We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive hotel -no value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“expensive hotel -no value for money”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was smelling from smoke eventhough i was told that it's a nom smoking room. The breakfast was poor ,the vegetables and the fruits didn't look fresh ,on the tables there was always something missing (sugar or teespoons ,serviets ). The housekeeping took the used towels without replacing them with new ones. I will definitly NEVER come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ilana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I sincerely apologise for the unfortunate experience you had on your recent stay at the Dar es Salaam property.
Room 107 is definitely not a smoking room as the entire block is non - smoking. I have requested our housekeeping department to investigate this immediately as I suspect that the previous guest may have smoked in the room. However this no excuse and we take this in a very serious light.

I have addressed your concerns regarding the breakfast with the Executive Chef and the towel issues with the Housekeeping Manager. This is definitely not our standard of service and I apologies once again. We will address these problems with immediate effect and I hope that we will be able to invite you again as our guest with a complimentary first night stay to give us the opportunity to make up for your unpleasant experience and to show that we can do it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    364
    118
    49
    25
See reviews for
49
96
55
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very spacious room with large kingsize bed, two desks and a balcony. Was ideal as office, while in Dar. WiFi working well in the room and the lobby area. A/C worked very well throughout. Staff was very friendly and professional. Excellent coffe and cake corner. Breakfast buffet was good. The best place to sit was the large terrasse overseeing the bay. A good selection of bars and restaurants is a three minutes walk around th corner at the slipway. Will be pleased to come back any time I am in Dar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thgrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. The Team appreciate the feedback as they continuously strive to give all our guests the best possible experience. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Dar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed two times in this hotel and in terms of price/value it is a very poor deal in Dar. There are various other hotels out there in Dar which are of better choice. The rooms seem to be very run down and maintenance does seem only to a minor extent. Air con makes noise like a truck is running in your room, the smell in some rooms is terrible and our cloth stank like we just came out of a pub/bar where some heavy smoking was going on.

The place was recently shut down by authorities due to "environmental issues" (sewage went right into the sea).

I would not recommend this hotel. The hotel does not deserve the name Hilton!

Room Tip: sea view rooms offer nice view on bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I have reviewed your comment, and appreciate your feedback. However I would like to point out that when requesting a smoking room, there will be always be a smell of cigarette smoke in the room. Our rooms are 42sq metres in size and are well appointed, as noted by many of our guests. I do apologise if your air conditioning was noisy, but we are continuously servicing all units throughout the hotel on a regular basis. We would have gladly changed your room if we had been made aware of this prolem. The "place" was reviewed by the Environmental authorities and we were requested to change the waste removal facilities, as were many other hotels and industries in Dar es Salaam, due to the inadequate waste facilities provided by the city. We complied immediately and business trading proceeded as normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

my husband (then fiancé) and i checked in for the new year holiday. the staff are polite and the hotel is so damn breathtaking. the rooms are spacious and clean. it was our 2nd stay and we enjoyed the first time and 2nd time was even better. on new years eve at midnight we were enjoying the fireworks and the ushering new year celebration on the bay above the ocean, when my now hubby got on his knee and proposed. wonderful surprise.
we did not like the breakfast though, selection is not wide and the restaurant staff are kinda unresponsive. cookies at check in are a good touch.
did we enjoy our stay YES. will we be back again? definitely!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tabz04
Thank you for your feedback. The ideal engagement with all the fireworks etc and then the proposal. We are glad you and your fiancé chose our hotel for this big occasion. We have greatly improved our breakfast selection and we are sure you will have a much improved breakfast on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree Hilton Dar Essalam for one night in early March, was happy at the time of booking, that i managed to get a room at all since there was a conference going on at the time. Sorely disappointed. Room was not ready despite the fact that we arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon..so went for lunch at the restaurant serving a buffet. I could not get over the lack of choices at the buffet, there was hardly anything in the salad bar and the main entrees were few and pathetic. The only good thing on arrival was the warm cookie Hilton dishes out. On top of it the receptionist was sulky and in a bad mood. Though the room wasn't bad, i had to get the sea view as it was a last minute booking, the AC was too cold and noisy, so spent most of the time either freezing and suffering the din or baking..the housekeeping staff perpetually in the corridors was noisy and shutting other doors loudly and talking among themselves at the top of their voices..
the shower leaked, could not even bother to leave a complaint downstairs...
location is great, oyster Bay has nice restaurants and the local handicrafts market where i managed to pick gifts etc for relatives...
ordered breakfast for room service and kept asking myself why i wasted so much money in this hotel whose service and quality of food were far worse than the worst two star hotels these days or so i imagine. First they took an hour and a half for one continental breakfast,then they sent the wrong order, sent a breakfast tray with no plates, salt and pepper, nor butter, coffee cups were sent without saucers, a nightmare, packages orange juice, awful coffee, hard bread that seemed a week old..was disgusted.
Just packed up and left for the airport..
would i stay again? never.
Hilton should do something about their franchise hotel chains.. i had seriously thought it was a hilton and how bad could it be! well, even the big reputable chains do surprise!

Room Tip: Please eat outside nearby a 5 minute walk if you must stay here, food is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faryal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
The Management wishes to apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. With a large conference in - house the lunch buffet for conferencing guests had been completely finished by 2:45pm. The a la' carte menu is available for guests not involved with the conference, and this should have been presented to you. I fully understand that this was frustrating and we have addressed all your subsequent points with the HOD's and corrective measures will be followed through. Once again our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The double tree is a very nice hotel -- clean, friendly helpful staff, next door to the Slipway market. I stayed here for business, so didn't know what to expect. Not sure I would have paid if my agency hadn't been footing the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jaki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Awful experience with the worst service I've received anywhere - unresponsive check-in and even worse check-out. Meals are average but made worse by the service. The only thing going for this hotel is the location which is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judd L, Regional Director: Operations at DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your valued response. On behalf of the hotel please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in terms of the service experience. It is not the accepted norm of the hotel as we constantly strive to meet all guest expectations, and unfortunately we have not succeeded on this occasion. We will however address this immediately, and I hope that when you return to Dar es Salaam, you will afford us the opportunity to show that we can exceed you expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slipway
Hotel Slipway
#13 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.2 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Address: Slipway Road Msasani Peninsular, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlights •Located 4.3 Miles from the City Center •Oceanfront property with bay views •Swimming pool and jetty •Three onsite restaurants •5 Meeting Rooms .What to do around here Select the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Dar es Salaam and be close to shops, restaurants and boating. Our hotel offers beautiful bay views and tropical, lush gardens. Enjoy staying in the most affluent area of Dar es Salaam when choosing our hotel. We are within walking distance of restaurants, shops and clubs. Spend a day on the beach. Go snorkeling, fishing and diving. Tee off at the Gymkhana Golf Course, only three miles away from the hotel. Take a 20-minute flight to Mikumi Wildlife Reserve. Visit the Dar es Salaam Yacht Club and go sailing. Visit the Slipway Arts and Crafts Center only two minutes away from the hotel. This popular recreation area offers bookshops, open-air restaurants and pubs. Be sure to visit the Village Museum, Sea Cliff Village and Shoppers Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Dar Es Salaam-Oysterbay Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing