We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So far the best in Dar Es Salaam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“So far the best in Dar Es Salaam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

This is the first time I stay in Southern Sun. This is the best so far after staying at other 3 hotels for the previous 3 trips. Food, room, front desk, house keeping, all fine. Only thing is that on one of the night during the stay, both elevators are not working, so we ended up walking up 5 storey after a tiring day at work.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsherAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    321
    65
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
111
41
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

My colleague and I have recently spent a few days at the Southern Sun in Dar. Whilst this was our first time at this particular hotel, it was our 4th time in Dar. Normally we book our hotels on the basis of their location and star rating. I have no problem paying for 5 star accommodation, but when doing so I expect 5 star service. So, having previously paid for the only (so called) 5 star accommodation on offer in the area, and having left that accommodation somewhat disappointed, we decided to book into the Southern Sun (our choice being based on the location of the hotel).

You need helpful people when you're abroad. Rarely do you meet them. We were made to forget this fact during our stay at the Southern Sun. From the porters to the general manager we were met only with a genuine friendliness and willingness, not only to accommodate us in the hotel, but ensure that our stay in Dar was the best it possibly could be!

The Southern Sun is, now, definitely our home from home in Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Arrived on a late flight from Europe and was booked into the Southern Sun by a travel agent specialising in trips to and around Eastern Africa. Very happy with their choice, the hotel is just comfortable enough and the staff in the restaurant are very friendly, so that we felt immediately welcome to this part of the world (karibu!). It's possible to change money at reception, and the rates weren't bad either. Only hitches were that the hotel were supposed to arrange a pick-up from the airport which did not happen, no did we receive an explanation, let alone apology. (We took a taxi for which the hotel agreed to pay.) And there was some confusion on the point whether our room had been paid for by the travel agent or not...
But overall it good place to spend the night when in transit through Dar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights before and after a long safari.
The food was OK, the beer was cold and the staff friendly.
The rooms were clean and big enough - not outstanding by US or European standards but for Africa pretty good.

The business centre was good - expensive internet access but compared with the rest of Tanzania it was at least reliable (but not fast).

  • Liked — Air conditioning, cold beer, comfy bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SkaraBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had a night here at the end of our trip before flying back to the UK. We were very pleased that our travel agent had booked us here - the room was a good size (not big but room to move), with a comfortable bed with great pillows (and a pillow menu) and crisp white sheets. Bathroom had a bath (a bit short) and separate shower (large) with good toiletries.

The hotel has a nice small pool area and is in a safe and quiet part of town. We ate at the hotel restaurant as we could not be bothered to go out - we were very pleased - nice wine list at reasonable price. If you like curry we had one of the best potato/lentil/coconut curries we have ever had (and we eat curry a lot).

Staff and porters were very helpful.

All in all a comfortable stay and much better than just a transit hotel - we enjoyed our stay and left refreshed.

  • Liked — Great food and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast didnt open till 7am so we had to have room service which was OK
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

No problems at all with this hotel. We arrived late but managed to get some dinner and cold beer and were whisked away again in the morning. The room was perfectly decent by anyone's standards but nothing to write home about.

  • Liked — Convenient and practical
  • Disliked — My tuna steak was too thick!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Good hotel, great staff. Nice room on par with any 3-4 star in the US. Very nice grounds in a quite area. Hotel food was good. 2 restourants. I only ate lunch and breakfast so not sure how good the diner would be. But there was one major problem, and that was that there was no hot water. That was a real issue since it meant a cold shower in the morning! Still, given that the price was reasonable and the room was nice I would come back.

  • Liked — Room is up to American standards
  • Disliked — Cold water
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#4 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing