We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3-star business hotel”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed here for one night in December after a holiday elsewhere in Tanzania. It is an adequate hotel but I would not recommend it for anyone other than business travellers or those who have a reason to be in the city centre. The hotel is clean and the main restaurant is adequate. The rooftop bar was closed when we were there (we were told it is closed on Mondays) so I can't comment on it. The rooms are small and very basic (even though they appeared relatively new - although the bathrooms are somewhat shabby as others have noted) and the hotel has a business feel to it - it is not near the water and is in a commercial area and there is no pool in the hotel, so is not the kind of hotel one would generally want to stay at while on holiday, even if only passing through before or after a safari or beach holiday. Service was generally sub-standard - e.g. reception staff were very pleasant but very inexperienced; all payments for bills, etc. have to be made at a special payments counter but they couldn't provide any change (so we were unable to tip the man who took bags to our room); our wake-up call was delivered at the wrong time; restaurant missing items from the menu and slow service. Overall the hotel is not good value unless you could get a very good rate. I regretted not spending a bit more and staying at the Kempinski. On the positive side, the transfer service from the airport was efficient and good value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. Feed back from guest like you help us to identify problem areas and enhance guest satisfaction.

First of all, let me sincerely apologize about all the shortcomings during your stay with us. I have done a detailed investigation about your feedback & to understand the root cause of the problems. I have discussed this personally with the Food & Beverage & Front Office team and would ensure to eliminate these issues. I can assure you that this is a one time occurrence and such problems would be eradicated.

With regards to the bathroom, we have already commenced retiling the entire bathroom to make it more pleasant.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction.

Kind regards
Peggy Sibbald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    172
    164
    53
    28
See reviews for
44
81
40
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
taipei
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

we stayed there for 3 days after a kibo trek, and i don't regret it.
the hotel does has some problems, ( bathroom, rather basic and somewhat dangerous food at the buffet, slow service especially at checkout, minor SOP and staff training short coming ), but while i would rate it down anywhere else, these are nothing for tanzania in general, and the hotel remain a safe, convenient and confortable heaven for DAR.
the people are always friendly and helpfull, and it fairly make it up.
probably the best value for money in dar.
the hotel is conveniently located ( very important in dar ) and near ( or the center itself...) of night activity in dar.
the browsed all the major hotel & casino in town and i would not have changed for anything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophutaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. Feed back from guest like you help us to identify problem areas and enhance guest satisfaction. Positive feedback certainly helps the team to build up morale and encourages for better performance.

We certainly value & ensure all staff is trained to achieve guest expectations, nevertheless would also enhance the current training programmes primarily focused with guest satisfaction. With regards to the bathroom, we have already commenced retiling the entire bathroom to make it more pleasant.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback which has helped us to identify improvement areas and would place us a step higher in our customer satisfaction.

Kind regards
Peggy Sibbald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stayed here for one night in November 2009 before an early departure from the airport. Cost $60 plus 5,000 Priority Club points, which is a great deal bearing in mind the prices of other hotels in Dar es Salaam.

The location's good, easy to walk around the centre of town and down to the waterfront. The rooms are a little soulless but of a good standard, as is the bed, which one might expect from a new hotel. The rooftop restaurant was marred by too-loud music, whilst the first floor cafe was much quieter, but food of only an average standard. Overall the staff are very friendly (as are most Tanzanians) and the hotel is a very good choice for the city. I'd recommend it.

Note that, although the website implies free internet access, this is actually only for the Executive rooms; otherwise it's $10 for 24 hours. I moaned a little about this and got a free pass - the connection was very good. As for the bathroom, well, it's one of the barest I've seen in a property like this but the shower was good. I made the mistake of switching on two lights at once at 5 in the morning and tripped the fuse box, but this was quickly resolved.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. Feed back from our guests help us to identify problem areas and enhance guest satisfaction.

With regards to the Bathroom we have been able to identify this problem with guest feedback & have already commenced rectification of this issue. Our daily maintenance room inspections now have included voltage output checks which would eliminate such issues.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Peggy Sibbald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Not a bad option, especially if you can get a room for around $120 a night. However, the bathrooms are already a bit frayed around the edges, despite the fact that the hotel only opened 6 months ago or less. The tiles and edgings were cracked and a but mucky and the water didn't flush away in the shower units. When reported, someone came to fix it, but the drain-off was still amazingly slow.
We stayed twice, at the beginning and end of our trip. The airport pick-up service worked efficiently, and was a bit cheaper than an airport taxi ($20 as opposed to $25). On arrival, we asked the driver to pass by the Scandinavian Express office so we could book bus tickets for the next day, and this worked out well. On departure, very early for our BA flight, the car was ready for us on the dot. We got to the airport with bags of time to spare since it takes not much more than 15 minutes at that hour.
The buffet breakfast was not at all bad and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to walk out of the hotel to explore downtown Dar during the day. We also left the hotel on foot in the evenings to eat, although some local TA experts advise against this.
I find it a but much that hotels in this category charge for internet.
There is a pool but it's tiny and not well situated.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
Dear Mr Miguel,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. Feed back from guest like you help us to identify problem areas and enhance guest satisfaction, allow me the liberty to explain about the bathroom issue, we have been able to identify this problem through guest feed back and have alreday commenced rectification of this issue, as this was an under lying problem from inception stages. Once again I thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind Regards



Peggy Sibblad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for weekend. Check in was a breeze
Everything about our stay was really great!
We will definitely stay here again. Very clean, comfortable, beautiful rooms. We had an amazing stay at the Holiday Inn Dae Es Salaam and would definitely recommend it is divine. The hotel is beautiful and luxurious, but not pretentious. There's plenty of space to wander around and hang out. We found the staff friendly and efficient

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suds_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for writing this review.
We have taken note of your comments.
Kind regards,
Ian & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam for a night after completing a month-long safari through East Africa and Zanzibar. Although any hotel would have seemed luxurious after a camping safari, and Holiday Inns elsewhere generally aren't flash, we were particularly impressed with this Holiday Inn. It's brand new, only opened in July 2009. The first thing we were greeted with was a cold towel and a chilled juice, nice touch. Check in was easy and fast and the staff were lovely.

Our room had a huge, comfortable bed (complete with a pillow menu), a plasma, air conditioning that worked so well we actually had to turn it off, and hot water with loads of pressure in the shower (great after a month of camping). It was late and we were starving so we ordered room service, which was good food and service, although the cafe downstairs is open 24 hours. In the morning we had a nice breakfast - it had the standard continental stuff but also African dishes and the usual eggs, bacon, etc. We asked for a late checkout as our flight wasn't until later in the afternoon and were immediately given one free of charge.

All in all it was a lovely experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchickuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for writing this review.
We have taken note of your comments.
Kind regards,
Ian & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed two nights at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre. Positives were very nice room, VERY friendly and efficient staff, nice roof top 'restaurant' albeit with very limited menu. Negatives would be the breakfast which was decidely average and price which was >$230 per night for an executive room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJMatthews, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Your opinion is dear to us and we will look into the mentioned points.
Kind regards,
Ian & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#21 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#27 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing