New wing which will be opening in November which had great views of the near by yatch club.

Excellent work and I look forward to my next trip

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WARRENmandelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I was part of conference delegation. I found this hotel to be of an excellent standard, the room was very clean and comfortable, the staffs were very friendly and welcoming, the conference setup was great. The food during the conference and at the main restaurant was very nice indeed as was the buffet breakfast in the mornings. The hotel is located just 7km from the city centre in an area called Masaki, with great sea views and sunsets. The hotel offers wirelesses internet connection with good speed which was complimentary!!This is an excellent hotel and I would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Crichard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Stayed at Coral Beach Hotel, Dar es Salaam during November and December 2007 whilst traveling Tanzania and South Africa. The hotel is set amongst very well maintained gardens with beautiful Palm Trees and great view of the India Ocean, The Hotel has a very nice clean pool area and 2 restaurants including a sea view bar. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. Guests can also make use of the gym which is small but adequate and well maintained. Rooms at the hotel were well serviced, secure and comfortable.

Staffs were helpful. Business centre and internet was very good the hotel offers free wifi which is a plus for a business traveler.
We really enjoyed our stay at Coral Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SavannahTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed at Coral Beach Hotel 02nd – 7th October. The booking was done via late rooms, my husband was on business and myself and kids were accompanying him. We had requested for a sea view family room (four of us were in a room) 302 was allocated I believe, just on the reception level. The hotel is located near the bay/sea. The staffs were very helpful and accommodated all our request. Our room had 2 King size bed in our room – which were true King beds, not two twins pushed together. The bathroom was not huge, but bigger than most in Europe. The hotels offers free internet and has 24hrs business centre. The sundowners at the hotel were amazingly beautiful. We enjoyed having dinner at the hotel’s seafront restaurant, the food and service was great. The staff overall could not have been more accommodating. The girl on Front Desk (Juliet) I believe arranged our 1 night trip to Zanzibar and helped us reserving a room.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank martinawagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

We would like to thank you for such positive comments following your stay at Coral Beach Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Although our car did not pick us up from the airport we ventured to the hotel, where we were meet by the receptionist who had no idea of customer service. We went to our room which had nice views of the bay but that is where the comfort stopped. The door to the balcony could only be only if you had brute strength, the bar fridge did not work, the towels were dirty, the water in the bath did not drain away and the pool was dirty. If you had wanted to lie by the pool there were only four day beds. Breakfast was dismal with the staff having no idea of how to cook eggs. I must admit the food at dinner was nice and Doreen our waitress was very nice. This hotel is going to updated when the new one next door is finished but this place really needs to be closed down until then as it is no way a hotel of any repute. To top things off you cannot swim in the ocean as there is sharp coral. Bearing this in mind what good is the Coral Beach Hotel, personally I would not go back to this place until the new one is built and only then when it becomes the boutique hotel is pretends to be.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank StephenQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralBeachHotel, Sales manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

Thank you for the feedback as this gives us an opportunity to review the levels of service we offer hear at Coral Beach Hotel. There were indeed a number of incidents highlighted which should not have occurred, having looked at our records your concerns were discussed at length with the management team to ensure such shortcomings in our services do not occur in future.

I am delighted to advise you of our newly launched wing with breath taking sea views, consisting of Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Suites which has been received very well by our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future, in the mean time if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly via our website

Sincerely, Coral Beach Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
6.5 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#15 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $103 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing