We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Ethiopian food high quality. Value 4 money. Local ambiance.”
Review of Rohobot

Rohobot
Ranked #36 of 305 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://pernille.typepad.com/louderthanswahili/2009/09/rohobot-ethiopian-restaurant.html
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian food high quality. Value 4 money. Local ambiance.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Real good Ethiopian food prepared with care and love. Decent prices. Local ambiance and setting. Hidden food gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mara Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since a friend of mine tipped me to this little family restaurant operating in an unassuming neighborhood around Namanga area of Dar es Salaam, I feel in love with it. It is not about the prices which are lower than in Addis in Dar or the ambiance or anything else. It is just it feels at home here and the food is very good. The owners are very friendly, helpful and smiling and no matter if I go alone or in a group, we get a very good service. I do not wish to go into the comparison mode with the Addis in Dar, because these two ethiopian restaurants are different, though the food is the same. One of my best places to go to eat in a casual mode with friends who appreciate this kind of establishments. Next time I am in Dar, surely my destination for a dinner with friends will be Rohobot. Keep it up, guys!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WojciechAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
406 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a good price”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Excellent Ethiopian food in this little restaurant on a back road on the peninsula. Try going with a few friends so that you can sample as many dishes as possible.
If you are alone, make sure you get one of the combo dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not as good as Addis”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This restaurant is considered the rebel underdog of Ethiopian food in Dar es Salaam, with the story that it was opened by a chef who went rogue from Addis in Dar. Sadly, the food isn't quite as good as over at Addis... the flavours are 'muddier' somehow.
Both establishments belong in the category of restaurants that charge over $5 for a small dish of lentils, which shows that someone has lost perspective somewhere - and it's probably we, the customers.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian food in Dar”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Cozy restuarant that makes you feel like you are home. Great value for the food with exceptional wait staff. We eat here at least once a month and love it each time we go!
A bit diificult to find in the back alley, but very safe and welcoming once you arrive.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjcameron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rohobot also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Rohobot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing