We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 days stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I ve been there 14 days, we got bored, lack offers entertainment, water sport, music and dance. Nerby is a casino and a marina with schoping Moll, one can easily visit one island, near worth seeing. Recommended for families looking for a quiet place to rest and love seafood.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new wing upper floors
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscamalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for staying with us for 14 days. We appreciate your feedback and are infact looking into what we can offer to allow a certain entertainemnt for long staying guest such as yourself. Your comment only encourages me to proceed with such idea.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 485 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I spent our xmas holiday at the Coral beach Hotel in Dar.
We had a wonderful time at the hotel, the staff were very friendly and considerate of my 5 year old son who meet new friends and finally took his arm bands off and swam for the first time.
The family room in the heritage wing was well furnished and clean with a view of the pool and bay.
The food was of a very high standard, the new executive chef has been hard at work.
Our experience was enhanced by a fantastic buffet on NYE. The entertainment was first class and of a very african flavour. which had us all facinated and clapping.
Unfortunately the beach was being renovated during our stay but this did not deter, the pool area was sufficient well kept and comfy. fresh fluffy towels on the sun beds.
Overall we could not fault the staff or the hotel and found it good value considering the prices in Dar. Thank you all at the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms in the new wing have a smart office desk and chair
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Martin and Family,
it was a pleasure having you here at the Hotel and we look forward seeing you back soon - for more entertainment and another great buffet.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was fine. Friendly and helpful staff check-in and restaurant, the one dinner I had in the restaurant was tasty, and the room was quite large with fully functional air conditioning (thank god!). The room had small dings--the foyer area light didn't work so when coming home after dark one had to wander well into the large room before one found a light switch, and the hair dryer didn't work. But, on day two when my computer suddenly won't connect to the wifi any longer an extremely helpful and fun IT staff member come up within minutes of my call to the front desk and he sorted me right out (and even took the time to teach me how to adjust the settings in case my firewall got over-protective again).

Overall I found the place rather expensive, but my stay there was comfortable.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank lak157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Regarding the light switch - which is linked to the entry door card to the room - , we make use of an energy saving system so that the rooms - during the time when nobody is in the room - are not consuming electricity for lights and Aircondition hence one has to firstly insert the card and than switch on the light. Unfortunately not all those switches could be installed directly next to the entry door but are very close. We are sorry if this caused a discomfort for you but we are pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Coral beach hotel over new year, and it was just spectacular! The reception was wonderful, we felt right at home! All the staff really are amazing and we think they have a wonderful crew on board!! Our room had a wonderful sea view, airconditioner worked, WIFI worked, clean, neat and comfortable. We handed in some laundry and received it the same day back! Food was just amazing, and changing something on the menu to suit our tastebuds, was never a problem! After staying in 3 other hotels in Dar, we will always go back to the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel!!

On a previous occasion we stayed at Sea Cliff Hotel, and although no complaints, we prefer The Best Western Coral Beach Hotel by far!. During our recent trip we also stayed at Protea Hotel Oyster Bay and Golden Tulip and can honestly say, even if they pay for our flights and give us free accommodation, will they not see us again, dumps! We can handle dumps but our reception on arrival was terrible, service was terrible, staff unfriendly and not helpful! Airconditioner at the Golden Tulip stopped working every day between 11:00 and 14:00, the hottest part of the day. Just so many complaints! YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THE BEST WESTERN CORAL BEACH HOTEL!! BEST PLACE TO BE!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannelieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your most valuable feedback. We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and both of us agree that it is a very good hotel with great Sea views and located in a very quiet and safe area. The rooms are spacious, clean and air conditioned. There is free WIFI and laptops to use for free in the business centre. The surroundings are brilliant and give an impression of an exotic island. Breakfast was very good and after it you would not need lunch. Staff is friendly and welcoming and make your stay pleasant. If you like a pint or two, the bar is in a cool place by the beach and you have a choice of a warm or ice-cold beer or soda. The airport transfer was prompt and at $30 per trip it was reasonable. Overall, it was value for money and we could stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dera Sir.
thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you valued comment and our Breakfast will even be better next time should you hopefully come back soon. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here after a long trip on a safari and to Zanzibar. It was nice to come to a place with Hot water, good food, smiling helpful faces, and internet. The food here was good compared to the Safari and Zanzibar's resort where we stayed. People were really looking to help out with whatever you needed. Had a great sea view room (5104). I would stay here again if ever back. Not much around although didnt leave the resort for the 3 days that were there. Just wanted to relax and not have to spend any more money.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor looking out into the ocean. Nice big window mad ea great view with a nice br...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Sir,
we appreciate your feedback and are looking forward welcoming you back - as you said, you would stay with us again and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel on the Christmas day for a lunch December 2012. The food was perfect and importantly the stuff. I was with two people who have never been there and they liked it much. The management and the whole staff members are doing a great job

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank avetravelandtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCoralBeach-Dar, General Manager at Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Sir,
thank you for your superb feedback on our event and Hotel at large. We appreciate your comment - especially because you are in the Toursim Industry and hence are very familiar with the service to be offered. We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Coral Beach Hotel

Address: Plot 956/1412 Coral Lane, Dar es Salaam 2585, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Urban Seafront Boutique. Experience the Best Western Coral Beach Hotel, where you can enjoy breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean in a tranquil setting. Situated on the Msasani Peninsula, minutes away from City Center, our seafront boutique Hotel is a peaceful retreat where business and vacation travelers feel at home. In fact, our Heritage building was originally designed as a personal residence – a retreat from the hustle of the city.Today you can choose to relax in one of the 62 guestrooms including suites, with Swahili-infused tropical decor, luxurious beds, and large balconies with ocean views. Lounge on our pristine private beach overlooking the Dar Es Salaam Yacht Club, take a swim in our Seafront swimming pool, read a book in our Heritage wing library, or schedule an energetic work out with our gym instructor in our Fitness Center.Savor fresh local seafood and global cuisine at our Seafront Restaurant and enjoy a cool drink at our trendy Seahorse Bar and Lounge, with captivating sunsets over the Indian Ocean. Host your Conferences, Business, and Social Events, in our flexible Outdoor Event Space, Meeting Rooms, and large seafront Marquee Conference facilities with full catering, audio-visual support, and creative event coordinator. Stay connected with complimentary HI-Speed Internet. Have some more time? Explore local shops, or take a short boat ride from the nearby Slipway to the beautiful Bongoyo Island for a day of swimming, snorkeling, or island hiking. Awarded a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence (2017), our team is dedicated to ensuring you have a memorable stay in Dar es Salaam. It's all waiting for you at the Best Western Coral Beach, your urban seafront retreat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing