We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COULD BE BETTER” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bandari Grill

Bandari Grill
Ranked #72 of 299 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“COULD BE BETTER”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was there last night, entertaining friends from overseas.
Were welcomed warmly and led to a non smoking table for dinner.

Asked for the chef and Chef Azaam Qureshi presented himself and took our order, for a vegetarian meal.
The tandoori appetiser, Vegetable Seekh Kebab was excellent. However, the platter was presented without a serving spoon, and no teaspoons for the accompanying sauces .

The main courses, aloo palak, kadai paneer ,dal makhani and jeera rice were pretty average.
No serving spoons given. When we requested for the same, we were given soup spoons.

The breads from the tandoor, the garlic naan, and the roti were a delight. the garlic naan was soft and fluffy, and the rotis was cooked to perfection.

Our waiter, Charles, was more interested in looking out of the entrance glass door than attending to us. A repeat order for a beer took more than 10 minutes to reach us, even though the restaurant was empty.

After dinner, we waited and waited for the finger bowls to arrive.

The manager, a man dressed in a black suit, kept walking up and down, but not once did he stop at our table and neither did he ask us if everything was ok.

By the same token, a few months ago, I had the pleasure of having their Indian buffet for dinner on a Saturday night, and the food and service at that time was impeccable.

The food and beverage manager needs to pull up his/her socks in staff training and anticipating guest needs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khush79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I love the Mutton Biriyaani here. Amazing taste. You won't get such a great biriyani elsewhere in Dar es Salaam. The buffet is also simply great!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Indian in TZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

rather decent Indian food. 5 of us shared dishes and enjoyed our meal. wine list was 25% off so made for reasonable prices and entrees not that expensive. a safe choice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steveuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst Steak Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I will begin with a disclaimer that may explain my bias. Wherever I go, I always order a well done pepper steak because it’s my favourite meal. On my last evening at the New Africa Hotel, I decided to go down to the Bandari Grill located on the 1st floor and ordered what else but a well done pepper steak. I guess the chef didn’t get the message because what was served to me after waiting 30 minutes was a steak still dripping with blood (sounds like a scene from a horror movie). After sending the steak back to the kitchen, they managed to char the outside but left the inside still rare. At this point I was convinced that the Chef must be a vampire and decided to eat only the cooked part of the steak which I found to be hard and the pepper sauce didn’t quite do it for me. Thus this qualifies as the worst steak that I’ve ever been served anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Namukulo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Briyani in Dar....................................................................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I can't forget the taste of briyani at bandari grill. Amazing lunch buffet. and dinner. Harbour view and church near by to have a wonderfull evenings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RameshSelvaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandari Grill also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Bandari Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing