We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Nikko Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tower
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value and comfortable”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed here on two occasions and each time found this to be a friendly, comfortable and conveniently located hotel. It is a city centre hotel so do not expect magnificent views. The restaurant and bars are very good, and the rooms have all the facilities that you expect of a modern hotel, including good wi-fi access. The rooms are not spacious but more than satisfactory for one or two people.

Room Tip: Be friendly and nice to staff and they will reciprocate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidpH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
23
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was hassle free and the staff very friendly and welcoming.

The room was pretty cozy with a double bed, fan, air conditioning, TV, tea and coffee facilities and a safe. The bathroom was fairly large. Both room and bathroom were clean. The water was very hot with loads of pressure which was nice.

We didn't have dinner or breakfast so can not comment on those.

There was wifi available in the room and in the lobby.

The hotel can arrange for airport transfer. We asked for a taxi to get to the Ubongo bus station at 5am and were disappointed that the bell boy negotiated $30 which is a tourist rip off price. After renegotiating we reduced this to 30000 Tsh or $18 which is still too much. A local person would pay a maximum of 25000 Tsh for the same journey.

If you are in Dar for a night or two we would certainly recommend staying here as its good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Licola, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a decent hotel in central Dar es Salaam. Rooms are neat and clean with a small balcony and a safe. Bed is good. Breakfast buffet choice is excellent. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel has an airport shuttle (25 dollar).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent 1 night here on my own. My large room had a nice big bed, cable TV, AC, plenty of hot water, a nice bathroom, a large balcony, a kettle and complementary powdered coffee. The hotel staff was friendly. I had booked on hotels.com and no trouble with the booking or the visa pre-pay. The restaurant is OK, pretty standard for East Africa 'fancy'. The breakfast was good, I thought, with fresh fruit and french toast with syrup. This hotel is a short walk from the ferry to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: This is on a busy street so maybe the higher up the room the less traffic noise, but I was honestly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent one night here on a stopover in Dar. Good value ,our room was quite satisfactory with working a/c and a fan and a good shower. Ate in the dining room which was pleasant , the staff attentive and the food good too.Didnt have breakfast as had to leave early

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is worth it's price in a city full of expensive hotels. I'm not crazy about the bed, it's way too soft, but I like that its located in this community of apartments and that it has a balcony that I can sit on, dry a few clothes and do some serious people watching. It's not a stuffy place, the bathroom is clean as well as the room. The television is a bit corrupted, the floors are tiled, the breakfast boring but dinner decent. It is located in the older part of dar es salaam. It's basic and affordable and I feel like I've rented an apartment for five days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvkstchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

First thing I will say is, don't confuse this with the Japanese Nikko hotel group. Second I will say is that the pictures on the website, although not untrue are taking at the most flattering angles possible.

The rooms are small, the beds are not the most comfortable, the view from my room was another window about 5 feet away.

Having said that, it is not very expensive and it is clean so if you want a cheap and pretty basic hotel then you could do worse.

The location is the saving grace for the hotel, it is very close to one of the financial centers (and about 5 mins away from the Serena Hotel)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rand0m_Th0ughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#34 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#27 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tower

Property: Hotel Nikko Tower
Address: Plot # 1485 / 148, Aggrey / Jamhuri Street, Dar es Salaam 6732, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Tower is one of the finest hotels in Tanzania. We are based in the heart of the city centre on Aggrey/Jamuhri Street in Dar-es-Salaam, which is just 20 minutes away from the Airport and approximately 3 minutes away from the Sea port/ferry terminal for Zanzibar - the Spice Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing