We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funny experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a modern, well appointed hotel. Large rooms with all the mod cons.

What a surprise though when we received our room card and walked in on a room already occupied! Once this was sorted I jumped in the shower, a mess after the Zanzibar ferry, but didn't check if there were any towels. Silly me.

I'm sure this experience wouldn't happen very often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmichellejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    170
    161
    51
    28
See reviews for
44
79
39
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

THE GOOD
- The hotel accommodation and meeting rooms are quite affordable for a hotel of this size & standard
- If you're in Dar es Salaam for business, the location is excellent as it's in the city centre and it was quite easy to get from one place to another and there was never traffic in this section of town
- The hotel taxi/cab services were very affordable compared even to the public taxis around Dar
- The room is standard, sheets seemed clean, TV, nice comfy seat, well sized study table you could work off, internet and coffee
- Room service works well (but takes a while)
THE BAD
The most passive aggressive staff I've ever seen. They're not outright rude, but will basically say yes then proceed to ignore you or move at their own snails pace. Here's a few examples of the many:
- I hosted a meeting here and it was a pain to request for the littlest of things; pens, extra chairs etc Had to come out of my meeting severally to follow up
- Housekeeping doesn't work: they forget to put in the bathroom essentials and when you call for them they take ages.
- I asked for an iron box severally but one was never delivered and this is despite housekeeping answering in the affirmative every time I asked. When they finally brought one it had a cracked edge that tore my dress.
- Oh and housekeeping rarely pick up the phone
- One time at breakfast I asked for coffee and they didn't bring it at all
- Check in takes ages for no apparent reason
- The porter (there seems to be only one and disappears from time to time) so this creates a further delay
THE UGLY
- Make sure you comb through your bill with a fine tooth comb. I came across several wrong postings and double charges on my bill and this was only corrected after I kicked up a great fuss
- I also came across instances when they had forgotten to bill me entirely for some items and I dutifully reminded them (management should be especially worried about this one)
- Checking out took me over two hours... for over two hours I was at the reception standing figuring out the messy invoice (one giant slip where items are not arranged on any particular criteria making it very difficult to reconcile) and challenging over-charges and battling with the passive aggressive staff I mentioned (including a manager who was called in)

Overall, I was frustrated most times during my stay. I would recommend this hotel to the "completely non-fuss" business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMarshaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mariam M,

Thank you for your insightful review of our hotel, please rest assured that we are working to resolve the issues you highlighted, and we are confident that you will see siginificant improvements in our services during your next visit.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located very centrally and the executive rooms are comfortably appointed. The food at both the ground floor restaurant and roof top bar was good. The service from the ground floor restaurant staff was poor mainly due to inattentive waiters. Also requested a shaving kit, but this was never delivered.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sangeev,

Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel, we are delighted you enjoy our central location as this is a key factor with most business travellers. We all know the Dar traffic can be a nightmare.

Our chef's were pleased to read your review of the food, the waiters were not and they have assured me that they will be working on their service levels. I would appreciate any comments on your next visit to see if there has been an improvement in your opinion.

The chef's recommend our newly introduced Sushi menu on your next visit, if you wish to try something different.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 1 night here, breaking our long journey from Australia to Arusha. We had a very mixed experience here.
The bad: I think we got a new girl at reception, so our booking in was slow (all we wanted to do was relax in our room after 27 hrs of travel). When we got to our room, the sheets were worn and grubby looking and we were missing towels plus we only had one tea cup. We contacted reception who said it would be fixed. After half an hour, my husband went downstairs. The manager was there, so service was more prompt. Our bed linen was changed and towels arrived. Never received the cup but we didn't worry about that.
The good: a comfy night with good airconditioning. Good hot water in the shower too.
We enjoyed our meal at the restaurant (crumbed local red snapper) and found the service good and friendly. In fact all staff were friendly.
It is conveniently located and we walked around town for an hour before our flight to Arusha.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear NettyA

Thank you for your positive comments especially regarding our friendly service, your restaurant meal and a comfortable nights sleep.

Our apologies for the condition of your room when you first arrived, it is certainly not what we aim to achieve, however I'm glad it was resolved to your satisfaction when the matter was brought to Management attention.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's difficult to find a decent international-standard hotel in Dar. I've tried a few, but I keep coming back to the Holiday Inn. It offers good value for money in a convenient downtown location (no small advantage given the chronic gridlock of Dar traffic). In fact, I’m writing this review having extended my stay by one week when I could have moved to another hotel had I wished.

Believe me, more expensive does not mean better service - certainly not in Dar. The Holiday Inn’s rooms are clean and serviceable (except for occasional stains on some carpets and under-sheets that are not quite big enough). Beds are firm and comfortable. The public areas are not as large or fancy as at some other hotels, but fine. (On this trip we held a morning function at the hotel; it went well in terms of facilities and service.) The downstairs restaurant is not “terrible,” but not much above average even with its new menu – which wears a bit thin after several days. The quality of food preparation and service varies considerably. My early breakfast order last week was lost somehow, and at 5 am the restaurant, although open, offered scrambled eggs with the consistency of porridge. But I’ve had good meals there, too.

This hotel’s biggest asset is the attitude of its staff. Everyone is consistently friendly, sincerely eager to please. Note that the General Manager himself (new from last year) responds individually and constructively to comments on this site. Its two biggest problems are follow-through and infrastructural issues. For example, friendly housekeepers don’t do much good if they can’t remember to leave you a hand towel plus a bath towel. On the other hand, ever since the housekeeping manager heard about this problem on my current visit I’ve had a double towel supply every day.!

Each time I visit some new challenge seems to appear. This trip it was hot water – lukewarm for the first few days of my stay. It took three days to get someone to follow through on what seems to have been a boiler problem, then more days of cool showers until the maintenance man explained that the fixture in my room is backwards – so “cold” means “hot.” (No tubs in the rooms, just showers, which is fine for me.) On a previous visit the hotel had been without reliable power for weeks - not its fault (a grid problem), but eliminating reliable air conditioning nevertheless. And, contrary to other reviewers, I definitely don’t recommend booking airport transfers through the Holiday Inn. They have unreliable for me in the past. The first two times I asked them to arrange a transfer no one met me on arrival; one of those times my bag was stolen as I looked for the hotel driver. Rather use a licensed airport taxi.

It may sound as though I’m negative about the Holiday Inn. Far from it. I’ve had plenty of problems at other international-standard Dar hotels, too (to say nothing of the more-local variety). As I said, I keep coming back to the Holiday Inn – because it is comfortable, reasonably priced, and very welcoming. They certainly are trying hard, which is what I most appreciate. If I had the option on this site, I would rank them 5 stars for effort, 3.5 stars for results.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 501-503, 601-603, etc. - noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Phil,

Thank you for your positive comments especially those regarding our team members, they certainly do try to be the friendliest in town.

As you point out, a lot of the problems we experience are unfortunately common amongst most hotels in Dar es Salaam. We are working hard to resolve these problems both as a city and as an individual hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam in the near future, and hopefully on your next visit we will finally get everything right.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is a new 10-floor property smack in the centre of town. It's quite expensive, but I guess you're paying for the reassurance of a franchised western chain in an African city.

It's a Holiday Inn, not luxury, but comfortable and practical. The top floor has a bar/snack facility, which can be fun. There's a pool, though it's more jacuzzi size, overlooked by the office building next door. The gym is a more serious, well-equipped affair. Downstairs is a comfortable, but rather pricey restaurant with an outdoor terrace overlooking the street.

Rooms are perfectly fine, standard Holiday-Inn style, well-airconditioned with a decent-sized bathroom (mine had only a shower, no tub). Bed-sheets and towels are beginning to look worn, and felt slightly damp, perhaps a function of high humidity. Oddly, the bed's under-sheets were not wide enough to fit the single mattress.

There's a spacious Club lounge: breakfasty things, light evening snacks - but you'll be disappointed if you expect a "happy hour".

Staff are charming and generally efficient. Hotel cars seem well-managed and are not too over-priced compared to taxis. They'll fix up convenient airport pick-ups for only around $5 above what the airport taxis ask for.

Many people will prefer the expensive expat enclaves on the peninsula, but for the atmosphere of a city, the Holiday Inn is a good choice for Dar central. Alternatives might be the Kempinski (reassuringly expensive!), the "off-chain" Africa or the more budget Heritage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Swissfella,

Thank you for the terrific comments, here at Holiday Inn we pride ourselves on providing a mid-range affordable product with the friendliest service in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam,

Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel is good but dining experience is terrible. Plus I felt like I was being discriminated against. I mean even when I ordered early, I got my orders way before other people. That is just sad!
And seriously, the chefs need to go back to school or take more time thinking of something new. There is no variety in the meals. For the whole week i stayed there, the buffets stayed the same. lost my taste buds. I believe they can get better.

Room Tip: i liked the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Balix H,

Thanks for your comments following your recent stay in Tanzania.

We apologise for your disappointment with our food variety during your stay, however on your next visit you will be suprised by the changes we have made in the Restaurant.

It was only shortly after your stay that we launched our new Ala Carte menu featuring a wide variety of meals to suit all palates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.

Kinds regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#17 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Golden Tulip Dar City Center
#20 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing