We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You For Awesome Services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very good hotel overall, very friendly staff, all staff in the reception, room services, housekeeping...etc are presenting very good service and taking care for all guests in the hotel.
I met 2 of crew Okelo Musa & Vanessa Mushi and they are very good, do their services for the guests in time with gently smile which give the guest how he is feeling comfortable.

Finally, I would say that all Double hotel’s teams including the management are excellent

Thank
Ali H

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. and will ensure the employees you have mentioned are nominated in our Employee of the month program. It was a pleasure to host you, and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tanzania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 900 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

very friendly staff for sure. Clean rooms and big. The hotel owners should invest in the OUTSIDE ENTRANCE and maybe outside on the road leading to the hotel,keeping the standard of such a hotel. Take the example of Kilimanjaro Regency Hotel's parking area. A beach access on the side would be good too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mohamed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton, we appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at our hotel. Your comments are a valuable part of our ongoing commitment to improve quality and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider your recommendations for the out side areas of the hotel, and thank you for your ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Following an accident to my foot incurred at the beach on Mafia Island our travel insurance organised for us to stay here whilst I received medical attention at a nearby clinic. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Food, whether room service, restaurant, pool bar or Piano lounge was consistently very good. The grounds were lovely and as I was confined to the hotel the swimming pool area was a godsend. What really made this place special, however, were the staff who were, without exception, extremely thoughtful and attentive. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaC936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

It was a pleasure to host you at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you arrived home safely, and hope that you are now fully recovered. Although your stay was not planned, we are delighted that your enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you may come back to Tanzania again in the future and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel staff was great. They were very attentive and referred to me by name. Khadijah and Caroline, at the front desk, were always helpful and always smiling. The concierge, Klare, was willing to assist on any and every issue. She provided directions to the US Embassy and insisted I take her personal cell phone number in the event I got lost. Ramadhani Lyimo, the bellboy, is a ray of sunshine. No matter where I was when he saw me he wanted to know if there was something I needed. Dhruv, the IT manager, was very helpful. My computer crashed while in Tanzania and Dhruv was very helpful in getting my computer back operational.

The security of the hotelwas good. The security staff made sure the entire property was secured from the parking lot to the waterfront. The spa was GREAT!! I received the most amazing facial.

The Marimba Restaurant is very good. Salama and Rose met me with a smile every morning. I really enjoyed the fresh fruits, fresh juices, and homemade breads. I really enjoyed my stay and the staff made me feel like family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, we appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay at our hotel, and delighted that overall your enjoyed your time with us. we will ensure that the employees you have named are recognized in our employee of the month program, and be assured that we all look forward to welcome you back to your "home away from home" here in Dar es Salaam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Rooms are spacious and the pool area is very nice. On the Ocean--nice views! Recommend even numbered floors on teh 5th floor for the best views. Okelo Musa provided excellent service in the restaurant--ask for him!

Room Tip: Stay on 5th floor, even numbered rooms for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay. We appreciate your time to complete our on line guest satisfaction survey which, is a valuable part of our commitment to improve the quality of the services we provide.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and will ensure Okelo is nominated in our Employee of the month program.

In the mean time we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had a great experience at the Doubletree. The rooms were nice. The staff was warm. And the breakfasts were wonderful. The gym was standard for a hotel: a few cardio machines and some small weights. If that doesn't cut it for you, the hotel is only a block from a local gym and a five to ten minute run to a very nice, modern gym (Colosseum). There are also several scenic running routes in/around the area. I will certainly be staying there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay. We appreciate your time to complete our on line guest satisfaction survey which, is a valuable part of our commitment to improve the quality of the services we provide. We noted your comment regarding the fitness center and we are in the process of upgrading our Fitness Centre equipment and am sure it will meet the needs of our guests in the near future.
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. I would stay for pleasure though, no doubt.

Rooms were comfortable, food was really good and the bar was pretty good too.

The only comment I would make is that there were "ladies of the night" who frequent the hotel, seemingly undisturbed. Would be good to get them out but they are easily avoided.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joncooper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Oyster Bay, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments regarding 'ladies of the night' and will increase our efforts to discourage them.
In the mean time we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#5 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
537 reviews
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#15 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $147 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing