We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So convienient”
Review of The Fishmonger

The Fishmonger
Ranked #91 of 305 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The only seafood restaurant in Dar es Salaam, The Fishmonger is situated on a lovely outdoor terrace. The casual, seaside Mediterranean atmosphere, reflects also on our cooking style – fresh, healthy, delicious. The seafood is caught daily and cooked to order. If you are wanting a light meal of a simple grilled fish and salad or something more decadent, like our signature King’s Platter, we will cater for all your needs.And our specials don’t stop at seafood – we are famous for our flame-grilled Portuguese Chicken and Steak Algarve.So come, sit back and enjoy the experience!
Wigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So convienient”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was staying next door at the Sea Cliff Hotel. The Fishmonger allows you to book the cost of your meal to your room. The upstairs open aspect layout was great and gave you a view of the rest of the complex and all of the other shops and stalls. Both food and service were excellent and well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiganYosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    8
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too many flies”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had reviewed this restaurant once before but the review seems to have disappeared. I walked by there again today because I love seafood. Too bad there are still way too many flies and I just couldn't bring myself to stop again. It was bad the last time and it doesn't look like anything has changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but terrible atmosphere”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The seafood was outstanding but the prices were more than the other nicer restaurants with an actual seaview! Uncomfortable seating, no air conditioning or fans combined with no view equal no return for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bekbekbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place to have dinner at Dea Cliff Hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Though it is not located inside the hotel, it is just around the corner in the "village" mall next door. Great location, you eat on the terrace, though it can be windy, so bring along a fleece. The service is good and the fish is excellent! Great fish and chips for the children (but also for the adults), fantastic the shrimo cocktail and the calamari. Just keep in mindi they do not accept credit card

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood a short walk from Seacliff”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The seafood pilaf was spectacular. The calamari also good as was the salad. The wine list was adequate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlayloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishmonger also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to The Fishmonger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing