We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously surprised and impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My initial view of holiday inn was a cheap motel at the side of the road for a stop off on a long trip in the UK - maybe a little unfair. However when I booked in for a night during my transit through Dar Es Salaam, I couldn't have had a nicer or easier experience. Mind you - its not cheap - about $200 for room and transfers to and from the airport. I was met by the loveliest lady who spoke perfect English and introduced me to my taxi driver, the car was nice and clean. My room was perfect, they sorted all my problems with wifi almost instantly , the food and rooftop bar were both wonderful. I didn't even have a chance to check out the pool and gym but I was REALLY impressed. My view has completely changed. I left before having time to have breakfast but that did also look rather good too, with a lot of choice. A perfect stop off!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EES777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear EES777,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

Thank you for writing such a fabulous review about our hotel on trip advisor.com. We value your opinion and respect your thoughts. I was pleased to know that you found the hotel better than your expectations. You have appreciated our room quality and the wi fi which is a welcome sign. You did not have a chance to use our pool and the gym but you managed to view these facilities in our hotel and were impressed by them Thank you once again for your appreciation of all our facilities.

We look forward top see you again so that you enjoy all the facilities including the gym, swimming pool and the breakfast.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is my first visit to Dar es salaam. I am sure that i met all my expectations. when driver said "welcome back sir", my husband told him this is our first visit.. Loll!!. There was good buffet with many varieties. WiFi is ok. My husband loves this rooftop restaurant and me as well. There was multiple times power failure. there was hot water problem for 2 days which had resolved before we check out. I guess this is normal in Africa. we went to jangwani, Mbudya island, bagamoyo and tegeti where we enjoyed a lot. The driver was awesome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. we are planning to be back to dar es salaam in January again. we will certainly stay here. Praise the lord.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Elizabeth J,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We welcome your views about our property on Tripadvisor.com. It is always good to hear praise from our customers, that makes us feel that we have been able to do our job correctly. Our aim is to surpass the expectations of our esteemed guests but sometimes we fail because of the circumstances which are not in our hands and beyond our scope of preparations. But we work tirelessly to sort out all problems at the earliest, in order not to inconvenience our guests. We are happy to note that you took our offer of free shuttle to the beach resort and also took a boat ride to the islands. We offer a lot to entertain you at the beach resort and make your stay with us a memorable one.

We look forward to see you back again in January.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

To use trip advisor correctly the point is to score the hotel as you find it during the stay
This hotel is very poor
We had no hot water for 2 days and despite complaining each time the excuse was the boiler was broken and it will take several days to push the hot water through the system-pathetic statement from management
The wireless internet is a disgrace and should never be charged for
TV less than useless
Breakfast plenty of stale and mouldy items

200 USD a night plus-plus is just not good value for money- find another hotel

To the management- I have noted your usual excuses when replying to trip advisor comments, please save them for some one else, with me you are wasting your time
I will be escalating this to HI International and let them know how you treat gold members

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear GSPS,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. We had a problem with our hot water systems due to sudden surge in the electric voltage in the area. Our fuel operated boiler was working but the pumps could not circulate the hot water. Some of our essential equipment's stopped working because of this surge in voltage. Unfortunately our back-up system also stopped working at the same time.

Now i can confirm that the hot water systems have been restored and we do not have any issues pertaining to hot water.
Our wi fi is always free to all our in house guests. We do not charge for wi fi. The TV's are working fine.
I am sorry to hear about the breakfast, because all our guests have appreciated the wide variety of morning bakeries that are displayed nicely during the morning breakfast. We have an in-house bakery and all our morning bakeries are baked fresh and consumed the same day. The hot dishes are also cooked in the morning.
Our breakfast is always fresh and has been liked by all our guests.

I would like to meet you in person on your next visit t Dar Es Salaam. I request you to let me know about your travel plans next time and i will be happy to extend all due courtesies to you on your next visit as a part of our service recovery.
Looking forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards
Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel itself is well presented and the beds seem clean etc. But what no one mentions here is that the whole hotel smells of mold. The first indication I got was in reception and then in the room it is overpowering. Its is in every corridor and every area of the hotel. You cant get away from it. It comes through the A/C too. There was no hot water in the morning either. This hotel need a complete refurbishment. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marcus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear marcus b,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stopped here as I'm a IHG member on company business, got to say this hotel is over priced.
Reception staff were friendly.
Stopped on the executive floor room 904, the room was clean, but carpet was stained and black round the edges.
My only real complaint about the room was that some days there was no hot water for showering.
Breakfast is adequate but service for coffee or tea is slow.
Laundry service was good and returned the same day.
Overall my stay was adequate.
I'm due to return again in August so hopefully the hot water problem in this hotel will improve.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank colin8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Colin8358,

Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our property. There was a sudden and unfortunate surge in the electricity supply which caused our hot water systems collapsed. Even the heating elements in our back-up hot water tank also broke down. We have sorted out the problem of hot water and i can now confirm that the electrical systems ahve been restored and there is abundant supply of hot water in the hotel.
With regards to the mould smell, it is the smell of a special approved germicide we use to keep away all germs and insects. The germicide sometimes leaves an after smell for some time and it becomes difficult to remove this smell as our intention is to keep the germs/insects away.

The point for slow breakfast service has been taken well and the concerned managers of the restaurant have been briefed to improve this.

We look forward to see you soon at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam.

Best regards

Mahesh Chander Langoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel with welcoming staff and clean rooms ( apart from the carpet) there are 2 bars and the food is great however the breakfast is moderate with rubber eggs etc. The gym works and it has free wifi which is more hit then miss. Overall happy stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damppants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear damppants,

Let me first thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit. We are delighted to know that you had an overall good stay at our property and that you appreciate our accommodations and staff. However, it is unfortunate you were disappointed with the breakfast and wifi. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Free Wi-Fi and welcoming staff!!! Roof top restaurant to relax and clean rooms to stay! Value for your money too. Excellent facilities with Computers and very friendly IT Manager!!!!!
Duty Manager responds within minutes any time whether its day or night to resolve any issues no matter how trivial they are!!! Very happy - will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SriAgasthyaraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaheshCLangoo_68, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear SriAgasthyaraju,

Warm Greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam!

We appreciate your good comments about our property on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our services. You have specially mentioned about our roof top restaurant and IT services. Your comments about our It manager and the Duty manager are most welcoming and we will pass your comments to the concerned staff.

We are happy to see that you would definitely come back to Holiday Inn, Dar Es Salaam. We look forward to welcome you once again at Holiday Inn Dar.

Best regards,

Mahesh Chander Langoo
General Manager

Holiday Inn
5 Upanga Road
Azikiwe St/ Upanga Rd Junction
City Center Dar es Salaam
P.O Box 3222
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
188 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#18 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#21 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: $88 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing