We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved and wish to recommend to others”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Rainbow for about 5 months. It was an excellent place to stay. The hotel management provided all the facilities that we asked for. It is comfortable place with all the basic requirements fulfilled. Service was also very fast,clean and neat. I am a vegetarian and didnt find any problem with the food. Breakfast was customized as per our needs. I really thank the hotel management for all the services provided. I recommend this hotel for all category of people, be it tourists,business people or family. I would love to revisit the hotel, whenever I visit Dar-es-salaam.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnamurthyranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed at Rainbow for a few nights in the beginning of June, while I was in Dar-es-Salaam on my way to Zanzibar for holidays. Besides it's close proximity to the Zanzibar ferry terminal (very convenient!), I would recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a clean and affordable hotel and who also enjoy being in the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I've stayed for one night, 19 to 20 June and had my equipment (camera, notebook, cell phone, watch and money) stolen. The thief entered through the front door and took it during the 20 minutes I was in the hotel's own restaurant dining. There are several evidences that the hotel management is involved in the theft. They did not pay any kind of help, they did not call the police, they did not come into contact with the embassy, ​​neither provided money to return to my country.
Be careful because they are professionals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandre_Uhlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in April and would most definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, safe and modern place to stay at a more than reasonable price of only $45 per night! The management and staff were really friendly and accommodating and the hotel itself is wonderful. It has its own restaurant which serves all types of food throughout the day and tastes exquisite. The rooms are very comfortable and our room had an amazing view. Great value for money!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed here 1st night in Dar. Wow. It was $45 but way more than twice as nice than Jambo where I stayed 2nd night. Very clean rooms that are modern with air con, tv, and hot showers. Felt like I was in a trendy little boutique for the night. The whole place is marble floors and just a nice place. The breakfast is great with plent if selection for any pallette. Also very close to Zanzibar ferry terminal. Dar is not the nicest or safest city, this place is great vale. Love saving cash as been traveling 1.5 years but if in Dar again would splurge. Room like this would be 150-200$ in Canada. Only draw back is that rooms are small or atleast my single was. Recommended.

Rob Aka
Http://stophavingaboringlife.com

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Rainbow Hotel is located in the old commercial center of Dar es Salaam about 3 blocks away from the fast Zanzibar Ferry. The hotel was opened in late 2010 and is managed by Indians.
The rooms in the hotel are bright and clean; the furnishings are basic but complete. Satellite TV in the room includes BBC News. The Internet is free and the connection is stable and fast. Breakfast is included (unfortunately coffee is instant), the breakfast selection is adequate. The staff all seem to be very friendly, and the customer service is generally very good. The bed is very hard which is fine with me.
The economy rooms are quite small but pleasant. I chose a larger deluxe room that has an amazing view of the harbor (I can see the Zanzibar Ferry terminal), but another building is going up next door and will block the view soon. I have worked quite a bit in my room, and have not been troubled by the noise from outside, even with the construction next door.
The restaurant has Indian, Chinese, African and Western dishes on the menu. I had an Indian meal and it was very good.
The City Supermarket is located across the street and is a fully stocked modern supermarket. There are many local and foreign bank branches nearby, and many restaurant choices. I liked the Al Bashra Lebanese restaurant a couple of blocks away next to the Heritage Motel. The Kisutu fruit and vegetable market at the corner of Bibi Titi Mohammed Road and Morogoro Road is only about 10 minutes away.
The neighborhood around the hotel is very interesting, it is adjacent to a Muslim quarter, and there are several mosques nearby. I have heard the call to prayer from time to time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ysolde_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

It is very difficult to find a hotel in Dar es Salaam for a reasonable price, but I think I have found one now. Rainbow hotel is fairly new. The interior looks a little cheap. All you see is made of plastic, the shower cabin, the sink, the bed, the doors etc. etc. The single rooms are very small, but the location makes it interesting staying here. Although not very cheap, I was happy to pay US$ 45 per night for a rooms with AC and TV on this location.
It feels very safe in the hotel. There is an Indian restaurant on the 1st floor and rooms have WIFI. Ferry port for Zanzibar only a 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#32 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#41 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
4 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: Plot No. 1900/59 Morogoro Road, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $23 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hotel is located in the heart of Dar-es-salaam city centre. Zanzibar Ferry terminal is only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. There are lots of shops, restaurants, shopping malls, banks just as you step out of the hotel. The hotel has 75 rooms comprising of :16 singles, 24 standard doubles, 16 deluxe doubles and 16 twin rooms. We also have 3 apartments ( 1x 1 bedroom & 2 x 2 bedrooms). All bedrooms are ensuite and come with air conditioning, cable tv and free internet (Wi-Fi). We have a multi-cuisine restaurant which sits upto 90 people. There is also a Conference centre located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing