We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable, not inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed here when it was still a Holiday Inn property. It's way better than a typical US Holiday Inn. The rooms are very nice and comfortable with very good wireless internet connection. The shower was large with good water pressure. I found staff very efficient and accommodating. There is a decent breakfast buffet. Food in the bar was not at all good, but the bar is lively with young professionals and seems to be quite the place to be on weekend evenings. I used the hotel's drivers: $15 for airport pick-up; $40 for three hours out at meetings. The location is pretty good - I could walk no problem on my own to some of the international organizations I was working with during my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jigsaw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 718 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

I loved my stay here. Everything they had on offer at this hotel was perfect to make my stay comfortable. The porters and reception staff were very warm and friendly from the moment I stepped out of the taxi. Throughout my whole stay, the staff would greet you with courtesy and always ask if there was anything they could help you with or if everything was ok with my stay. Love the genuine service.

The hotel itself is fantastic. Modern and well maintained. The pool is perfect for cooling down in the humid weather. The pool scene gives you the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of the city. For fitness fanatics, the hotel provides a map of a jogging route around the surrounding area of the hotel, and rest assured it is safe. The gym is a little small with limited equipment, but satisfactory. They even provide you with some fruit to munch on after your workout.

The restaurants in the hotel are quite good and the food reasonably priced for an international hotel chain. You can sample some western or African cuisine if you wish. Breakfast is very good. Expect decent a full breakfast buffet, with fresh coconuts available as well if you wish.

The room itself is great. The usual standard room size you would expect of any hotel. All the furniture and decor is modern. The bed is a real king bed, very comfortable and firm. I love the pillow menu they have. You can request room service to bring up a pillow of your preference. This really made my stay comfortable. Expect nothing less than a perfectly clean bathroom, fully tiled and marble interiors. The bathroom is fully stocked with quality hotel amenities. They even provide you with mosquito repellent, which comes in handy in Tanzania. To top it all off, the hotel provides complimentary wireless internet in the room. Mind you, the internet traffic can slow down the connection, but it's not too big an issue.

Overall, I would love to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dar Es Salaam. It's a place that will offer everything to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here briefly, on layover to Arusha to begin our safari. We are a late 20s/early 30s middle class American couple and generally easy to please when it comes to accomodations. Even though we spent less than 12 hours here, it was the most TERRIBLE stay we have ever had. While the staff is very nice, the room was AWFUL. We requested a non-smoking room but got a smoking room...we weren't upset by this since it was just a request. But the room didn't smell like smoke. It smelled very musty. The pillows and bedsheets smelled like they had been slept on by somebody who hadn't showered. We actually put towels on top of the pillows just to get through the night, but the sheets were still unbearable. NEVER NEVER NEVER stay here. I believe we paid $160 and stayed in room 416.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinglay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Soheil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoRo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank toff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StefanChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $187 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing