We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

When we entered the room, our first reaction was "waow !"
Nicely furnished with a beautiful wooden floor, our room was great and the large terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean is fantastic. It was indeed very confortable however, when you enter the bathroom, the feeling of contentment stops right there ! It's small, looks old and needs to be redone ASAP.
The restaurant was good and the staff very nice. The tables and seats are not appropriate to the standard of the place while the bar's got beautiful wooden ones.
There is a slight lack of professionnalism upon check-in. When we reserved, we enquired about a possible pick-up at the boat arrival from Zanzibar and never got any answer, not even to say "we don't do it but here is our advice..."
Also, we were assigned room 5109 which is not signalized. It's part of the 2 bedrooms suite #5105 but there is no way of finding it by yourself without the proper indication. How come they can send guests alone to find a "non existing" room number is beyond our imagination !
Anyway, it was a nice stay in a nice place and the slights "gaps" are totaly fixable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.
Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality service.
The Bathroom of room 5109 is indeed smallish - this is due to building constraints. The beauty of this room is however that the actual room with its amazing Balcony makes more than up for this.
As far as our restaurant is concerned, we are in the process of upgrading our restaurant and new tables and chairs have already been ordered.
As far as the rooming to your room, I am extremely sorry for this incident. As the General Manager I am surprised to see such kind of feedback about our receptionist. Be assured that management is very series in addressing this shortcoming on our part.
I am however pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    151
    64
    12
    15
See reviews for
36
72
32
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berg en Terblijt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in Coral Beach Hotel from 30 May to 11 June with a short break to visit Mikumi and Chalinze Mzee.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Although we had a standard room for the first night, this mistake was corrected the day after and we moved to the booked room with sea view. The room was excellent and was kept very clean. The housekeeping was very attentive.

The hotel has a great location, beautiful gardens, friendly and attentive staff, and an excellent and service-minded management.
The restaurant has good food in a fantastic beachside setting.

Coral Beach has a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. You can just enjoy Dar es Salaam without feeling like you are in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPersoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family and we look forward welcoming you back as in future as we have now almost completed our new look at our Palm Garden Cafe - I am sure you would enjoy it.
Best personal regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I organised a dinner party at Coral Beach Hotel for 30 people and I must admit the Food and Beverages Manager I worked with was simply great. He was so professional, patient and kind. He managed the dinner set up, location, food, drinks and waiting staff and every other detail very well. Thanks to him, our dinner party was a big success and all the guests had a fantastic time!

My husband and I also spent the night at the hotel and again, management made sure we were well taken care of - so following our dinner we had a good night sleep in our beautiful suite overlooking the Indian Ocean.

Asante sana Sandeep

Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnamfua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you very much for your valued feedback. We always strive to give excellent customer service and I personally appreciate that you mentioned Sandeep in your review as he indeed is one of our shining stars.
We look forward welcoming you back for another dinner party.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here recently for a couple of days before taking a long-haul flight back to Europe. The location cannot be faulted - it's spacious and airy, right on the beach a few hundred metres north of the Yacht Club. Service was fine, though our room was perhaps not as clean as it could have been, and there were a few glitches (with ac and with door locks). It's not particularly cheap, but they do some discount on early bookings, which is worth having.
I would have no problem staying here again. I've given it 3 out of 5, but it's probably closer to 3.5!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
we apologize again for the inconvenience caused with the Air condition and the Door Lock - "Murphy" was at work; I appreciate your honest feedback. We checked the room regarding the cleanliness as you state and actually could not find anything wrong as unfortunately you did not provide us any information whilst staying with us as we would immediately act on any remark we receive. As we gladly offered to shift you to a different room I am sure that you will visit us again soon. Again, thank you very much fro your feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've been in Dar several times and this is the first time i actually enjoyed a good hotel. The rooms were comfortable, had a nice ocean view and i especially enjoyed the dinners at the restaurant with a tasty food, excellent service and a setting where i was watching the sunset.
The bar outside was always there to have a nice cocktail and 3 huge screens for a good coverage of sports. The pool is nice and the hotel is very close to few more nice resorts where you can also have fun and good food. When in Dar, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalibor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much fro your review. We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward welcoming you back at your next trip to Dar es Salaam so we again can spoil you with very good food and with the best location to enjoy a spectacular sunset in Dar es Salaam.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel - the rooms were very comfortable, the view of the ocean was amazing, there were hot showers with good water pressure, clean water was always provided for us. The restaurant has delicious food in a fantastic beachside setting and breakfast provided many options and a great view. The staff were very nice and the location was good if you don't need to go into town. It's pretty far from the airport though.

The biggest downside is that at the Coral BEACH Hotel, they have no access to an actual beach. That was pretty disappointing. And the pool was under construction and so swimming was pretty much out of the question in hot Dar. Also, there are no mosquito nets in the rooms. We didn't get bit, but it was a little odd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisDorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
thank you very much fro your feedback. Our Beach area is open for use and so is our Tidal pool. We are the only Hotel in Dar es Salaam providing such a Ocean water Tidal Pool for our Guest. The Water in the pool comes and goes with the Tide, so it is not always filled with water nd the wall is build out of porous Coral Stones allowing the Ocean Water to come and go in order to keep it as natural as possible. We were indeed working on the upgrade on our Restaurant (which is now completed) which is adjacent to our pool and hence a small part of the pool was cordoned off for safety reason but again the remainder of the pool was open.
We care for our grounds in such a way that we ensure that hardly any Mosquitos are around hence no Mosquito nets are needed - besides that all windows and balcony doors have Mosquito nets in order for you to have had a safe and comfortable sleep - as you pointed out, you did not have any Mosquito bite Our Ngalawa Seafront Restaurant has the best location in Dar es Salaam with a very high standard of service and food. We look forward welcoming you back on your next journey to Dar es Salaam.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Coral Beach and enjoyed our 5 day stay there.though on the first day they gave us a room which was terrible....which we thought was the general ambience of the hotel.on the next morning, after making inquiries, Arthur of front office was able to get us a beautiful room which we actually liked so much.
The food was excellent, with the chef outdoing himself (or herself) every single day! The staff were very unobtrusive and very friendly.

We loved it. Only issue we had was that some of the the front office staff tried to rip us off when we were checking out, inflating the dollar rate by almost half the amount. Fortunately, we still had some Tanzania currency, which we used to pay for the balance invoice.

Apart from that, I would love staying at Best Western Coral Beach again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, with an excellent view, and with less A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I like to take this opportunity to clarify that all Accommodation charges are levied and payable in USD. It is common practice around the world that if a hotel exchanges or accepts currency other than the official accommodation currency that not the same exchange rate applies as if you would go to a Exchange Bureau or Bank. Our official exchange rate is displayed at Reception for your convenience. We also gladly accept Credit Cards for accommodation payment which would possible have given you the best exchange rate against your home currency.
Again, thank you very much for your feedback.
We are looking forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
4.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#11 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Address: Coral Lane - Masaki | Msasani Peninsula - P.O.Box 2585, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travellers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guest rooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savour fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2016), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing