We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still going strong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nawabi Khana

Nawabi Khana
Ranked #112 of 278 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nawabi Khana Upscale Indian outletThis up market stylish restaurant sets new standards for Indian dining. Its a sleek,rustic design and authentic food place above the rest in dar es salaam which makes it the number one restaurant in the city.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
560 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good Indian meal served in a nice setting, makes a change from the normal Dhaba style food available everywhere. The food is rich so I wouldn't recommend making this your regular Indian fix as there are plenty of places you can pick up a good Indian meal at half the price. Another point to remember is to book as this place gets busy at weekends especially. I would put it on an equal footing to Alcove.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Great Indian for good value. Friendly staff and atmosphere. I love the place and am becoming a regular!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Habada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our favorite indian, make that our favorite restaurant in dar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I always look forward to dinner at Nawabi Khana, it has deserved the many good reviews. It has a nice atmosphere, attentive staff, friendly management, and above all, mouthwateringly delicious food. It is very unique Indian food , and somehow they manage to give each dish its own distinct flavor. Can leave you feeling a bit full, but it's so worth it. Also very reasonably priced. Definitely in my top ten list, no top three, no, top restaurant of all in Dar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gwosmange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Best indian food you can eat in all east Africa with good service....I found it perfect identity of great Indian traditional food with finger leaking taste....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaidhaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“good food, nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

great Indian food, and the place is well decorated and clean. family environment. the kind of place id take my wife to when we have a celebration.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawabi Khana also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Nawabi Khana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing