We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$147
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$293
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiffany Diamond Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$83
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$224
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$148
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Court(Dar es Salaam)
$144
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
32
52
47
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
52
47
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszanzibar ferryferry terminalbudget hotelmin walkingthe hotel staffin house restaurantshort stayinstant coffeehotel is greathotel is locatedbusiness stayper nightcomfortable roomsgodwinindiantvwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 153 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Not a luxurious hotel, but an excellent deal for the price. Well located near the Zanzibar fast ferry, and quite satisfactory. Single room with full bathroom was adequate. (No alcohol served in restaurant.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days when we arrived in Tanzania for a long three week holiday in various places.

The stay was okay, nothing great; but well located for us; and quite cheap. We booked the same room for our last few days three weeks later; only to find the room double booked and the hotel only offering a terrible alternative. The desk staff / managers wee no help; did not apologise and laregely ignored us; so we went elsewhere.

So I would say stay away; as it turned out there a lot better places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this hotel to stay for the first night when we arrived in Dar es Salaam last month. The room rate that we got offered look OK also they offered us for taxi to pick up at the airport. When we checked in and went to our room , the room was very small and was on the second floor ( one floor above kitchen). We asked to change the room as there might be some effect of smell from kitchen. At the beginning the lady at the front said that there was no room available but after a minute there was call from a man at the front allow us to move to bigger room which I thought that it was so nice service.However , there is a building construction beside Rainbow hotel right now cause us unable to see anything except this construction.
We walked around on next day and found another hotel which the price is same as we got from Rainbow.We decided to move out from Rainbow hotel and checked into that hotel instead. This hotel was very good , big room , clean, has a balcony except no free wi-fi in the room like Rainbow hotel.
In the afternoon while we walked around , we met one guy who came from Taiwan.We had a conversation to each other concerning with accommodation. He said that we stayed at Rainbow hotel and the price he got was US$ 20 lower than the price which we got. This cause us has some doubt? If we didn't ask to change the room, will we gonna stay in smaller room as Taiwan guy stay at higher price by 20 USD?. Or the Rainbow hotel compensate the room rate with taxi fare which they sent to pick us at the airport? as we paid 20USD only for pick up. ( we found later after we spent time in Dar that the taxi from town to airport cost around 20USD. one way).
At the end , I would like to tell anybody who has a plan to stay here checking the type of the room before you gonna stay here base on room rate whether it is big room or small room!!!!.
In term of location, yes it is near the ferry pier but not so near Dar Express office by walking where you will go to buy a ticket to Arusha. You still have to catch a taxi which cost around 3,000-4000 Tsh.

Room Tip: As other person said if you had a plan to stay here, choose the room higher than a second floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I just stayed at the Rainbow Hotel this last Easter weekend and i would recommend them highly. Very friendly staff, very clean, spacious room. Located very close to the ferry for Zanzibar just a short walk.......

Room Tip: The ocean view has been blocked by a new structure being constructed right next to the hotel so any room will work just fine i think.....
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorillasafarisug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Missed our connection back to Europe one night (how stupid is that?) and had to find accommodation in Dar after midnight with a 4 yr old and pregnant wife. Cab driver took us there. Small rooms but clean. Reasonably priced in the very heart of Dar. Staff was super helpful. Special thx to Iqbal (the director) and a guy called Matthias, who was in charge of admin and communications. At the beginning of our trip we stayed at the golden tulip, and honestly, service was better at the Rainbow.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews