We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but completely lacking in character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good hotel but completely lacking in character”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The service and breakfast were very good at the Southern Sun. The location was also excellent. The rooms and everything else in the Hotel were spotlessly clean.But I wish it had a pool where one could do some serious swimming.My other complaint is that it is totally lacking in character it seems just like any other hotel which is part of a major chain.The internet service is also expensive.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    331
    67
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
113
41
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

After several weeks "in Africa" this is simply an oasis, YES IT IS COSTLY but it is immaculate, safe, clean, organised and has excellent food readily available.

Business of transit this is just perfect, well organised and reliable airport transfers using modern vehicles and a PROPER full choice breakfast that starts at 4:30 am !

Can not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAL:London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Warm welcome on arrival, room ready for us at 7am. Rooms relatively small, but very clean and well furnished. Beautiful bed linen and great pillows. Busy atmospheric bar and restaurant, drinks very reasonable and food was excellent. Great location next to Botanic Gardens, very central and only 5-10 minutes walk from seafront and fish market. Roughly 30 minutes from airport, but traffic was very light, could be much worse. Stayed for 2 nights on different weeks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I'm not one to write reviews but having gotten so little decent service and value for my money in my 4 months of africa travel so far, that i felt I needed to say that there really are good deals out there! I hadnt heard anythign about the SS in Dar but I am familiar with the name so booked it when i needed something before getting morning flight to Zanzibar. The service was really excellent, I was feeling pretty rotten and tired when i arrived but the staff were great and i felt really refreshed wen i left- beds are SUPER comfy, the front desk staff were really hospitable like you'd get in a B&B and I would have payed the room price for the breakfast alone as it is by FAR the best brekkie I've ever had!! The gen manager seemed to be around a lot which always makes u feel like things are getting done and staff arn't slacking off with any queries u have (like a lot of other places in africa)!And he also let me use his phone to get hold of my friend who was lost! so if u can afford it, go for it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

This is the first time I stay in Southern Sun. This is the best so far after staying at other 3 hotels for the previous 3 trips. Food, room, front desk, house keeping, all fine. Only thing is that on one of the night during the stay, both elevators are not working, so we ended up walking up 5 storey after a tiring day at work.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsherAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

My colleague and I have recently spent a few days at the Southern Sun in Dar. Whilst this was our first time at this particular hotel, it was our 4th time in Dar. Normally we book our hotels on the basis of their location and star rating. I have no problem paying for 5 star accommodation, but when doing so I expect 5 star service. So, having previously paid for the only (so called) 5 star accommodation on offer in the area, and having left that accommodation somewhat disappointed, we decided to book into the Southern Sun (our choice being based on the location of the hotel).

You need helpful people when you're abroad. Rarely do you meet them. We were made to forget this fact during our stay at the Southern Sun. From the porters to the general manager we were met only with a genuine friendliness and willingness, not only to accommodate us in the hotel, but ensure that our stay in Dar was the best it possibly could be!

The Southern Sun is, now, definitely our home from home in Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Arrived on a late flight from Europe and was booked into the Southern Sun by a travel agent specialising in trips to and around Eastern Africa. Very happy with their choice, the hotel is just comfortable enough and the staff in the restaurant are very friendly, so that we felt immediately welcome to this part of the world (karibu!). It's possible to change money at reception, and the rates weren't bad either. Only hitches were that the hotel were supposed to arrange a pick-up from the airport which did not happen, no did we receive an explanation, let alone apology. (We took a taxi for which the hotel agreed to pay.) And there was some confusion on the point whether our room had been paid for by the travel agent or not...
But overall it good place to spend the night when in transit through Dar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HRS, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing