We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
$293
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
$148
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$224
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$108
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
310
396
124
53
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
396
124
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treeoysterscape town fish marketpool areamain buildingbusiness tripgreat poolenjoyed my stayrooms are spacioussea viewbreakfast buffetcomfortable stayindian oceanslipwaytanzaniadargym
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 911 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was far from town but really enjoyed my stay and hope the trafic distance will be look at but I reall love the food and the pool and hope I visit again anf again .staff have good smile and very helpful keep it up

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adolf t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Oyster Bay and Peninsula region are strongly expatriate/embassy region. Trip into town is by car or taxi - buses and three wheelers are not recommended to town.
The DoubleTree is literally next to the Slipway complex, which means that non-business day activity has many very easy and safe options (which I could not often take, working continuously for business!).
Power outages are quickly restored by site generator, but can take out the WiFi server and require reset and fresh login. Some internet trouble both on site and across the city during my trip. A plug-in internet dongle provided backup and was cheap (from communications shop in Slipway).
Gemini, the on-site car company, is quite good and reputable. (And require negotiation for best rates!)
On-site jeweller is capable and has some very well locally cut stone; not only (precious) Tanzanite but also some fine semi-precious stones.
Drainage is a bit underpowered but any fix is quick - service is aware there can be a problem and responds quickly.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms in the main building are on the Bay side; level 4 or 5 look out over the lower suites building.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel in real need of some investment both money and time. Hotel restaurant is pretty poor and service could be improved. Your bathroom will flood every time you have a shower. Front gate security is laughable - they will look all around the outside of your vehicle but never inside! Try to find somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank DTW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations and apologize for the any inconvenience we caused you, we will certainly review some of procedures to improve our service, we hope to see you again, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've been here a few times already and I still haven't seen the hype...yet...i suppose....

The service was quite slow even though there were not that many people...the food wasn't so bad,,,I loved the tea though...

I love that it sits right by the ocean so the views are great...but they need to pick up on the service part of it...not that its bad, just not have customers sit for a long time before being helped and the drinks take equally long,,,food i would understand but drinks...not really...

Other than that...not a bad little joint to hang out after a hard day...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proudmama35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are delighted that, overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel two years ago and something was stolen from my room. I haven't stayed their since but decided to try it again. I was equally disappointed with the service. They didn't have internet for three days and were not too concerned with resolving the problem for their business guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton -Oyster Bay, your comments are a valuable part of our commitment to continually review and improve our services. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation and apologize for the lack of internet service, this was caused by a cable that had been cut on the peninsula, which caused large areas of the city to be without Internet for two days, when it was resolved it was slow, and intermittent, but sadly out of our control. We are also sorry to hear that something was stolen from your room two years ago, since I arrived as General manager in November last year I can assure we have not faced any similar incidents. we do hope you will try us again at some time and look forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews