We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better for business traveller who doesnt want to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is ok for a one nights stay. The fact that it doesnt have its own restaurant lets it down after a long and tiring day travelling we just wanted some food. we had to order from the take away menu and the food was really really bad, so we sent it back and had to go out and find food. The suites are off a road that is all dug up and there isnt much near it.
We had to leave before 6am and they opened breakfast early which was good.

The hotel staff were helpful, the shuttle bus to the airport was good, however they said it would take 1 hr to 2 hrs depending on traffic, we were there within 20 mins and extremely early.

Overall good value but Like someone said before good for the business traveller but maybe not for the tourist traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Tanzanite Executive Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 665 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have had three very pleasant nights here and have no complaints. Its a clean comfortable hotel and for Dar very good value. Air conditioning was very efficient, beds comfortable and staff all helpful and friendly. Be aware there is no bar and no pool if you want these you'll have to pay three times as much elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJB300357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Tanzanite Executive Suites would be a very hard one for me to recommend as a hotel for tourists, especially families, but I would certainly recommend this hotel for the business traveler. Just the look and feel of the hotel on the inside seems to be all business, yet is very well suited for the district it is in. The entire staff is professional, friendly and very helpful with all your needs. From the front door to the lobby and your room courtesy is rendered and actions of genuine desire to be there for you when needed are displayed. The rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean, with a housekeeping staff that is there to ensure your comfort. The hotel has a breakfast buffet that is more or less on the "just good" side...nothing special, but still it is enough to get your day started. The only downfall to this hotel is the lack of a restaurant. They do have menus in the room for local takeout that can be delivered free to your room with the help of the front desk, or you can venture out to some of the local restaurants within the area. Although the restaurants are within a short walk of the hotel, the streets around the hotel at night can be a bit intimidating and gives a strong feeling of being unsafe. Pleasantries within the rooms, include a strong wifi signal, excellent air-conditioning and a large flat screen TV with a good cable channel selection. The safe in my room did not work due to the batteries being dead, but upon notification to the front desk this was rectified almost immediately.

This is a very nice hotel and I will certainly consider it upon my next business trip. The Tanzanite has good reason to be proud of its rating and I wish I could rate it higher than in this review, but due to the fact that I would consider this to be catering more to the business traveler I find it hard to give it the highest rating possible.

Room Tip: If traveling alone opt for the Studio room and save your self some money. The room is quite large an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rusljbei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Situated only 600 metres from Zanzibar ferry terminal, which is opposite the cathedral the beginning of the 2 hour city sites walk. The hotel has many local menus for free room delivery, the breakfast is a buffet style starting closer to 7am than the advised 6.30am, the rooms all have plasma 80cm cable TV, good air-con and 5 star hotel extras for bathroom 2 x 500ml waters each day for a double. Good value for Dar Es Salaam.

Room Tip: If taken to a smokers room they will change on request.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is unorganized, sloppy, and has terrible service. We stayed here after booking over a month in advance and they still didn't have our reservation. The guys didn't care, and made us wait like an hour before accommodating us and actually requested that we go and print the original reservation even after confirming via mail.

I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived at 2 am after a flying from Ethipia. We wanted a place to sleep for a few hours before taking the ferry to Zanzibar. When we arrived they didn't have our reservation, even though it was booked with anticipation and we even specified that we were arriving late. We lost like half an hour at the reception till we found and printed the reservation. Finally they took us for to a room that was very nice. There was no hot water. We went to sleep and woke up at 4am to a loud sound on the street, like a prayer. Then instead of waking us up at 5,40am as we asked they woke us up ar 5,20 (20 minutes at that hour, with out sleep is a long time). Breakfast was terrible. They offered a free ride to the ferry station which was cool, they put us on a taxi and then the driver tried to charge us for it! Avoid this place, the area is scary too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

brilliant services, staff are very friendly they are willing to answer questions and assist in any way that they could. Clean and Comfortable rooms to the high standard, hotel restaurant they provide only breakfast but there is option of going to the hotel with your own food stuff and cook, also there is very close good restaurants and is within walking distance where you can have your lunch and dinner. Excellent hotel in Dar.

Room Tip: All the room are at high standard and nice but for nice view of the city you may take rooms on the e...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samwel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#22 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Executive Suites

Address: Mali Street, Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam 64, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#5 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#12 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $63 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Executive Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanzanite Executive Suites is a business hotel located in the heart of the city center of Dar es Salaam with facilities catering specifically for the business traveler. The hotel offers 64 contemporary guestrooms and suites, with spectacular views over the city centre of Dares Salaam. It has a modern style restaurant within the premises. All rooms include free wireless Internet access, a safe that is large enough to hold a laptop, mini-fridge, satellite TV, air conditioning, kettle, microwave, and toaster for the highest degree of comfort. All of our guests enjoy complimentary access to our fitness center and may make use of the Jacuzzi and sauna.For families, we suggest our 200 square meter 3 bedroom Family suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and reserved underground parking, offering complete independence and comfort throughout your stay. The hotel is located just 500 meters from the harbor and the Zanzibar ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanzanite Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanzanite Executive Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing