We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our final night of our honeymoon before flying back home early the next morning.
The hotel did exactly what you'd expect of a Holiday Inn. Good room, efficient service when we requested extra towels and room service.
A bit of confusion on check-in but this was because of communication between the tour operator and the hotel, but was soon resolved.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Thank you for your vital feedback. My team and I were elated to read your comments and to know you had a memorable stay with us. Constructive feedback not only helps us to enhance employee morale but also assists us to continue deliver superior product & services. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our hotel.

Peggy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    170
    161
    51
    28
See reviews for
44
79
39
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Very new Hotel in the real center of the city. Quality of the food is good. After a long day/week/month on african roads this is a place to feel safe and clean again.
Easy to reach the airport, ferry, bus or whatever your preferred method of transportation may be. The Internet is a bit expensive and so is food and drinks but then all rooms have A/C and it sometimes is hard to provide all little things we people who are not grown up in Africa are so used to.
The xchange rate in the Hotel is typical Tanzania style. Watch out they have different rates depending on the $ bill you show to them, Old $ , New $ 10,20,50 or 100 does give you a different exchange rate. To get the best rate show a NEW Franklin or Grant and get to the YMCA across the street.
Teh breakfast also has a good variety of things to start the day. Al Jazeera and CNN keep you informed while coffe and Omlett is served.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tomcrypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
The Management and staff would like to thank you for your great review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks

Peggy & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

I have used this hotel on numerous visits and I find it so convenient. The staff are delightful, it boasts comfortable rooms, a good restaurant especially if you like to eat outside and the bar is a good meeting point. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, it truly great value and a home from home.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
In this constant busy era, we sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review.
We have noted your comments and we will work on them.
Hopefully we see you soon again.
Regards,
Ian & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Although the receptionist was slightly on the unhelpful side and they'd failed to inform us that there had been a problem with taking payment, the hotel made you feel very welcome on arrival - lots of help with luggage, cold towels and a cold drink etc.

The hotel seems to be well sound proofed, the beds are comfortable, the air con is a welcome relief from the oppressive Dar heat and the power shower was divine. The standard rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bottles of water are a nice addition.

The value for money was good at the $99.00 advance rate we paid but I think the usual rate of $149.00 is quite expensive for a standard room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahWHannahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel, As we strive to continually improve our services and standards, it's important that we get feedback from our guest and we appreciate your positive comments, so a big thank you from staff and management at the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We overnighted at the Holiday Inn on arrival and again on departure, with a visit to Zanzibar in the middle. The hotel is new, with no time for anything to deteriorate yet. Restaurant offers good buffet breakfasts; we did not try other meals. The suitability of the location depends on what you need to do in Dar. It's close to the city center, if you need access to government or business ofices. ATM machine is a block away, in a bank building. The hotel can arrange airport pick-up and delivery if you request in advance, a useful service to minimize airport hassle.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out to complete a review and for your comments about our hotel. It's your views and opinions that allow us to continually monitor and improve our services.
We are please that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming back in the future

Many thanks

Peggy Sibblad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Sevice was helpful at all times
Rooms were good with the exception of the Bathroom/Toilet which management are aware needs attention re drainage
Location is excellent for those who want to be in the City Centre
We had two rooms for six nights (14th to 20th Dec)and a third room for 3 nights (17th to 20th). We had asked for all rooms on the same floor and because they could not do this for the third room an upgrade to the executive 10 th floor was given.
Breakfast should be included as standard for this daily rate

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilluManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
The Staff and Management at the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel. We appreciate your views which enables us to continually monitor and imporve our service and standards.

Many thanks

Peggy Sibbald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed here for one night in December after a holiday elsewhere in Tanzania. It is an adequate hotel but I would not recommend it for anyone other than business travellers or those who have a reason to be in the city centre. The hotel is clean and the main restaurant is adequate. The rooftop bar was closed when we were there (we were told it is closed on Mondays) so I can't comment on it. The rooms are small and very basic (even though they appeared relatively new - although the bathrooms are somewhat shabby as others have noted) and the hotel has a business feel to it - it is not near the water and is in a commercial area and there is no pool in the hotel, so is not the kind of hotel one would generally want to stay at while on holiday, even if only passing through before or after a safari or beach holiday. Service was generally sub-standard - e.g. reception staff were very pleasant but very inexperienced; all payments for bills, etc. have to be made at a special payments counter but they couldn't provide any change (so we were unable to tip the man who took bags to our room); our wake-up call was delivered at the wrong time; restaurant missing items from the menu and slow service. Overall the hotel is not good value unless you could get a very good rate. I regretted not spending a bit more and staying at the Kempinski. On the positive side, the transfer service from the airport was efficient and good value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. Feed back from guest like you help us to identify problem areas and enhance guest satisfaction.

First of all, let me sincerely apologize about all the shortcomings during your stay with us. I have done a detailed investigation about your feedback & to understand the root cause of the problems. I have discussed this personally with the Food & Beverage & Front Office team and would ensure to eliminate these issues. I can assure you that this is a one time occurrence and such problems would be eradicated.

With regards to the bathroom, we have already commenced retiling the entire bathroom to make it more pleasant.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction.

Kind regards
Peggy Sibbald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing