We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am Team George and Dragon all the way!!!!!”
Review of George & Dragon

George & Dragon
Ranked #20 of 309 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Am Team George and Dragon all the way!!!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What Can I say? Where do I start??? So many good things to say about this place..... Am going to keep it short and simple.

The service is superb (and always with a smile), the food never disappoints (generous potions), the drinks are always served at the right temperature(s) and in the right glasses (very important!), the owners are lovely and the patrons vary.

What else does a person want from their pub? 10/10 in my books. Well done team GnD!!!! Well Done!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    87
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A propper british pub.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very warm welcome on arrival. Staff are pleasant and you can tell that the are trained to a very high standard. Wish we could get such good service back in England. Food is top notch. You can even get home made mushy peas and propper nortern gravey.. We returned to this pub several times during our stay in Dar. Including getting a very nice sunday roast with all the trimmings.
I would reccomend this pub to anybody wanting a propper British pub experience. Friendly and welcoming nights out in a propper pub with great atmos and people.
Will be returning when next in Dar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtwara, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pub with pub food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've been here many times when passing through Dar and the food is always good and, strangely, I always seem to see someone I know (even though I don't live in Dar). A good place for beer and pub food in a sociable atmosphere, with friendly and efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cryptomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very crowded place with a lot of noise from drinkers”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The place is nice to have a drink and food but its very crowded and a lot of nice from people who drinks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank avetravelandtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Your typical British pub”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It felt like we were in London - the set up was like a pub. It was very busy, yet got really good service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Dragon also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing