We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“well done food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nawabi Khana

Nawabi Khana
Ranked #129 of 293 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nawabi Khana Upscale Indian outletThis up market stylish restaurant sets new standards for Indian dining. Its a sleek,rustic design and authentic food place above the rest in dar es salaam which makes it the number one restaurant in the city.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“well done food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

nice indian restaurant, reception and staff attitude is pleasant.
the waiters know the menu and how to recommend (very rare around here),
you don't take long to wait for the food.

the big sitting hall is bit too spacious and looks empty (apart from the many tables), but sitting is comfortable with nice ambient music.

i would recommend dishes no 21 for starter (Hariyali chicken)
and 50 and 41 for main - Palak paneer and Chicken tikka masala nawabi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am always happy with the food and service at Nawabi Khana. I can recommend it to anyhow who likes Indian food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ETSinTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Dar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nawabi Khana is awesome! There I said it. The location is prime time showtime! (Haile Salase, main road and dozens of bars next door to water down that spicy curry)

The food is absolutely phenomenal and consistent. Butter Chicken, Mutton Roganjosh, Chicken Biryani: Yes THAT good, good enough for you to remember them foreign names.

Why not the 5 star? The waiters of course. This place is not exactly known for customer service. In fact its known for lack of customer...anything! But the waiters here are probably some of the worst I've ever dealt with.

One occasion, my daughter wanted some sauce, so I asked one waiter for this sauce (which is usually there and was on the next table). So she went and never was to be seen again. Fine, next waiter, he looks at me like a hypnotized toad for a good 10 seconds and then goes away. Third waiter, "Madam, please for the mercy of my 10 year old can you please give us this sauce? I beg of THE even THY are being paid". Same thing happens and she vanished. Now the only logical explanation to all this is that there's a massive inter dimension portal between the tables and the kitchen, where these poor waiters are apparently getting sucked in to.

So I finally went to one of the three Indian managers who immediately acted. Ignore the waiters, they don't exist and don't care, order everything with the manager and you'll be doing take out curry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent food, feels like you are in Delhi.. must try Mutton Rogan josh. A bit expensive though, but overall great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhur_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
719 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good Indian meal served in a nice setting, makes a change from the normal Dhaba style food available everywhere. The food is rich so I wouldn't recommend making this your regular Indian fix as there are plenty of places you can pick up a good Indian meal at half the price. Another point to remember is to book as this place gets busy at weekends especially. I would put it on an equal footing to Alcove.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawabi Khana also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Nawabi Khana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing