We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - but can be loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Triniti Guest House
Ranked #32 of 115 Dar es Salaam B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place - but can be loud”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

On the positive side - beautiful garden setting, lovely cottage room, good AC, friendly staff. We asked for, and had, an excellent, friendly, driver to take us around town (Hi Amos!)

On the negative - A very loud band played on a Sunday night. We were told this would happen less frequently in the future, but from other reviews, I think it may still be happening. Plus, they couldn't find our reservation when we arrived, even though I had emailed them to confirm it a week earlier. Then, they didn't want to accept the voucher my safari company provided. But the staff, outside of management, were very nice.

I would stay there again...but I would check the bar the band schedule

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keira4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
17
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I was very pleased with the rooms. Clean and well equipped. Staff helpful and friendly and the overall environment is very pleasant. Breakfast nothing much to speak of, but gets you started. However, the bar can be very noisy. The rooms are located just next to the bar/ entertainment area and if you intend to sleep during the night, you might want to check the event calendar before you book. Loud music can go on until 5 am.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScandinavianKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I highly recommend this peaceful oasis in the middle of hectic Dar es Salaam. The management did a great job with affordable rooms that are clean and equipped with all necessities like A/C, mosquito net and warm water; there is free WiFi and a restaurant with great food; and in the bar there is always an interesting crowd to hang out with. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed, and if you're there, don't forget to enjoy the Friday evening parties with live music!

This is why I've returned to this guest house every time I came back to Dar es Salaam - and many other guests keep returning time after time. Triniti simply is a place that makes you wanna stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_in_dar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

- Good Value for Money
I stayed 3 weeks in Dar Es Salaam in February 2011.
For the same price that Triniti, you can usually only get cheap hotels.
I tried them they are very low standards (and full of disappointed European Tourists), Triniti is not (it is European standards).
- Good Location
Close to nice restaurants and clubs
Close to the beach
10 minutes away from downtown (20 during peak times).
- Good Accommodation
Clean and fairly large rooms. Desk, fridge, TV and AC. Rooms got all you need.
- Nice Tenants
You will always find someone from the Triniti team around to serve you, help you or simply to talk about your day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damien00000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lusaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Love the place, makes you breath and forget all about the day! The way your are being approached when you arrive feels like you are a regular guest. The team will make sure that you will have a good time. No need or time to feel alone, there is always someone to have a cold drink with (or two)! Before you know it the Triniti Team will make you become part of them! Whenever I think of Triniti it is definitely with a BIG smile on my face.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sas2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed for two days (25- 26 Jan), and we are really happy with the quality of our accomodation. The beach is a 5 minutes walk away..or you can ask the askari to arrange a taxi for you.
Room was nice, quiet - the most important thing for me...
- this guesthouse is a very good choice for staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Triniti is one of those places that provide a unique Tanzanian restaurant/bar/guesthouse experience. After checking in, you can have a drink at the compound's restaurant/bar, talk to a documentary producer from New York who is producing a story about the fight against Malaria, a coffee buyer from Kenya who can give you the scoop on the coffee cartel, and diplomats from the Dutch embassy celebrating a party for one of their friends. The food is very good and reasonably priced, with very good portions. (One of the complaints about eating in Dar es Salaam restaurants is that the portions are rather small). I recommend the pork chops, the chicken curry, the fresh fish of the day, and the T Bone steak.

The guesthouse compound is located in Oyster Bay, one of the wealthiest, safest, and most sought after locations in Dar. You can walk or take a $2 taxi ride to some of the best restaurants and bars in the Dar. A ride to the city center (depending on how you negotiate) is about 7,000 Tsh (about $5). The ride to the airport, $25000 Tsh (approx $20).

One of the guests I met, who stayed there often, said that what what he especially likes about the place is its garden setting, with banana trees ripe with fruits and all kinds of plants covering a great portion of the compound. It feels green, he said, and it feels tropical.

There are a handful of rooms in the guesthouse, ranging from $45-$80. Some of the rooms are rather small, and if available, I would recommend the two end rooms with the small kitchen or the wooden lodge.

Breakfast of fresh fruits, eggs, some meat, and coffee/tea/juice is included. This is a great time to get to know your neighbors and catch the morning sun as you enjoy the quiet of the morning.

Overall, I think Triniti is a choice place for a cozy, safe, reasonably priced, and authentic Tanzanian experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
Golden Tulip Dar Es Salaam
#49 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
0.9 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Court
Sea Cliff Court
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peninsula Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Green of Oysterbay
The Green of Oysterbay
#32 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triniti Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triniti Guest House

Property: Triniti Guest House
Address: Msasani Rd 26 | Oysterbay, Dar es Salaam 123456, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Triniti is a little piece of tranquility, centrally located only 10 minutes from Dar es Salaam city centre. They started with only one room and now the compound has grown up to 13 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Triniti Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing