We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled anniversary thanks to Double tree dar es salaam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
“Spoiled anniversary thanks to Double tree dar es salaam”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I hate giving negative reviews, especially about places that are so dear to me like Hilton. While I don't mind overlooking some small glitches like the lack of basic housekeeping essentials like turndown and wet slippery bathroom floor, which was actually very dangerous owing that my wife is six pregnant, I can't stand the hotel's dishonest and misinformation that they use to make some extra cash from their customers. It all started when I realized that they have some Christmas deals running from Dec 25th to Dec 31st that prompted me to convince my wife to celebrate our anniversary a week early than the due date so that we can use this offer. Because the deal seemed too good to be true, I decided to drop in and verify as well as book in person. The deal included room, breakfast and lunch for a lower rate than the normal rates, which I also verified during our check in. We really enjoyed our stay and we tried to make every moment count. Most of the services were up to the Hilton standards. Our only nightmare came on our check out when the bill came out and all lunches were included. At first we thought it was an oversight but it became clear that it was not when they admitted that they had misinformed us about the inclusion of lunch and that they were sorry but we must pay. What is even worse is that they had confirmed to us that lunch is included in the deal prior to our check in through three different people: reservation, check in and at the restaurant. Anyways, because we didn't want to ruin our morning we decided that we would pay but we would first like to talk to the manager on duty to express our disappointment. To our shock we were told that all the managers were on holiday and there was nobody in charge. Since I didn't want to raise my voice like one of the customers that was at the desk complaining about something else I decided to pay and leave feeling defeated and cheated. I don't know what will convince me to go back to double tree or even recommend anybody to go there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyamax6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Kenyamanyara
Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hitlon Oyster Bay for your anniversary, and that overall you enjoyed your time with us. We are disappointed that your stay was spoiled at the last moment by a mis-understanding on your room rate. I was also surprised that you stated that there was no manager was on duty, which was incorrect as according to my information, you did see Mr. Jason our On Duty Manager, and he did authorize a refund 127,000 Tsh to your account prior to your departure, which I can see was posted to your account.
Please be assured that we do appreciate your comments, and hope that you will come and stay with us again on your next visit to Dar es Salaam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    368
    119
    49
    25
See reviews for
49
96
55
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was the 2nd time we organised an international workshop at the Double Tree. The staff in this hotel is very helpful and friendly, the front office manager in particular was highly efficient. Food was good, the workshop amneities fine and the experience on the whole was pleasant.
The hotel does need prating, something that will happen soon, I was tld by the new management team. Rooms are large, but the bathrooms really need updating. As I am temporarily disabled I was acutely aware that the hotel is not really "accessible" although staff helped me find special passages to access the pool and the garden.

Room Tip: The garden rooms and generally the rooms with seaview are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nossim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to host your recent conference at our hotel, and delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, we did discuss some of the challenges you faced with access to various parts of the hotel and we will be looking at these issues in the year ahead. We also have plans to update some of the bathrooms during the first quarter of 2014, as part on an ongoing commitment to improve the facilities we offer to our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Dar es Salaam, and in the mean time with you a very Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stay here regularly for business and am always made to feel very welcome. In particular OIcelo Musa Machipa who woks at the coffee shop always helpful and smiley. I will be back again and always look fwd to it.

Room Tip: If you want wifi chose one in the main building not by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton, We are constantly striving to improve our guest experiences in all areas of the hotel and value the contribution made by our regular guests.We wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back to Doubletree by Hilton in 2014.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree in Oyster Bay, Dar es Salaam for 3 days. The hotel is located a little off the beaten track with a taxi ride costing $20 each way for those traveling to the downtown area.

The views of the bay are spectacular and the hotel is located next to Slipway a small shopping complex. A “nice to have” would be direct walk-way access to Slipway so you don’t have to walk along the road in the dark. Ask for even numbered rooms so you have a nice view of the bay.

I was upgraded to a great room and check-in was quick, efficient and friendly.

While the room I stayed in was fantastic (5th floor), the nightly noise generated by the Ballroom (6th floor) cleaning crews was very disturbing and went past midnight on more than one occasion.

Unfortunately, the hotel does not seem to have a separate Executive lounge as described on the web site.

The built-in power outlets are all 15A UK plugs, so bring your international adaptors with you. Internet speed and quality were very inconsistent, sometimes slowing to unusable speeds. There are 14 TV channels, but the choice of programs is essentially limited to news, sports and a smattering of other channels. I would have expected more movie channels since there is limited entertainment in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

Breakfast as okay, although I thought there would be more variety in what was available. Service was consistently good.

All in all a pleasant stay and good value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Double Tree by Hilton Dar es Salaam, we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments form a valuable contribution to our ongoing commitment to improving guest experiences, and service at the hotel and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit to Dar es Salaam
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
263 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I checked in three times this week and every time it was good with no issues at all.

The rooms are ok eventhough deteriorating with clear marks of heavy usage. Nevertheless the beds are comfortable.

Only thing that I found a bit annyoing was the music in the hallways which was meant to be a background music i suppose but it was so loud that i woke up from it at night time...

Breakfast is great! However, be prepared to change shirts after you are finished because you'll smell like a cook. Something is not right with the air extraction system and the smell from the cooking station goes through the entire restaurant...

All in all a good business hotel with free internet access and great coffe in the lobby bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton, we are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We have noted your comments and thank you, for bringing them to our attention, we are continually aiming to enhance our guest experience and your contribution is a valuable element in that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location on the shore of the Oysterbay……The Patio on the Ocean takes you all the way in the Ocean..the Swimming pool is very relaxing bordering the Bay and getting all the breeze of the Ocean…..Great space in the Hotel….Great space in the rooms…A very modern hotel with a Swahili taste of comfort, warmth and friendship….Ask Otelo Musa, the Barman with a great smile, at the Piano Piano Bar…Ask for A Smoothy with Yoghurt and a mix of Passion and Mango Fruits…Just relax..get cool…get on your Business Piano Piano…Pole Pole….and you will be surprised how much you can get done while staying at the Double Tree Hotel in Oysterbay, and while, at the same time…getting all the vibes of the Holidays tunes by the Indian Ocean..in the Harbour of Peace…(the Dar of Salaam)
Let Otela Musa be your Buttler if you wish….and the Double Tree Hotel, like a Pearl on the Oysterbay, will be charming you and inspiring you...

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a View on the Bay….You will get the sunshine, the sunset….and the charm of the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgbl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Doubletree by Hilton, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Your feedback and comments are an essential part of our quality assurance. I will also ensure Otelo Musa is nominated in our employee recognition program.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The DoubleTree hotel has very good location and may be inerested for people comming to Dar es Sallam for business. The area is quiet and not far away from the city center. Its also good to meet friends and business people in a democratic Lobby bar. Okelo Musa Barista is always offer you good choice of drinks and cakes. Friendly atmosphere makes your stay in a bar longer then you planned to do. I have office and accomodation in Dar es Sallam, but visit Doubletree very often.
Thank you those guys for geat hospitality. I enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yury C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank your for choosing Doubletree by Hilton, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments are an essential part of of our quality assurance program and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. we look forwar to your continued support

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing