We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This Rainbow Hotel is the biggest toilet I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. Mostly unfriendly staff, small cramped dirty room and potential food poisoning in the restaurant with badly undercooked fish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watchrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    44
    10
    11
See reviews for
16
26
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

i stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights as i was on business. I can honestly say i have never been to a hotel where i have been made to feel so welcome and at home. Avesh who works for the hotel was very helpfull and always had an answer to my questions and had many recomendation for places for me to visit. I must say he and the other staff there are a credit to this hotel and country. I am looking forward to my next business trip which is in 3 months.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed in the deluxe room on 3rd feb 2014 room no 408 the service was amazing, value for money this chap called Avesh looked after me he is a credit to the hotel excellent chap! The food was tasty and clean high level. I would deffo go there again without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordpasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I made an online reservation at the Rainbow Hotel for a two night stay in Dar. My first tipoff that this was not going to be a fun experience should have been when the front desk clerk told me that a taxi from the intercity bus stand to the hotel should cost around 20 USD - the correct price is between 10-15000 TSH. I brushed this off as a typing error and went ahead anyway, but when I got to the hotel, the room was unlike anything shown on the website or trip advisor. It was a closet - you could only open the door fully by pushing it past the bedframe, which was up against the wall. The walls were beige, the floor was dirty, and the sheets looked worn through. It was the single most depressing room I've ever seen. I went back to the front desk and tried to see about a different room, but apparently once it's been entered in the system, it's set in stone. I thought they would at least try and negotiate with me, but they just let me walk away. Fortunately, I ended up at the nearby Econolodge, which, while less than fancy on the outside, is scrupulously clean, and has a private bathroom and A/C for a quarter of the price. Once I spend the night here, I will rate the Econolodge, but thus far, I'm very glad I moved on from the Rainbow

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amckechnieoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

WE HAD A MEETING AT THIS HOTEL FOR 4 DAYS. IT IS CLEAN AND FOOD IS HOT INDIAN TOUCH. FIVE MINUTES TO THE FERRY, NEAR TOWN LOCAL TAXIS VERY REASONABLE.

DAR es salaam CITY IS WARM WITH NICE PEOPLE I ENJOYED MY STAY.
JUST NO FRIDGE IN THE ROOM
INTERNET WAS HARD TO GET THE HIGHER YOU GO UP! GET FLOOR1 IF POSSIBLE.
NO NOISE COOLED ROOMS NO MOSQUITO.
I WOULD RECOMMEND FOR SHORT TIME VISITS. the staff are well trained to handle clients. the security is available. they take you to the airport.
If you are in town, it is cheaper to get your items from the market "Kariakoo" many things including fruits. At the ferry prepare 55USD to travel to Zanzibar it is more fan with many people. there is a fastest speed bus boat 40 minutes to Zanzibar but i never used it.
all the best to you endless travelers!!.

Room Tip: for a nice view top rooms , but you forgo internet. for best internet reception floors 1 and two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in Rainbow for four days and was amazed with the service and hospitality. The rate was $45 for a single room including breakfast which was very reasonable. The location is 5 mins walk to the ferry. Wifi was free and the connection was good for Africa standard. Staff very friendly.I will definitely stay there again on my next trip. Thank you Rainbow

Room Tip: If you do not have a budget problem, stay in double or deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvers-sur-Oise, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose that place because it is close to the ferry to Zanzibar. We checked in late in the evening , tired after a whole day spent in the bus coming from Arusha. When I asked the boss (I presume) for information on how to get to Zanzibar, he phoned a friend of his to book ferry tickets. The guy showed up in the morning pretending they didn't accept US dollars and thus made us pay more than the official price. He drove us to the ferry, gave us a porter, and asked us again for more money although my husband paid him at the hotel for the ferry and the taxi !
The place itself is OK for the price you pay. Not very clean, though.
It is very easy to walk to the ferry station but we didn't because I had a broken arm.
The hotel is run by Indian people. The boss pretends to be helpful and efficient towards his guests but he turned to be some kind of crook .
So Don't ask for any kind of services !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 627anne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#29 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City Center
The Amariah Boutique Hotel City ...
#33 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: Plot No. 1900/59 Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hotel is located in the heart of Dar-es-salaam city centre. Zanzibar Ferry terminal is only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. There are lots of shops, restaurants, shopping malls, banks just as you step out of the hotel. The hotel has 75 rooms comprising of :16 singles, 24 standard doubles, 16 deluxe doubles and 16 twin rooms. We also have 3 apartments ( 1x 1 bedroom & 2 x 2 bedrooms). All bedrooms are ensuite and come with air conditioning, cable tv and free internet (Wi-Fi). We have a multi-cuisine restaurant which sits upto 90 people. There is also a Conference centre located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing