We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for business”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Southern Sun Dar es Salaam offers a best atmosphere for business travelers. The hotel is very clean, Baraza restaurant offers the bet curries and breakfast is excellent. It's location is perfect an he area is quiet. Not for leisure because the beach is not in a good condition but the hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: I enjoy the peaceful environment on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavuso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks Mavuso74 for a great review! You are correct about our nearby beach, BUT we do have some stunning beaches just across the harbour mouth, next time you have time to spare my team will gladly show you the way! Joe will be delighted that you enjoyed his curries and breakfast!
Hope to see you again soon
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    337
    67
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
117
41
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had spent 14 days on safari in Kenya and Tanzania and had to stop over in Dar before we could fly back to J'Burg.
The drive from the airport took quite a while but on arrival were greetewd at the hotel like long lost friends.
We were offred a refreshing drink and then given our room keys. The room was great with aircondtion set a comfortable temperature.
We were leaving very early next morning so went down to the restuarant below. The food was wonderful the service good and the price resonable.
Great place to stay only wished we had longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horse6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear horse633,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your safari in East Africa and that we were able to end it on a high note! I hope you have a chance to revisit our area again sometime
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka Province, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Being in Dar for over 10 years now in the hospitality industry, I must give big thumbs up to Adam and his team. I am delighted to see that there is still a personal touch between management and Hotel guests. The atmosphere and ambiance tells you that you home and that you will be taken care of.
Southern Sun will always be my afternoon stop whenever I have to be in the city. Presentation and flavor of food is spot on- congratulations to Joe!
Everybody who lives/work in Tanzania will agree that the biggest challenge is consistency and Southern Sun is a fantastic example to all Hotels in Dar that this can be achieved.
I am sure that I will have more happy moments here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelindar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Travelindar 1973
Thanks for your feedback, As you point out consistency, and friendly service have been our greatest assets over the years and I am glad we have not slipped, despite aging gracefully! Thanks for appreciating Joe's input as well, it is a pleasure having a great Chef like Joe on our team!
See you again soon
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We found ourselves here as a result of being towards the back of a queue for hotels when our BA flight failed to take off at the end of our fantastic holiday in the Ruaha. We were tired (having left our Zanzibar hotel at 5am and then sat on the plane on the tarmac until 1.30pm) and pretty fed up. Wow! The reception staff could not have been nicer! The reception area was stunning. Our basic rate room (courtesy of BA) was clean light and spacious as was the bathroom. Lovely views over the gardens and the botanical gardens next door. The restaurant (eat inside or by the pool) was beautifully decorated and very welcome and the food was great. It was our wedding anniversary and we had hoped to spend it with our family in the UK but the hotel thoughtfully and generously presented us with a lovely bottle of champaigne which we shared with friends. Breakfast the next moring was good, fresh and plentiful.

We spend time on safari in Tanzania almost annually and have always finished our holiday with a couple of nights in Stonetown in Zanzibar for a bit of a chill out and also because the BA return flight to Longdon is scheduled for 8.45 am! Next time we will definitly be booking into the Souther Sun for our last night (if not two).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieL126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Rosiel126,
As they say in the classics,every cloud has its silver lining! I am delighted that we were able to make up in some small way for your misfortunes with delayed flights and missed celebrations. Thanks for your thoughtful feedback! We do look forward to welcoming you both back for a planned visit next year!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfortable, the staff is extremely friendly and the food is delicious. All this comes at fair prices. Insider tip: The bartender mixes a fantastic old fashioned!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reo187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Rio187
Thanks for your post, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am blessed with a wonderful team that constantly surprise me, I never knew our Old Fashioned's were so good!! Will try one later.
Hope to see you back with us again soon

Thanks
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for one night and have to say it is very nice. Just a mini bar missing in the room.
Arrived on a Wednesday and it was Companys day. We won a dinner in the restaurant. Nice curry´s and deserts. Nice breakfast but with not a lot of choice.
Nice staff. Good hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear VeraS
Thanks for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed you recent stay with us, and congratulations again on winning that prize at our Wednesday Networking Party. Mini fridges in the room are currantly available on request. But since this is a common request we will be including Mini Bar fridges as a standard in all our rooms when we start with our refurbishment next year.
I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night only en route from South Africa to the Selous Game Reserve. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms were adequate, with comfortable beds and hot showers. We had some room service sandwiches, which were fine. Our arrival was dealt with effectively, efficiently and cheerfully.

But - breakfast was very disappointing. As we had to leave at 6.30am, we made an effort to be up at 5.15 in order to have a good breakfast before a morning's travel. We wish we hadn't bothered. The buffet was distinctly lacklustre, the hot plate was not hot enough to keep the food warm - so it was inedible (lukewarm sausage, cold eggs, no bacon at all), and they even managed to bring me a pot of stone cold tea (freshly made, a nice new tea bag in a pot of cold water, not even tea that had been made hot and gone cold). There was minimal choice of fresh fruit or indeed anything else cold. To be fair, the tea was changed when I complained, but the staff must have been aware that we weren't happy (we were the only people in a huge dining room), and did nothing to help. I'm fairly sure we also had to ask for something else to be restocked (something basic like more bread for toast, or fruit juice maybe), which is ridiculous in an empty dining room that early in the morning - there were more staff than guests.

We did complain at reception when we left, and our comments were met sympathetically, but it was all a bit too late then, we felt disgruntled and grumpy from an early start and basically no breakfast. The children were especially annoyed. This fell far short of any other breakfast we had in Africa, including ones in the bush miles from anywhere - and this was in Tanzania's capital city.

To be honest, this was only one morning, and may have been a blip, so we would probably try this hotel again, but would expect more from one of this (supposed) standard - consistent high standards are key and blips on this scale should not happen. Due to our short stay, we didn't have a chance to try the pool or have an evening meal in the restaurant, maybe those things would have helped us feel more positive about the hotel. The staff at reception were charming, more than most of the other places we stayed in Africa!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TalbotTravelllers,
Thanks for your thoughtful review. I am devastated that you had such an awful Breakfast Experience! If there is one aspect of a Hotel that in our opinion has to be perfect that is Breakfast, we appreciate how a breakfast literally can make or break ones day. I can only assume that judging by other reviews in Trip that your experience was the exception to the rule. However it does teach us a lesson never to assume that all is going well even and especially early in the morning. I am confident that Ross and Joe who head our Food and Beverage Team will take your comments to heart and never let that happen to our many other guests.
I do hope you will accept our apologies and thanks for giving us the heads up on this

Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
631 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing