We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just got back to Johannesburg , but I must put down my time with the wonderful people who are the true experience that is the southern sun Dar es Salam from my experience at reception to every aspect of my stay (laundrey in late no problem back the same evening ) I needed a packed lunch everyday thought put into every pack and thumbs up to Denzil your recommended evening meals where spot on there are others behind the scenes who also made my stay a memorable one I would like to thank you all I would recommend your hotel to everybody
Yours faithfully
John jeffreys

Room Tip: They choose themselves (excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear John J-!
Thanks for your feedback! I am delighted that my team and especially Denzil took such good care of you during your stay with us. I hope you have a great new year and look forward to your return
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    323
    65
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
112
41
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed some days and it was okay. But we missed the atmosphere of personalised service. They did okay but for that price it can be better. Sometimes loud at night, but generally quiet. Anyway, good rooms and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBeansTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi MrBeansTeddy,
Oops, I am SO sorry, we do pride ourselves on the personalized service as something that sets us apart here in Dar, and am devastated that we let you down. Your comments serve as a timely reminder to the team and myself to ensure never to let out attention wane!
Thanks for that and I do hope you will have a very festive season

Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

used in transit in and out of TZ
welcome is warm, drinks immediately appear, comfortable clean room, good beds, perfect a/c. food is good, choice includes local dishes. breakfast very good, eggs to order
clear South African management achieving good standard

easy walk to Ocean Boulevard (now named for a certain Obama), round by fish market and back to museum and Botanic Gardens - smile at the vintage car display

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Scotzim

Thanks very much for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your safari in our country. The walk down to the Fish market and back via the museum and old City Hall is historic and certainly full of surprises, glad you enjoyed it!
Best Wishes for the Festive Season
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed for three nights over a two week period. Rooms clean and comfortable. Although Wifi available the signal is intermittent and you have to keep going back to reception for log in codes which gets a bit frustrating. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice of cooked food and fruit and it is self service so no waiting other than for coffee/tea. Service throughout the hotel is quite slow during busy times and the constant football on the TV in the bar can get quite irritating if you sit anywhere near the bar area as it always loud. Although the service can be slow the staff are friendly and helpful. The grounds of the hotel are very limited in size although hotel staff do have access to the Botanical Gardens next door. The peacocks in the gardens can get quite loud early in the morning if you have a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Watch for the taxi drivers when you walk out at the front of the hotel as you will get hounded to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roblambert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Roblambert007,
Thank you so much for your useful feedback, all very much appreciated and taken on board. We have just completed an upgrade to our WiFi transmitters and I think that has resolved the issue of dropped signals. Sorry about the football, I agree our barmen need to be more sensitive to our guests, though I suppose the enthusiasts also can get quite demanding. Our default setting though is silent. Denzil our brand new Restaurant Manager will turn the speed up on the service - we have been very busy recently and have adjusted our staffing accordingly. Not much we can do about the Peacocks, they can be noisy and nosy especially during their breeding season!
I am a little surprised about the intrusive taxi drivers, since we have an agreement with only one company to deal with our taxi requirements, Our porters will be sensitized not to allow 'pirate' taxis to trade illegally, sorry about that.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the New Year?
Best Wishes for a peaceful Holiday Season


Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked this stay for a layover before heading out to the Selous the next day. The staff were extremely friendly. The hotel was quaint. Rooms clean. Ordered room service which was very good. Breakfast was included which was also good. Very happy with everything

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Diane
Thanks for your review, I am so happy you enjoyed your brief stay-over on the way down to the famous Selous! I do think we are well placed geographically and facilities wise for stay-overs on the way to and back from Tanzania's numerous Tourist Destinations!
Best Wishes and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Tanzania one of these days!

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

As i am a resident in Dar, i have not had reason to stay in this hotel (though maybe i should just for the fun!). However i have nothing but praise for the sunday brunch! Me and my colleagues make it a monthly habit to eat here and we've been doing so for the last 2 years. I've actually been away on business for the last 2 months and im already missing it. Highly recommended. Kudos to Adam and his team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi ChrisB!

Thanks for the feedback! I am delighted that you enjoy our Sunday Breakfast so much that you keep coming back for more! Give me a ring when you want to experience a night with us!
Cheers and Happy Holidays!
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Clean, tidy and everything worked! Smallish room but everything OK and water supplied. Front desk a bit slow and I have to chase for a receipt for currency exchange. Bar fine but why the constantly on TV? Breakfast a bit hit and miss with several requests for the same thing (like toast) but good selection of fruits etc. Electronic room key was a pain as front desk kept switching it off despite organising a late check out. Fine for the business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Callan681
Thanks so much for your feedback and for the heads up on some of our service shortfalls :(
Because we cater mostly for business people it really is important that our service is both prompt and reliable, anything less we understand can be an enrager. Ross our F&B Manager and Zainab the Chief of everything to do with Front Office both understand this and will be working with their teams to iron out service inconsistencies.

Thanks again for the heads up!
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing