We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent View and Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karambezi Cafe

Karambezi Cafe
Ranked #3 of 277 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For more than 15 years the Karambezi Cafe has been serving the East African coast with fine seafood and continental dishes. Travel to Dar es Salaam and one of our thousands of friends will say "You have to go to the Karambezi". Our restaurant evolves and changes daily and through time. Come for a luxurious buffet breakfast from 6 am daily to a cocktail served whilst you overlook the Indian Ocean and dine on an Admirals Platter. Karambezi Cafe....Come Home....
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent View and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is not my first visit to Karambezi and It is the consistency of good food, excellent service and a wonderful view of the ocean that brings me back. Sunday brunch is a specialty for Karambezi and their buffet, while not out-of-the-ordinary, is solid fare. Fresh juices and breads certainly help the regular fruit and cheese plates.

The one selling feature for me is the staff. They are attentive without being overbearing and, even when the brunch time is over and they are trying to set up for the afternoon crowd, they let you sit, visit, enjoy the view and finish your coffee unhurriedly.

BTW, the evening menu is good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    189
    51
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for 7 month because my organization had rented an office space there , all i had was breafast for 7 months they dont have many variaties of food no change of menus , the service is horrible some times they would take an hour to deliver plus some hygine issues now and there in my food not recomending anyone to go there for breakfast

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank saira o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusKC, Owner at Karambezi Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Saira O

Thank you for the feedback on your experience at our restaurant. We pride ourselves in serving our guests in a fast, efficient and hygienic environment so your review is certainly a concern.

I am confident that we would have become familiar with each other over the last seven months if you had your breakfasts here daily and would have liked to have resolved any operational issues as it arose over this period.

As you would have become familiar with our restaurant over your stay at the hotel, you will be aware that we not only serve breakfast to the Sea Cliff guests but to many Dar es Salaam residents. We track breakfast participation literally hourly and your order "some times" taking more than an hour would have been resolved after the first incident of this happening.

Please if possible feel free to contact me personally on markus@irc.co.tz to elaborate on the hygiene issues that you may have had. Our restaurant receieves regular inspections from the local health authorities and we are proud about our achievements in the results and in the efforts of our crew members.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ood service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The service was very good, portions more than sufficient, well presented and very tasty. Cannot fault much here, except maybe that it is a bit pricey...but well worth it

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great view, good service well managed !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

apparently the best location restaurant in Dar, with beautiful panoramic view to the ocean and nice ambient atmosphere, definitely a great place to eat, sit, have a nice drink on the bar or just for nice coffee and cake.

prices are a bit high comparing to the portion of the dishes and not a large menu options, but all in all, very pleasant place to be.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a business lunch at Karambezi Cafe and thought it was a great, upmarket venue. The outdoor area overlooking the sea really is beautiful and the food wasn't too flash but it was delicious. Our waitress was a delight and I can imagine it would be a great place to hang out in the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoodleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karambezi Cafe also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Karambezi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing