We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from both Zanziar ferry terminal and main train station.

Rooms are spacious and well layed-out with large bathroom/shower.

Satellite TV with good selection of channels, and strong WIFI connection.

Plenty of local restaurants in local area. Room also has microwave, toaster and tea/coffee facilities. There is a supermarket a block up the street called 10-to-10 if you want to stock up on bread etc.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank munsteremerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    286
    76
    28
    22
See reviews for
119
175
65
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Dar was just a stop-by on our trip to Zanzibar. Not much expectation on hotels there so we just chose a simple and basic place to stay.

We thought it is more like a cool hotel for business people, but in contrast, staff there was very friendly and helpful. They offered us a complimentary drive to the ferry pier and also left luggage service for the days we were in Zanzibar.

Location is good too. Walking distance to the central area. Though no restaurant in the hotel, there're plenty of choices of local restaurants near by. They are actually better than those western-style restaurants in the central area we think.

Rooms are simple and you may say they are lack of character, but if you are not particularly picky you'll be happy about them. Free wifi also available (the only place we stayed in our trip which provide free wifi)

Overall we enjoyed the stay there, good value and nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank immrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel driver picked us up on the airport and took us to the hotel for 20 USD, - perfect. We had ordered a junior suite, but got a huge three bedroom apartment with separate bathrooms and a big kitchen, without any extra costs. Later we moved to a Junior Suite, and it was quite ok too.The staff is friendly, and service minded.
This is a muslim hotel, and any use of alcohol is prohibited. There is no restaurant, the only meal you will get is breakfast, and it was simple, but ok I guess.
If you want to go out for a beer and a restaurant there is Tiffany Diamond Hotel just around the corner with a nice restaurant and good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel staff, specifically at the reception, were always available and always accommodating to our needs. Airport service was great and we never waited for it, even for our 4:00am pick-up.
This hotel is situated in the middle of the busy city which makes it perfect for grabbing a taxi and shooting off to your business location (as we did for the week we stayed there). Although the hotel offers room service from a restaurant around the corner we rather enjoyed going for supper to the various locations in and around the hotel and easily managed to find a place every night by foot. We were two (2) men walking the streets, but never felt under threat from muggings. A Bureau de Change was also within walking distance, which was handy when we suddenly ran out of shillings. The breakfast menu can do with a larger variety in the hot items, but that which was there was of a good quality (loved the coffee machine).

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great for the layout and view, but the WiFi lacks a good signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionelm04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in the Tanzanite Executive suites for one night before continuing to Zanzibar by ferry the next day. The room was clean (although there was a cockroach in the bathroom...) and big, but there is no view from the window and overall it really lacks character. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful though, and arranged taxi's for us and even bargained the prices. Mediocre breakfast. Ok value for money, but nothing special if you're on holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saskia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Decided to stay downtown for a night after our trip from Zanzibar. The room allocated to me lacked a good view but it was large and comfortable. The free wifi was faster than the one in a pricier hotel I stayed four days earlier. Though there is no restaurant in the property, there were two rich Indian and Lebanese menus in the room. We ordered using the menus and our takeaway lunch came on time. The option of charging the cost of food to my hotel account was convenient. The big surprise was the rich breakfast in the morning. I generally found this hotel a very good value for money and would not hesitate to stay there in future if I am on transit for a Zanzibar holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalaAbuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The rooms are quite good with ac and wi-fi, all needed toiletries etc. But on top of that the staff at the reception is very helpful. I happened to have my luggage lost by the airlines on the arrival to Tanzania and with very tight schedule the following day, I was worried as to what actions I should take. The staff at the reception not only helped me by making phone-calls and tracing out the lost luggage, which with no knowledge of kiswahili on my part would take forever, but allowed me to use their driver to drive me to the airport to collect it.
I cant express how relieved I was when the luggage was found and knowing that someone was helping me and can advise on the progress was much appreciated.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#38 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Property: Tanzanite Executive Suites
Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing