We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to see such a beautiful hotel under the Best Western chain. Unfortunately, I didn't get to do much more than sleep, as I needed to go through the Dar Es Salaam airport at the beginning and end of my trip, so it was only a place to sleep for me. However, I did get there early enough to walk around a little bit and saw that it was a beautiful hotel, with wonderful views of the bay. I also had time to eat breakfast at the buffet and it was wonderful. The rooms were very spacious and the beds comfortable. I almost wished that I would have built more time into my trip just to rest up and relax at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure having guest who travel regularly enjoying our Hotel. We are a proud member of the BEST WESTERN Hotel Family.

Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was my first time staying at Coral Beach and I was pleasantly surprised. It is a nice quiet hotel and the rooms are big, spacious, clean and comfortable.

Sea is very calm and quiet as you are in the bay and it is also not nearly as windy as what it is on the open sea side.

One of the dinner restaurants is almost in the water you are so close to the sea and the bar area is perfectly positioned under Palm trees.

Only recommendation I'd make is for the hotel to look at improving their breakfast area - you are in such a wonderful location, its no point being in a stuffy small room that has no view - as well as the breakfast menu / food itself. Its such a great meal of the day and I felt a little disappointed that it wasn't quite living up to what I'd want and get elsewhere.

Room Tip: I was luckily upgraded so experienced a bigger room which was wonderful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your feedback.,
We enclosed our Palm Garden Cafe Restaurant in order to provide guest a choice between a Air-conditioned Breakfast area overlooking the garden, pool and sea and and a small outside seating - this is primarily because at times it is very hot and at Breakfast we would otherwise experience a onslaught of flying insects at the Breakfast Buffet if it would be displayed not in an enclosed area. This is especially also for food safety.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We bring a group to Tanzania every year or so and always end our tour with a stay at Coral Beach. It's lovely - the staff are efficient, helpful and very professional, the rooms clean and spacious with aircon and fab wet-room style bathroom and the breakfast really good. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view . . . . seeing the African sun go down over the sea is amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
as one of our regular Guest we appreciate your feedback. It is always a pleasure having you and your group stay with us.
Looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have just stayed five nights at the hotel on business.

The hotel has an excellent location along the sea. It is a good place if you do not need to go to the city center and get stuck in traffic. I had dinner most nights at the outdoor restaurant. Staff was good. Food was ok - the grilled prawns were more than ok. Acceptable price level.

Breakfast buffet had a good selection of fruit.

My room was quite large, but no views. The air condition system can be noisy and I turned if off during nights to get enough sleep.

Cleaning of the room was good with new towels provided daily.

Pleasantly surprised with an excellent wifi connection in the room - and in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

it was a pleasure having you as our Guest at the Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our service and food.
We look forward welcoming you back at your next trip to Tanzania.
Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We only stayed for two nightsbut it was a wonderfull place to relax after a busy, working holiday. The hotel was very clean and spacious, our room was huge with king size bed and sofa. when I said that my grandaughter did not really want to share my bed, they arrived with another king size that still fitted perfectly. We had a varanda with cumfy chairs and a lovely veiw. Our en-suite shower/ wash area was truely amazing, double shower/ double sink and a luxury bath in the corner. All very modern and efficient. Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All members of staff were friendly and helpfull. Even the manager made a point of asking if we were comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the evening meal in the resturant overlooking the Indian Ocean. However as all the bars overlook the bay, other travellers might suggest that watching the sunset from the seahorse bar was the best experience, or just enjoying the sunshine throughout the day, sat under the palm trees. I would certainly go there again when I return to Tanzania

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Mam,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am so pleased that you and your Granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back for another sunset for you to enjoy.

Best personal regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in the Coral Beach and had a wonderful time! The room was large, clean, well laid out and had a lovely view. The air con worked extremely well and the wifi connection was instant. The bed was large and comfy and the hotel went to the extra trouble of putting up a mosquito net up for us. The shower was great- wet room style with plenty of hot water. The usual toiletries were available and there were plenty of towels The only thing that we suggest needs improving is the lighting in the bathroom, which was very dim.

The staff are one of the hotels best assets - friendly, attentive, professional in all aspects. They were great to chat to, giving us tips to improve our Swahili.

The little beach area was very nice however there were no sun beds on there. We did requested to have 2 sun beds moved to the beach but the request never happened as there was some confusion as to whose permission was required. Perhaps having 2/ 4 sun beds permanently on the beach area would improve this situation.

We enjoyed ALL the food that we ate there however we do agree with the previous reviewer that menu is not very extensive. With some creativity the menu could be extended - perhaps the staff could be consulted about this and they could come up with some new dishes of their own.

In summary we had a really comfortable, pleasant stay in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay when visiting Dar Es Salaam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - better views and layout
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,

it was our pleasure in assisting you in putting up a special Mosquito net.

as far as the Sun Loungers are concerned, they are in fact already ordered and will hopefully arrive soon.

Our new Executive Chef will review our Menu and we will introduce a more comprehensive Dinner Menu soon.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My first business visit to Tanzania and I stayed at the Hotel for two nights only. When judging the Hotel we need to remember that it is in Africa and not in a first world country, and by these standards they are GOOD, very GOOD. It is a bit expensive, and yes I paid less per night in Europe, but I was very satisfied with the service, location, room and bathroom.
The room was adequate, I even had a fully stocked mini bar. Air conditioner worked perfect - you need that!
Staf was very friendly and helpful. They were always at the background and reacted when ever called and did what you required quite quickly.
One area that they can maybe look at is their menu. It is not a very big selection and I found the choices limiting.
For tourists and business, if you do not have the funds to stay in the big name Hotels, this will be a good alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanK449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

thank you for your valuable feedback. We are always working hard to ensure that our Guest are satisfied.
Our prices are very reasonable in comparison to other hotels in the City of equal standing and location.
We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#16 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing