We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Congratulations back on top Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Congratulations back on top Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

After my last review, I am pleased to say I was happy with the quality and service I received on my recent visit.
Breakfast is good again with pleasant friendly old faces. I have to ask where is katowo, I missed her friendly helpful personality.
Keep it up southern sun!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi UK 2012!
Good to have you back again and thanks for your compliments! Katowo is on a very well deserved vacation, and will be back in action with here great service ethic in a week or two!
Karibu Tena
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    321
    65
    9
    6
See reviews for
50
111
41
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Southern Sun for one night in transit between Jo'burg and Kili for the start of our safari. As a transit hotel, it was a bit far from the airport, but convenient to restaurants, etc. near the city center. As we pulled up to the hotel, I felt as if we were entering an oasis in the middle of the otherwise worn down city. The property - inside and out - was beautiful and appeared much newer than other buildings.

We were greeted with exceptional, friendly service and some cold Appletizers. Check-in was quick and seamless and we were on our way up to our room.

The room was basic, but nice and clean. We had a view over the pool down to the sea. The bathroom was large with a separate tub and shower, as well as basic toiletries including insect repellent. The bed was comfy, though a bit hard, and the sheets were clean and cozy. The room also had a small TV and a digital safe, as well as free WiFi access in the room.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but we did lounge in the bar for a bit. The bar area was nice with plush, comfy couches to lounge on and fairly decent service.

We would stay in the Southern Sun again if we return to Dar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grateful_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Greatfull! Thanks for your notes and for taking the time to post these! We are delighted that we met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. You would be most welcome to stay again, and I hope we have that opportunity!
Kind Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

For business I staid 5 days in Dar es Salaam and enjoyed the Hotel
Near the center of the city in a safe airer , a nice jogging the long the beach in the morning
Free acces to the wireless with a breakfast morning.
you can work to the center of the city or you have taxis ready to take
in addition you have a navette of the hotel to go back to the airport
Nothing to complained

Room Tip: ask view on the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier007_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

After staying at most of the other "brand" hotels, the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam is by far the best value. Freindly staff and convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hi Mike Mouse!
Thanks for your kind words! All of us on the team are delighted that we continue to meet your expectations! Looking forward to your return to Dar soon!
Cheers
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

those rooms are simply amazing stayed there for six nights an experience i wouldn't erase any time soon; breakfast was the best,friendly staff and the class of people booking is quite adorable i would'nt mind spending a month

Room Tip: those rooms are simply amazing stayed there for six nights an experience i wouldn't erase any ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hongoro o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Hongoro O! Your comments and feedback are really appreciated, thanks! We also wouldnt mind having you to stay for a month or more! Karibu Tena.

Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stopped in SS for 2 days before going back to Europe. We chose SS since it had the best ratio of positive reviews out of all hotels listed in the TripAdvisor. The hotel indeed meets the excellent rating reviews. In short:
- our room was clean, tidy and comfortable;
- the service was excellent (very polite which is important to me, very attentive, and efficient);
- they serve great breakfasts (buffet) !!! You might chose between potatos, meat, rise, fruits, yogurts, sweets, bakery, ommlets, eggs, juices, coffees, pancakes, chocolates, etc.;
- we were extremly pleased by having been offered an opportunity to check out at 14.00 (official check out is at 11.00) the hour of our departure to the airport.

We would definitely stop at this hotel again once we are back to Tanzania whether for business and/or holidays reason. We would like to address particular thankfulness to Adam, manager of the hotel, for being attentive to our extra needs.

A. Langer

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Hi Arek! Thanks for your generous comments, I am delighted we met your expectations, and that you found Trip Advisor a useful resource for planning your Hotel stays! We share your experience with the Hotel team who will be uplifted by your feedback!
Kind Regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Southern Sun fort two nights at the beginning of July on our home from Zanzibar. It was a real pleasure to walk through the hotels doors to be met by friendly faces and an ice cold drink after a nightmare taxi ride from the airport into the centre. We were on holiday as part of our wedding anniversary and the hotel treated us amazingly well - upgraded room, fresh flowers and a bottle of bubbly.
We ended up spending most of our time in the hotel as Dar had little to offer. The food was excellent and ambience of the hotel was very good. We were frequnelty asked by staff if everything was ok and the head chef was particularly attentive and chatty. Breakfast was especially good and very early on Sunday morning (which was great as we had an early flight back to London).
Our room was very nice and had a comfortable bed and good bathroom.
My only gripe was the lack of transfers to the airport (these had to be booked through the business centre and not the hotel). We pre-paid our transfer and it turned out that we got the wrong driver who hadn't been paid. The hotel should really take ownership of the process or offer a shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshwaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamGMSouthernSunDSM, General Manager at Southern Sun Dar es Salaam, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Welshwasp, I really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments on Trip. I am delighted that you both had a magic anniversary and wish that you have many more. Sorry about the transfer problems, whilst this is an outsourced service we still like to take ownership of it. I will be sharing your concerns with my team and that of the company responsible so that we can improve the reliabilty of the transfers.
Once again thanks for your kind comments!
Best Wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#7 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#5 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Dar es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Dar es Salaam

Property: Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Address: 1 Garden Avenue | PO Box 80022, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Dar es Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Dar-Es-Salaam offers the best of all worlds with excellent facilities and within walking distance of the city centre. It is situated in a quiet part of town, close to the sea, next door to the Botanical Gardens and numerous diplomatic missions. The Hotel was recently awarded Silver status by the Heritage Environmental rating program in recognition of our commitment to reducing the Hotels environmental impact. A free Wi-Fi service is offered throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Dar es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Dar Es Salaam Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing