We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bedroom Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Starlight Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
77
182
169
57
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
182
169
57
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed at holiday innrooftop restaurantfirst floorbreakfast buffetbusiness centerinnschristopherdarafricagymzanzibarcomputerstrafficindianconferenceferry
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 515 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed her for one night before travelling home after a safari holiday followed by beach holiday in Zanzibar. Travelled back from Zanzibar by boat and this hotel was 5 minutes away by taxi from the port. Hotel was very good and room very comfortable. Lovely roof top bar with views over Dar es Salaam. Excellent restaurant with lovely curries.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyann40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2010

Thank you so much for your comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us,we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future

many thanks

Regards

Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Our overnight stay was comfortable and would stay there again, should the opportunity present itself.
The staff are friendly, the rooftop bar had a pleasant atmosphere and the room was comfortable.
Our only problem was a minor one - the blue light on the TV in the room is rather overpowering.
Otherwise, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottoc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2010

Thank you so much for your postitive feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es
Salaam City Centre

Kindest Regards

Peggy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

On the whole we had a good experience at Holiday Inn. Firstly I would say the hotel is located in a quiet and welcoming environment, which I found very conducive for a business meeting. Secondly, checking in was something that I was particularly happy about. I was impressed by the front office staff, notably Christopher and Zawadi who were pretty much helpful, ever smiling and made me feel like I was home. The food in the hotel was so delicious, and I can vividly remember the roof top restaurant with an ocean view, nice spacious rooms and quite friendly restaurant staff. Overall, I would want to encourage them to keep the good standards, or even surpass the already appreciated standards.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quidex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel, we are very pleased that you
enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on your compliments to all the team and in particular Christopher and Zawadi and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.

many thanks

Regards

Peggy&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is an oasis of calm in Dar with very helpful check-in staff. However, when coming to settle up for a meal charged to my room, it turned out that a menu costed in Tanzania shillings was turned into US dollars and then as I wanted to pay in shillings, turned back into those, with a consequent increase of 25%! Not a lot of money in my case, but I felt ripped-off for the first time of travelling around Africa. The excuse was that there was a sign saying this would be done that was displayed on the cashier's window, but as this is only visible when you check-out, not much use.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveller1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Holdiay Inn, I woulod like to
apologise for the delayed reply, We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and were happy with
the check-in experience, with regards to the difference in the exchange rate we do have signs posted in all our outlets and not just at the cashiers desk, I apologise for the confusion and will also
now ensure that all our outlets relays this to our guest also.

Many thanks

Kindest Regards

Peggy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn, and I loved it!
I was a bit worried about check in becasue my Visa card had been stolen and I had to get help from my family in Sweden to book a room while waiting for a new card. The staff was so nice and helpfull and it almost felt like they had been waiting for me. The reception staff laught and told me that my father had emailed them several time :) The rooms ar spotless clean and the bed and pillovs are lovely. I ordered room service and the food was very good! Breakfast buffet as a lot to choose from and the dining area is very relaxed. I can really recommend this hotel one of the best I ever stayed at! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

We are delighted that you took the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and our hospitality.

We look to use such comments to motivate our staff. It helps us to set a standard for the whole hotel.

Once again, thank you and we await your return.

Many thanks

Regards


Peggy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews