We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An OK place”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The smiling staff in this hotel is its best asset. The second is the roof top bar and restaurant. Asked for a quiet room and put by the lifts which have irritating noise on opening which when not using the air conditioner in the room is disturbing. Room was standard and did not welcome almost stepping on a cockroach on getting out of bed one morning. On reporting this to staff their reaction was minimal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Pietrelondon,

Thank you for your kind comments, the team will be delighted to have been recognised for their winning smiles.

The other points you highlighted we will certainly be addressed.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    172
    164
    53
    28
See reviews for
44
81
40
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Here for work in June 2013. First things first, in the warm and humid climate, my room was ice cold when I got in there. No doubt, the AC works and cranks well. My bed was pretty to very firm, but I slept like a rock when I got into it. The hotel might be just a little dated on the inside and my bathroom smelled quite musty (although it is a room for those with physical disabilities, so the shower is much more open), but no doubt it is functional and I slept well. Breakfast at the little cafe was good and the beers at the bar were a steal for being big bottles...plus you have a decent view of the ocean. Probably worth staying at again of ever in Dar Es Salaam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear R W

Thank you for your review, we delighted you enjoyed our hotel and the services offered. We are in the process our refurbishing our bathrooms, and we sure you will notice the difference on your next visit.

The views from our Al Dar restaurant are special, overlookign both the city and the ocean. We glad you enjoyed the beer prices too.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you only ever take one piece of advice from me, take this piece of critically important information about the Holiday Inn in Dar: Close the toilet seat before you flush. You must put down the seat to protect your and your clothes and your self esteem from what can only be described as "blast damage" from a foaming rush of effluent. I was staying in executive room 1009. I have never encountered a toilet flush with such force that it resembled an explosion, sending water all over the bathroom, over the flusher and potentially over any innocent bystanders too. Fortunately, the bowl had not been used when I pressed the fateful silver button, but the force of the flush meant I was sprayed and had to shower and change my wet clothes. It could have been very, very nasty. And it wasn't a one off - I was fascinated to discover each flush delivered a forceful watery eruption like Krakatoa in full flight.

Apart from this over-pressurised plumbing, the Holiday Inn is pretty average. Good gym with excellent weights and machines, slightly stained carpets and a few finger marks on the walls. Very friendly staff, good curry in the restaurant. The Broadband worked and the air con was almost silent (take note Doubletree!). But all these things would have counted for naught had I been sprayed with my own fecal matter in a sewage shower. I wasn't, but you can learn from my fountainous near miss, and prevent your unsuspecting bathroom visit wrecking your day.

Room Tip: You must put down the toilet seat in Room 1009
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear George H

Thank you for your review, and we apologise for the over pressured toilet flush system. This was a localised problem, and our team have already resolved the issue.

Your kind comments regarding to our food, wifi and the team are greatly appreciated.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a hotel where things work. This is not always the case in Dar, even at nice hotels. Rooms were comfortable, good desk to work at, very nice rooftop bar/restaurant with beautiful views, helpful staff. Only two issues: the staff sometimes took time to get back to me on a query, and the pool is quite small. Food is good. We held a 40-person meeting in the Kibo Suite and the hotel organized things extremely well for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairobijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Nairobijoy,

Thank you for your review, and we delighted you enjoy the hotel and our new rooftop Conference Halls.

The Kibo and Mwanzi suites do offer excellent panaromic views of the city, hopwfully not to distracting whilst holding your meeting.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Love the gym and staff is great.

Breakfast should have a grill for made to order eggs. Room service menu needs more variety, or I need to get out more.

Wireless goes flicks off a lot so you have to renter code which is a pain plus they should give you a bouchire for duration

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Tim B,

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, in particular the Gym facalities and team friendliness.

We are currently redoing our Room service selection, however both of our onsite restaurants; the Al Dar rooftop restaurant and the El Gaucho ground floor restaurant offer a much wider selection.

Our complimentary wi-fi available to all guests needs to be refreshed every 24 hours, and vouchers are given on check-in. Apologies if you had problems during your stay with the wi-fi.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstadt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

as i the last visite i wrote! nothing change! room smell in bath! w-lan not good and expensive!
tv not good! but now the best! i go for spa! pay cash 71.000 get an VERY bad chnage because the not acsept tanzania schlilling!! they chnage back to USD to an rate for 1600 / normal is 1800-1900...and the best!! the day i check out...they want me charge again!!!!!!!!!
and the restaurant the same last time!! bad steak!! all not real good!!
i was the last time in the new africa hotel 500 mm the stree down, close to the see. perfect thai restaurant in the top...

Room Tip: the best? not use this hotel....go to new africa hotel....500 m the street down !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Udo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Udo L

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay, and it is with regret that we failed to match your expectations of the hotel on this occasion.

Our onsite Bureau de Change offers an exchange rate of TZS 1,600/ to the Dollar, so we cannot understand your comments on the exchange rates. Please feel free to contact me directly on gm@holidayinn.co.tz to discuss this matter further.

Karibu tena

Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The reception staff were friendly.The food in the restaurants was wonderful but the staff there looked dull. I had no sleepers in my room.The door to the bathroom was a nuisance.It was very hard to close and always closed with a bang(room 504) and am sure the engineering can fix this...Also the bathroom was flooding when i took shower..The rest was good.superb.I would definately go back there and refer someone there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggy_eustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear aggy_eustus

thank you for your positive comment following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, the maintenance team have addressed the problem encountered with your door closure. If this had been brought to our attention during your stay, we would have resolved the matter immediately.

Our chefs will be delighted that you enjoy the food at the hotel, as they continually strive to impove the offering.

Karibu tena
Paul Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#21 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#18 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
Urban Rose Hotel and Apartment
#27 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing