We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it says”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transit Motel Airport
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is what it says”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were looking for a place near the airport where we could lay down for a few hours while waiting for an early morning flight. This place fitted the bill and it would be unfair to review it in any other way. We were mildly concerned when our taxi turned off a main road onto a wet track but the hotel appeared soon after. It was secure, the room was okay, the toilet flushed and the hot water flowed. For $40, we couldn't ask for much more. Our only minor gripe is that our evening meal took a bit long even by African standards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    50
    78
    37
    17
See reviews for
20
72
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had an early morning flight leaving Dar for JoBerg and just didn't want to put up with the long ride from one of the nice hotels downtown to the airport and waste another hour of sleep. So, we booked this place and crossed our fingers.

It's essentially across the street and down a long block of "real Africa" from the airport. So the taxi is like 5 minutes. There is a market across the street if you need to pick up some fruit or veggies or a bucket.

The hotel has a small restaurant. We waited over two hours from the time we ordered dinner to when we were served our food. It was the worst service in a nation that doesn't really get customer service. I think the proper technique is to go to the restaurant as soon as you get to the hotel. Ask what is easy and quick for them to prepare. Then make your order and tell them when you will be back to eat. They should have it ready for you. (This works in other places in East Africa.)

The bed was fine. Good mossi nets. The air conditioning worked. Price was right. I wouldn't stay more than one night here, but I've stayed in much much worse!

Room Tip: Ask for two sheets - you'll probably have to make your own bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Transit Motel is the only hotel anywhere near the Dar International AIrport, so if you get in really late or fly out early, this is the place to stay - a taxi will cost 5,000 TSH with very little haggling -- I'm sure you can get it cheaper but this is about US$3.50 so its hardly worth the hassle when you've just got off a flight. Between 15000 -25000 TSH to Ubungo bus station spending on your haggling skills. It costs 30 dollars for a single and 40 dollars total for a double (2 people) and includes breakfast (or so they say)... I left at 6am and they told me that it was too early to get breakfast.

If you've spent time in Africa, it won't be a problem, but if this is your first time to africa and you've just got off the plane, the neighborhood may be a bit shocking to those people who have never experienced a true african neighborhood - may be a bit intimidating. The compound that the hotel is on is very secure though, and open 24 hours so it doesn't matter what time you arrive.

Rooms were adequate, had a mosquito net but doesn't reach all the way down around the entire bed so kind of pointless. Rooms have private bathrooms with sink, toilet, and a shower head on the bathroom floor - very weak shower but nice to have a few minutes of running/ hot water after months of living in rural areas of Tanzania.

Cheap, close to airport, quiet. Works just fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandi, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property. I hope it will help future travelers to this part of the world to make a good decision.

We have also noted your concern about our breakfast and mosquito nets. We have add some food variaties in our breakfast buffet and change mosquito nets that were few inces short.

Thank you again Stephanie and welcome again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

What I liked: a supervisor with the name of Rachel,she was so friendly and you would ask anything she will not waste time and gud communication skills always smilling and kin to helpand they forgot tht we were coming but I made we had a probleom with their language.What agoI did not like:They did not fetch us at the airport as it was arranged few months in /s/ as promised.a

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Owner,manager,receptionist cannot communicate with English which is a communicaion languge I do not want to talk about breakfast and their bar ladies that cannot speak with clients and unfriendly.Their standard is so low with no resoursesat all.em

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandi, General Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
I would like to thank you, Lizozo, for taking your time writing this review. You may had some bad experience while staying with us and we are sorry for that.

BUT all our senior staff are fluent in English and YOU DID NOT MEET THE OWNER!
Please be honest when writing the reviews because we, in the our hotel, took them seriously

Again thank you for your review

roland shayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Certainly very convenient (5 minute taxi ride) for the airport (domestic and international terminals). No power ... and no generator, either ... so the rooms become stifling. Staff were not terribly friendly or efficient.

Rooms were clean, but no water was available for showering or flushing toilets at the time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonorafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Transit Motel Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Sonorafari,

Thank you for taking your time reviewing our hotel. We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience caused by power shortage.
We are currently experiencing power rationing in Tanzania.We are told that the problem will end by the end of March. There are signs that it will end sooner cause now we have power cuts for about 6hrs only during day time. No power cuts during the night

Being a small budget hotel, we can not afford to run a generator for up to 18hrs a day!

Please pay us a visit next time you're in Dar Es Salaam and you won't be disappointed again

Kind regards

Roland Shayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We needed a place to stay for one night. Our flight was at 7:00 a.m. next morning. I choose the Transit Motel Airport because it's site says it is within walking distance of the airport.

This is not entirely correct. We drove several blocks into a questionable neighborhood, passing street vendors on a muddy, unpaved, road. The cab deposited us at the motel which has a large fence that is locked at night.

Transit advised us to provide our arrival time and they would arrange for someone to meet us at the airport and transfer us for US $5.00. I did this and reconfirmed several days before leaving Los Angeles. No one met us at the airport and we had to arrange for a cab to take us.

The motel was better than anticipated. Their restaurant was closed by the time we arrived (after 7:30 pm) and it was too dangerous to walk anyplace. Fortunately we had planned for just such an occasion. Purchasing waters and beers at the bar (of sorts), we settled in one of our rooms for dinner of tuna, crackers, and fruit we had brought.

The linen seemed decently cleaned. The a/c worked well, as did the ceiling fans and mosquito netting.

The staff was friendly, helpful and didn't mind the several requests by us. They seemed to take it in stride.

The next morning the desk clerk called for a cab which arrived within five minutes and we were back at the Int'l airport in another five minutes.

What I liked: Not too far from the airport. Adequate for a shower and a quick trip to and from the airport, allowing you to sleep a little longer in the morning.

What I didn't like: No soap provided in bathroom. It appeared as though someone used MY room as a day room and housecleaning just gave it a light perusal and decided it was clean enough. My sister-in-law's bathroom was cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Colosseum Hotel
6.2 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
651 reviews
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
Tansoma Business Hotel
#65 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
6.2 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
Tiffany Diamond Hotel
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
81 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Motel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Motel Airport

Property: Transit Motel Airport
Address: 4 Block D Karakata Rd, Off J Nyerere Airport | P O Box 18083, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Transit Motel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Motel Airport is located near Dar Es Salaam's J Nyerere Airport providing clean and affordable no frills accommodation. The Motel is ideal place for travelers arriving late during the night or those departing very early in the morning. We provide airport transfers to our guests upon request. Check-in can be done any time (yes! 24/7) And late check out can be arranged. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is available even for early departed guests. Free WiFi available to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Transit Motel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Motel Airport Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing